Hide
Shepton Beauchamp
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"SHEPTON BEAUCHAMP, a parish in the hundred of South Petherton, county Somerset, 4 miles N.E. of Ilminster, its post town, and about the same distance W. of Marlock station on the Yeovil branch of the Bristol and Exeter railway. The village, which is of small extent, is chiefly agricultural. The soil consists of a sandy loam upon a subsoil of limestone. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £373. The church, dedicated to St. Michael, has a tower containing a clock and six bells. The parochial charities produce about £40 per annum. There is a National school for both sexes, in which a Sunday-school is also held. The Wesleyans have a place of worship." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- Details of Somerset Heritage Centre holdings relating to this parish.
- Sue Redfearn has provided Photographs of Monuments and Inscriptions from Shepton Beauchamp Churchyard.
| St Michael, Shepton Beauchamp |
- Sarah Hawkins has provided the following transcripts from Shepton Beauchamp parish registers.
- Sarah Hawkins has provided A Transcript of Kellys Directory for Shepton Beauchamp for 1875 and 1939
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Shepton Beauchamp to another place.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 1st edition (c.1884-1887) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
- The Ordnance Survey 1:10560 County Series 2nd edition (c.1900) map of the area provided by Somerset Heritage Centre.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST403173 (Lat/Lon: 50.951614, -2.851295), Shepton Beauchamp which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.