County Armagh

Abbreviations used in these Armagh pages:

• Record Repositories - list of articles providing pointers to records repositiories in Northern Ireland, published in North Irish Roots, a periodical published by the North of Ireland Family History Society

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

BOOK LIST

• Guide to county sources: Armagh; Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, PRONI, Belfast, 1996

ONLINE RESOURCES

• Armachiana, or Armagh Miscellanea, at the Armagh County Museum

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Weatherup, D.R.M., F.M.A., Swift in County Armagh, from Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 7 No. 3

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Alphabetical index to the names contained in the premium entitlement lists of the trustees of the linen and hempen manufactures of Ireland: also known by the short title: 1796 spinning wheel survey of Ireland, All-Ireland Heritage, Vienna, Va., c1986 (12 microfiches, All-Ireland Heritage microfiche series)
• Brief history of the Irish linen industry, from the Irish Linen Guild
• Fair towns in Ireland, 1834, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland web site
• Lindsay, Henry L., An essay on the agriculture of the county of Armagh, John M'Watters, 17, English-Street, Armagh, 1836
• Records held at the PRONI
  • Business records, an introduction
  • Dundrum, Co. Armagh, blacksmiths and scutch mill documents, PRONI ref. D/2140
  • Fruitfield Jam Factory, Co. Armagh papers, PRONI ref. T/3791
  • The Greer, Lowry and Alexander Papers
  • Turner Robert & Co., ironmongers and coal merchants, Armagh papers, PRONI ref. MIC/83
  • Waddell, whiting works, Maralin, Co. Armagh papers, PRONI ref. D/1655
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Calvert, Leslie, Reflections on Irish Linen, Vol. 5 No. 1
  • Lewis, Elizabeth (with a contribution on conservation by Marion Lamb), An 18th Century Linen Damask Tablecloth from Ireland, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • Lutton, S.C., The linen trade of County Armagh since the turn of the century, Vol. 2 No. 3
  • Lutton, Samuel C., Background history of Linen from the flax in the field to finished linen cloth, Vol. 8 No. 1
  • McElroy, Ken, The Scutch Mill, Vol. 7 No. 1

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society:

• McElroy, Ken, Headstones to the past (poem), Vol. 5 No. 3
• Wilson, Edward & Primrose, In praise of graveyards, Vol. 4 No. 3

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• 1901 Census: South Armagh census returns, from the Devlin family's family history and South Armagh web site
• McCorry, Francis X., A glimpse of four Northern Ireland towns in the mid-nineteenth century, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 5 No. 3

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Church of Ireland

• Diocese of Armagh: The Cathedral Church of St Patrick, Armagh. Comprises all the parishes of County Armagh except those listed below for the Diocese of Down and Dromore and the Diocese of Newry and Mourne
• Diocese of Down and Dromore Comprises the parishes of Magheralin, Montiaghs, Seagoe, and Shankill
• Diocese of Newry and Mourne. Now subsumed under the Diocese of Down and Dromore, but historically consisted solely of Newry parish in the County Armagh portion of the Diocese of Newry and Mourne

Roman Catholic:

• Archdiocese of Armagh
• Diocese of Dromore

Other:

• Methodist Churches in Portadown District

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• Biography
  • Barclay, John, Fasti of the Presbyterian Church in Ireland, 1840 to 1910, in 3 parts, Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland
  • Irish Church History - Free Irish Church history eBooks (links)
  • Book list
• Online resources
  • Armagh - Catholic Encylopedia
  • Archdiocese of Armagh (Roman Catholic)
  • Clendinning, Kieran, County Armagh Travels of an Early Methodist Preacher (Matthew Lanktree), from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society Vol. 6 No. 2
  • Church of Ireland Historical Society
  • Jews in Ireland - History - from Jewish Ireland
    • The Virtual Jewish History Tour - Ireland - from the Jewish Virtual Library
  • Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Armagh, 1836, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
  • Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Armagh, 1846, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
• Sources
  • Records held at the AIGS
    • The Irish Catholic Directory, Almanac & Registry, 1889. Contents include: Irish Diocesan Register, Province of Armagh, pp 118-142; INDEX of Irish Dioceses, p. 219; INDEX of Parishes & Post Towns in Ireland, pp 219-229; Alphabetical INDEX of Bishops, Parish Priests, Curates in Ireland, with their Dioceses & Post-towns. pp 230-284; Provincials of Religious Orders in Ireland, p 285. Ref. Film England IoM 3.
  • Records held at the PRONI
    • The Congregational Union of Ireland (CR/7/1)
    • The Armagh Diocesan Registry Archive
    • The Irish Evangelical Society (CR/7/2)

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Bibliography:

• Church of Ireland
  • Lalor, P., Church of Ireland Parish Registers prior to Civil Registration: Some Preliminary Observations, in Familia, Vol. 2, No. 1, 1985
  • O'Duill, G., Church Records after Disestablishment, in Irish Archives Bulletin, Vol. 5, 1975
• Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)
  • Eustace, P. Beryl, and Olive C. Goodbody, Quaker Records Dublin - Abstracts of Wills, Dublin, 1957
  • Goodbody, Olive C., and B.G. Hutton, Guide to Irish Quaker Records, Dublin: Dublin Stationery Officed for the Irish Manuscripts Commission, 1967
• County Armagh church records, a listing from Fianna
• General Description, from the PRONI
• Handbooks
  • Irish church records: their history, availability, and use in family and local history research, edited by James G. Ryan, Flyleaf Press, Glenageary, Co. Dublin, 1992
  • Mitchell, Brian, A guide to Irish parish registers, Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, 1995

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• District Registrars' offices hold marriage registers from 1 April 1845 for non-Roman Catholic marriages and from 1 Jan 1864 for all marriages; also, birth and death registrations, but only for two years after the date of registration
  • Armagh City & District Council, The Palace, Demesne, Armagh BT60 4EL
  • Craigavon Borough Council, Civic Centre, PO Box 66, Lakeview Road, Craigavon BT64 1AL
  • Newry & Mourne District Council, District Council Offices, Town Hall, Bank Parade, Newry BT35 6HR
  • Public search facilities:
    • Assisted and Index search facilities are provided, by appointment only
    • Computer indexes for births (1864 onwards), deaths (1864 onwards), marriages (1845 onwards), and World War II deaths (1939-1945)
• McCorry, Francis X., Infant Mortality in Northern Irish Provincial Towns, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 5 No. 1

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• Newspapers
  • The Armagh Guardian commenced publication in December, 1844. News of court sessions were featured regularly. See the oldirelandnews web site, an ongoing, volunteer project to transcribe 18th & 19th century Irish newspapers
• Records held by the PRONI
  • Grand Jury Records
    • Grand Jury, County Armagh - lists, PRONI ref. T/647
  • List of non-departmental Government records, Courts and Local Authorities
  • Solicitors' archives
  • The O'Hagan papers

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Miscellaneous:

• Photograph and Postcard Collection - held at the Irish & Local Studies Library, Armagh

Book list:

• ---, A Pictorial and descriptive guide to Belfast and Northern Ireland; including the Mourne Mountains, Carlingford Lough, the Antrim coast, Armagh, Londonderry, and the Ern Lakes / [with a] plan of Belfast and two district maps [and] forty illustrations, Ward, Lock & Co., London, [1928] (NLI)
• ---, Draft survey of counties Armagh and Tyrone, 1622 (NLI)
• Armagh, County Council, Armagh: county guide, Nicholson & Bass, Belfast, 1977 (QUB)
• Beecham, Thomas, Beecham's photo-folio, Vol. II: Ireland. 24 photographic views: Warrenpoint, Rostrevor, Newry, Armagh and Dundalk. Beecham, Lancashire, [c.1897] (NLI)
• Chambers, S.W., Places of interest in Northern Ireland, No. 1: South Armagh, Newry and the Mourne Mountains, Belfast, 1941 (NLI, QUB)
• Hackney, Paul, ed., Stewart & Corry's Flora of the North-East of Ireland, 3rd ed., Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1992
• McKee, Eddie, County Armagh railway album, Ulster Gazette, Armagh (NLI)
• McCorry, Francis Xavier, Journeys in County Armagh and adjoining districts: an exploration of landsc... , Inglewood Press, Lurgan, 2000 (QUB)
• McLeod, W. W., Motor touring in Ulster. Comprising a series of articles (from the 'Belfast News-Letter') describing tours in the counties of Antrim, Down, Armagh and Londonderry. With maps and illustrations, Belfast News-Letter, Belfast, 1935 (NLI)
• McLeod, W. W., Motoring in Ulster. Comprising a series of articles (from the 'Belfast News-Letter') describing tours in the counties of Antrim, Down, Armagh, Londonderry, Tyrone, Fermanagh and Donegal. With maps and illustrations, Belfast News-Letter, Belfast, 1937 (NLI)
• McNeill, D.B. and Mark Kennedy, Early Bus Services in Ulster, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1997
• Rogers, Richard, general editor, and Joss Lynam, The North East: Down, Antrim, Armagh, Derry, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Gill and Macmillan, Dublin, 1980 (NLI)
• Ward, Lock and Company, Ltd., A pictorial and descriptive guide to Northern Ireland: Belfast, the Mourne Mountains, Carlinford Lough, the Antrim Coast, Armagh, Londonderry, and the Erne Lakes ..., Ward, Lock & Co., Ltd., London [etc.], [1937] (NLI)

Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society:

• Lutton, S.C., Travel and transport in the North of Ireland, Vol. 7 No. 3
• McIntyre, Harold E., Memories of the Railway Steam Age, Vol. 6 No. 1
• Sleator, A.G., Problems for railway transport 60 years ago, Vol. 6 No. 2
• Wilson, Amanda, The Newry navigation: A brief history and Plans for the future, Vol. 6 No. 1
•  

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• 1805-1806-1807 - Holden's Triennial Directory of 85 Provincial Towns in Great Britain & Ireland.1805-1806-1807 (includes Belfast). Held by the Australian Insitute of Genealogical Studies, ref. fiche England Gen 159
• 1820 - Thomas Bradshaw, The general directory of Newry, Armagh, and the towns of Dungannon, Portadown, Tandragee, Lurgan, Waringstown, Banbridge, Warrenpoint, Rosstrevor, Kilkeel, Rathfriland, 1820, Davidson Books, Ballynahinch, 1984
• 1820/1 - Pigot, J., The Commercial directory, of Ireland, Scotland, and the four most northern counties of England, for 1820-21 and 1822. 1820/21 & 22 - LDS film 0962702, Item 1
• 1824 - J. Pigot and Co., City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory
  • Index of 789 entries summarized across all County Armagh towns, and sorted alphabetically
• 1839 - Mathew Martin, Belfast Directory. Also 1841, 1842
• 1840 - Lennox, William, The new commercial directory of Armagh, Newry, Londonderry, Drogheda, Dundalk, Monaghan, Omagh, Strabane, Dungannon, Lisburn, Lurgan, Portadown, and neighbouring towns; containing a history of those towns ... [Part I.]-II, pr. at the Standard Office, Derry, 1840
• 1843 - Henderson, John, Henderson's new Belfast directory, and Northern Repository for 1843-44; containing information relating to the counties of Antrim, Armagh, and Down, with lists of the inhabitants of the chief towns, also an alphabetical list of the inhabitants of Belfast, together with a street directory, and a classification of trades and professions, Henderson, Belfast, 1843
• 1846 - Slater, National Commercial Directory of Ireland
  • Index of 1,825 entries for residents of County Armagh (Large file, 362.1 KB)
• 1852 - James A. Henderson, Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory
  • Issued also in 1854, 1856, 1858, 1861, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1870, 1877, 1880, 1884, 1887, 1890, 1894, 1900
• 1856 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1865 - R. Wynne, Business Directory of Belfast
• 1870 - Slater, Directory of Ireland
• 1881 - Slater, Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1883 - The Armagh (County) directory and almanac: for 1883, Eighth yearly issue, Pr. and publ. by S. Farrell, Portadown, [1883]
• 1888 - Henry Bassett, County Armagh 100 years ago, a guide and directory, 1888, Friars Bush, Belfast, 1989
  • Assizes, barony cess collectors, Church of Ireland, and Commissioners, submitted by Kathleen Torrisi to Dave Jassie's County Armagh Links web pages
• 1894 - Slater, Royal Commercial Directory of Ireland
• 1910 - Belfast and Ulster Towns Directory - Contents Page - hosted by Library Ireland
• Holdings of street directories at the PRONI, featuring an online search facility
• Lennon Wylie street directories

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• -----, Passenger & immigration lists bibliography 1538 - 1900, North Irish Roots, Vol 1.6, p 174
• Akenson, Don, The Irish Diaspora: A Primer, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1996
• The Mellon Centre for Migration Studies, Ulster American Folk Park, Omagh
  • Irish Emigration Database 1750-1930
• Crawford, Margaret, ed., The Hungry Stream: Essays on Famine and Emigration, Institute of Irish Studies, Belfast, 1997
• Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild
• Ireland-Australia transportation database, National Archives of Ireland
• Lee, Grace Lawless, The Huguenot settlements in Ireland, Longmans, Green and co, London, New York, [1936]
• Plantation of Ulster, from the BBC
• Whitaker, Anne-Maree, "Armagh convicts in Australia, 1800-1806," Seanchas Ardmacha, Vol 16 no 1 (1994) pp100-102

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• The transcription for this county from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
• Book list
• Coote, Charles, Sir, Excerpt from Statistical Survey of the County of Armagh, pub. 1804
• Ulster for Your Holiday, 1939, from Jane Lyons' From Ireland
• Ordnance Survey Memoirs of Ireland: County Armagh, 1835-1838; reprinted; Angelique Day and Patrick McWilliams, editors, and Lisa English, Ordnance Survey of Ireland; pub. Institute of Irish Studies in association with the Royal Irish Academy, Belfast, 1990
  • OS Memoirs holdings at the PRONI, Belfast
• Lewis, Samuel, "Armagh (County of)", from Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland [1837]
  • See also Lewis' description of "Lough Neagh" [1837]

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Families
• Handbooks

Online resources:

• County Armagh - on Jane Lyons' From Ireland site
• Genealogy Forum for Armagh, Ireland
• GenWeb Project
• The Fianna website's pages for County Armagh provide important addresses and extensive information about online and other genealogy resources.
• The Ireland Genealogy Project's County Armagh page, and its listing of the Project's available Armagh Records.
• Irish Ancestors' extensive County Armagh website.
• Roots Ireland (subscription) "offers access to a unique database of more than 20 million Irish records". Its Armagh coverage includes Baptismal/Birth Records, Marriage Records, Burial/Death Records, Gravestone Inscriptions, Griffith's Valuation (Free Access), and Census Substitutes.
• Northern Ireland Queries, from CousinConnect.com
• IGI Batch Numbers, from Hugh Wallis
• NIR-ARMAGH mailing list Link to former mailing list administrator Dave Jassie's County Armagh pages
• Rootsweb message board for the County Armagh

Research services:

• Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies --see new site ~Family History Connections
• Hiring a DNA testing company
• Roots Ireland

Societies

• Genealogical Society of Ireland
• Irish Genealogical Research Society, Rainham, Kent, England
• North of Ireland Family History Society, Belfast
• Society of Genealogists, London, England

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• College of Arms, London, England
• Genealogy and Heraldry Collection, at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• Kelly, Patrick (1893-), Irish family names with origins, meanings, clans, arms, crests, and mottoes, 2nd ed., [S.l., s.n.], 1958
• MacLysaght, Edward, Irish families: their names, arms, and origins, 4th ed., Irish Academic Press, Dublin, 1985
• Rooney, John (1837-), A genealogical history of Irish families with their crests and armorial bearings, [Cherouny printing and publishing co., New York, 1896]

Historically, the county was divided into eleven Baronies (Armagh, Fews Lower, Fews Upper, Lower Glenarm, Lower Orior, Oneilland East, Oneilland West, Orior Lower, Orior Upper, Tiranny and Upper Glenarm), though some Baronies straddle county boundaries. Each Barony encloses several parishes, but some parishes (and some townlands) straddle the boundary of two Baronies. Baronies are of interest to genealogists mainly because certain records are organised by Barony.

