Broxbourne

"The church, dedicated to St. Augustine, is spacious and handsome, with a tower surmounted by a spire; the interior is ornamented with some elegant monuments, and the font is of considerable antiquity; the living is a discharged vicarage, in the presentation of the bishop of London."

[From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]

There is a picture (67 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Augustine of Canterbury, Broxbourne; supplied by Ian Rose.

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

• Baptisms - 1688-1851
• Marriages - 1688-1949
• Burials - 1688-1906
• Bishop's Transcripts - 1800-1866

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P24]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1688-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1688-1857 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1688-1906 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Broxbourne are also available at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE.:-

• Rye Park - [D/P24B]
  • Baptisms - 1907-1992
  • Marriages - 1911-1982

see also Hoddesdon

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Broxbourne to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL371069 (Lat/Lon: 51.744036, -0.015602), Broxbourne which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.