Hide
Hoddesdon
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"Hoddesdon is a small market town and chapelry hamlet, partly in the parish of Great Amwell and partly in that of Broxbourne, in Hertford hundred - 17 miles N. by E. from London, 34 S. from Cambridge, and 4 S. by E. from Hertford; it occupies an elevated situation, on a line of communication between the metropolis and Cambridgeshire and the north, and from the consequent thoroughfare arises the principal support of the inhabitants, as they have neither manufactures nor any particular branch of local traffic, with the exception of a little malting business; the town, however, is the residence of many genteel families, the vicinity is highly respectable, and the country around has a most cheerful and prosperous appearance. "The market day is Thursday, and a fair is held on the 29th of June. The population of the chapelry or hamlet of Hoddesdon amounted, in 1831, to 1,615 inhabitants; and with that portion of the town belonging to Amwell parish (375), presented a total of 1,990." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
Hide
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1841-1949
- Marriages - 1844-1911
- Burials - 1844-1911
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1843-1866
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P24A]
The period 1841-1875 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1844-1890 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Hoddesdon are also available at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE.:-
- Rye Park - [D/P24B]
- Baptisms - 1907-1992
- Marriages - 1911-1982
see also Broxbourne.
The following records are available for non conformist churches in the parish:-
- Congregational - Baptisms 1818-1837 [PC26/2]
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hoddesdon to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL373085 (Lat/Lon: 51.758364, -0.012076), Hoddesdon which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.