• Maps of Ireland and Northern Ireland, from CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet] Web Service
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society:
  • Cassells, Brian, The Ulster Canal, Vol. 8 No. 2
  • Redmond, Jack, Whodunnit? A Lough Neagh map mystery of 1765, Vol. 7 No. 3

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• Online resources
  • A Short History of Ireland, from BBC History
  • CAIN [Conflict Archive on the Internet] Web Service
  • Centre for Irish and Scottish Studies, University of Ulster
  • Cruí­thní­ - History of Ulster
  • Joyce, P.W., A Concise History of Ireland - hosted by Library Ireland
  • Key Events in Northern Ireland History, from BBC News
  • Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
    • Fitzgerald, Des, The Brackagh Moss Accident (extracts), Vol. 6 No. 3
    • Mitchel, N.C. and R.G. Morton, Lough Neagh - Ulster's inland sea, Vol. 2 No. 1
    • Mooney, the Rev. Dean B., The "Danes" on Lough Neagh, Vol. 1 No. 2
    • Robinson, George, The monuments of County Armagh, Vol. 2 No. 1
    • Weatherup, D.R.M., Cuppage carvings in Armagh County Museum, 1978 ed.
    • Wilson, Amanda, The Newry navigation - A brief history and plans for the future, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • The Road to Northern Ireland, 1167 to 1921, from BBC History
  • Research Guide: Women in Irish History, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• Sources
  • Alphabetical index to privately deposited records at the PRONI, Belfast
  • Collections - holdings at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
  • Edwards, R. Dudley (Robert Dudley) (1909-), Sources for early modern Irish history, 1534-1641, Cambridge University Press, Cambridge [Cambridgeshire], New York, 1985
  • Irish Studies Gateway, Queen's University, Belfast
  • Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB), Armagh
  • Photographic collections at the PRONI, Belfast

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Armagh Landowners, 1876:
  • Index of Armagh Landowners in 1876, prepared by Enda A. Lee, and posted to John Hayes' Fáilte Romhat web site
  • Full document, shows name of owner, address, extent of holding, and valuation; from John Hayes' web site [Warning: large .pdf file, 1701Kb]
• Book list
• Canning, Joe, Landlords and Tenants in Co. Armagh, hosted by the Poyntzpass and District Local History Society

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• T.G.F. Paterson Fews Dialect Collection - original typescript volume held in the Armachiana collection in Armagh County Museum; copy held in the Ulster Dialect & Linguistic Diversity Archive of the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
• Simmons, D. A., A list of peculiar words and phrases formerly in common use in the County Armagh, together with expressions at one time current in South Donegal, compiled for P.W. Joyce, Freeman's Journal, Dublin, 1890
• Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB), Armagh - plays, novels and poetry in the Irish language
• Sommerfelt, Alf, South Armagh Irish, [H. Aschehoug, Oslo, 1929]  NLI: Ir 49162 s 25, Coll. Ir.

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Online resources:

• County Armagh, from Ulster Ancestry
• Geographical Index, hosted online by the PRONI
• Redmond, Jack, A layman defends John Rocque, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 6 No. 2
• Roman Catholic:
  • Pastoral Areas, from the Archdiocese of Armagh
  • Interactive map for Roman Catholic records
• Townland maps for a number of areas in the County Armagh, from Bob Sinton
• UlsterBus route map for Armagh
• Townland maps for the County Armagh, held at the AIGS, ref. fiche Arm1

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• AIGS holdings
  • Film Irl Gen 30 contains: Muster Roll Springhill Corps, 27 January 1852; Armagh Militia, A-C, 1808; Will of Richard Gervais Ker, 1823.
  • Film Irl Gen 28 contains:
    • The Muster Roll of Armagh, 1630, pp 131-164. Men in alpha sequence from 1831-c1855, with many interesting observations relative to issues of arms, transfers to Armagh Militia, police, etc., also details such as deaths & enrolments). Seagrove Yeomanry, Journal Occurrence & Memorandum Book 1820.(1792-1839).
    • Armagh Militia Records, including: 8th The Armagh Regiment, 1793-1833; 75th Regiment, 1833-1854; 75th Armagh Light Infantry, 1854-1881; 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's Regiment, 1881-1907; Officers serving in the Armagh Regiment, 1801, 1813, 1854; Officers serving in the Light Infantry, 1855, 1857-1859,1864-1865,1868-1871, 1874-1881; Officers serving in 3rd Battalion Princess Victoria's (Royal Irish Fusiliers).1881-1907.
• Army Museums - Ogilby Trust Museum Portal
• Book list
• McCance Collection: the book of original documents and transcripts has strong military associations relating mostly to the 1798 period in Ulster - held at the PRONI, Belfast (ref. D/272, MIC/575) [citation from RASCAL]
• North Irish Horse
• Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) - Museum
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Jensen, Mary, War-time memories of a child, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Lutton, Samuel, County Armagh yeomanry corps, Vol. 1 No. 2
  • Martin, Bertie, Notes from a war-time diary, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Sleator, A.G., A journey of remembrance, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • Smyth, P., Wartime memories, Vol. 6 No. 3
• Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers Regimental Museum
• Royal Irish Fusiliers Regimental Museum
• Royal Irish Regiment
• Royal Ulster Rifles Museum

