Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Little Gaddesden

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

Little Gaddesden

"Upon the opposite bank of the Gade (from Great Gaddesden) lies Little Gaddesden, a large village and smaller parish than the one preceding (Great Gaddesden). This parish in former ages acquired some celebrity as being the birth-place of John de Gaddesden, an eminent physician and contemporary writer with Chaucer. The beautiful seat of the Countess of Bridgwater (who has erected a splendid testimonial to the memory of the late duke) is contiguous to the village. The church, a small edifice, dedicated to Saint Peter and Saint Paul, contains several monuments, but none that can afford gratification to curiosity. The population of this parish amounts to 492 persons." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
topup

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1681-1901*
  • Marriages - 1681-1901*
  • Burials - 1681-1901
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1863

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P40] [*microfilm only; original registers not held]

The period 1743-1850 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1604-1984 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Little Gaddesden which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Little Gaddesden to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Little Gaddesden has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup