Hide
Northchurch
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"Northchurch is a village, in the parish of Berkhampstead St. Mary, contiguous to the above town. It is pleasantly situate on the high road to Tring, and respectable inhabited. The population of the parish amounted, in 1831, to 1,156 persons." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
Hide
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1564-1899
- Marriages - 1621-1903
- Burials - 1564-1886
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1877
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P74]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1564-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1564-1875 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1604-1839 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
Transcripts of the registers for St John's Chapel for the period 1855-1915 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Northchurch are also available at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE.:-
- Bourne End, St. John [D/P74A]
- Baptisms - 1855-1908
- Marriages - 1858-1915
- Burials - 1858-1915
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1860-1877
- Sunnyside [D/P74A]
- Baptisms - 1886-1951
- Marriages - 1909-1981
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Northchurch to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP973087 (Lat/Lon: 51.768532, -0.591348), Northchurch which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.