Furneaux Pelham

There is a picture (81 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Mary, Furneaux Pelham; supplied by Ian Rose.

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

• Baptisms - 1561-1990
• Marriages - 1561-1992
• Burials - 1561-1991
• Bishop's Transcripts - 1829-1831

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P78]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1561-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1560-1853 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1561-1812 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

"In two sections: pretty cottages in a hollow with church and inn; then, after a dip down into open ground and a zigzag, tiny Rayment's brewery, council houses and cottages at Barleycroft End. Wide views south over common and woods. Violet Lane, and ancient and mysterious hollow-way, a green tunnel in summer, is a short cut for walkers, but not for cars.

"Imposing and rather pompous St. Mary's church, dominating its 'end', has an Early English chancel, Perpendicular nave and tower, the clock inscription reading: 'Time Flies, Mind Your Business'. Embattled south porch has room over. Inside the church the good features are mainly incidental. The chancel has a decorative panel of big-leaved Elizabethan ?daisies, nobleman and dog. A magnificent court-cupboard near by is carved with a satyr and devil. The south aisle table-tomb incorporates an early 15^th-century brass of a couple, the man possibly Robert Newport. Another Newport brass boasts an exquisite Perpendicular frieze in the north aisle wall. Roof of wooden angels was recently repainted in canal-barge colours, under some pretext or other.

"Furneaux Pelham Hall is big, though it was much larger, and features Elizabethan stepped gables that peep deliciously over a high, pudding-like, yew hedge. There is a garden of peacock lawns, and lakes with ornamental bridges."

[From Hertfordshire (a Shell Guide), R. M. Healey , Faber & Faber, London, 1982]

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Furneaux Pelham to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL431280 (Lat/Lon: 51.932121, 0.079963), Furneaux Pelham which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.