Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for North Mimms

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

North Mimms

"NORTH MIMMS is a village in the hundred of Dacorum, Hertford, two miles from South Mimms. Near the 'Maypole' inn, in this village, at a place called Water-end, is one of those natural curiosities presented by waters collected among the hills disappearing (in 'swallow-holes', as they are termed,) with a great noise; the direction of these waters is unknown, but it is conjectured that they feed the New river stream at Amwell. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, contains some monuments and brasses with inscriptions worth perusal; amongst these is one to lord chancellor Somers, who died in 1716. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the presentation of Mr. Gaussen. In a delightful situation here is North Mimms Place, the beautiful and much admired seat of Alderman, Sir William Heygate, Bart. Population of the parish, in 1831, 1068." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the North Mimms area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1565-1567, 1663-1980
  • Marriages - 1663-1989
  • Burials - 1663-1984
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1882

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P69]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1565-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1565-1875 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1565-1901 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of North Mimms which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from North Mimms to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which North Mimms has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup