Hide
Ashwell
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"Ashwell is a village and large parish, in the hundred of Odsey, four miles N.N.E. from Baldock. The remains of a Roman camp and burial place have lately been discovered here; and some earthenware vases, coins, &C. have also been dug up. The church, dedicated to St. mary, is a spacious stone structure, with a tower at its western end, 122 feet high, surmounted by a neat spire of 55 feet. The interior of the church is neat, with some fine carvings in oak, particularly a beautiful screen that separates the nave from the chancel. The living is a vicarage, in the patronage of the Bishop of London, and incumbency of the Rev. Henry Morice, A.M. The other places of worship are chapels for the society of friends, methodists, and independents. The free school here, originally founded by Henry Colbron, in 1681, is now supported by the Merchant Tailors' Company, of London; the number of scholars is about 40. There are alms-houses for six poor persons, and an apprenticeship fund. The population of the parish, in 1831, was 1,072." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
Hide
| St Mary, Ashwell, Church of England |
| St Mary, Ashwell, Church of England |
The Parish Registers for the periods: -
- Baptisms - 1686-1968
- Marriages - 1686-1975
- Burials - 1678-1937
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1883
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P7]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1678-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1604-1891 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1604-1968 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ashwell to another place.
"Ashwell Education Services is an education consultancy offering history and local history courses for schools, adult education classes, in-service training for teachers, conference organisation and the production of teaching materials". The site contains pages relating to the history of the parish and an index of inhabitants.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL267398 (Lat/Lon: 52.042128, -0.154075), Ashwell which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
The Ashwell Education Services site contains a "list of the names of some of the families which have lived in Ashwell. It is by no means exhaustive, but is of the larger families. The list gives the first occurrence in the Parish Registers, whether the name appears on Militia list, Overseers' Accounts or the Census Return as well as the number of wills or inventories known of and the date of the last known record for the family in Ashwell."