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Index of Armagh Muster Rolls, c.1630, from article published in Seanchas Ardmacha in 1970. Vol. 5, No. 2: Author: T.G.F. Paterson, hosted by Jane Lyon

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Ordnance Survey of Ireland, Name books. Co. Armagh, [n.p.] (National Library of Ireland, Dublin)
• Goblet, Y. M., ed. A Topographical Index of the Parishes and Townlands of Ireland in Sir William Petty's Mss. Barony Maps (c. 1655-9) and Hiberniae Delineatio (c.1672), Dublin, 1932
  • Reprinted Genealogical Pub. Co., Baltimore, Md., 1999
  • FHL film 599359
• Ireland Gazetteers, from Family Search - includes a section entitled, Finding Place-Names in the Family History Library Catalog
• Journal articles
• Northern Ireland Place-Name Project, a collaboration of Queen's University, Belfast, Land & Property Services, Arts & Humanities Research Council, and Foras na Gaeilge
• Online resources:
  • Joyce, P.W., LL.D., M.R.I.A., Irish Local Names Explained; hosted by Library Ireland
  • Mooney, Rev. Dean B., Some Townlands and Their Derivations, from Review - The Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society, Vol. 1 No. 2
  • PRONI, Townlands in the County Armagh, from the PRONI's Geographical Index
  • 1851 IreAtlas Townland Database
• Ordnance Survey: Name Books
  • PRONI MIC.6
  • NLI Collection G
• Townland Indexes, based on census data from the following census years:
  • 1851: IreAtlas Townland Database.
    • Also available for purchase in book form: General Alphabetical Index to the Townlands and Towns, Parishes and Baronies of Ireland, Based on the Census of Ireland for the Year 1851, reprint of original 1861 publication, Genealogical Publishing Co., repr2000
  • 1871: FHL British Film 476999 Item 2
  • 1901: FHL British Film 865092
• Ulster Place-Name Society

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• O'Growney, Eugene, The 'Muls' and 'Gils': Some Irish Surnames, from The Irish Ecclesiastical Record, Vol. III, 1898 - hosted by Library Ireland
• Researching Irish Names, an article at Fianna's web site
• Surnames - a list of articles focusing on surnames researched and published in North Irish Roots

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Irish & Local Studies Library (SELB) in Armagh - holdings include microforms in excess of 6,000, including approximately 350 journal titles
• Newspaper Abstracts for County Armagh - an ongoing, volunteer project to transcribe 18th & 19th century Irish newspapers:

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• Burke's Peerage and Gentry - a subscription web site

Sources:

Refer to the PRONI's Introductions to significant privately deposited archives. Select from A-Z at the bottom of the page, to download pdf documents pertaining to various sets of historical papers. Holdings related to the county of Armagh include the following, though this is not an exhaustive list:

• Brownlow, William - PRONI ref. D1928
• Conyngham, William, Colonel; in The Lenox-Conyngham Papers - PRONI ref. D1449, D501, T3161, etc.
• Hamilton, James, 1st Earl of Clanbrassill - PRONI ref. T776, T2253, T2379, T2781
• Richardson family of Richhill, in The Lenox-Conyngham Papers - PRONI ref. D1449, D501, T3161, etc.

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Obits of Those Who Came From Co. Armagh, Ireland - from Cathy Joynt Labath's The Irish in Iowa

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• 1839 List of Persons who obtained Game Certificates in Ulster, PRONI ref. T688
• Alphabetical index to the names contained in the premium entitlement lists of the trustees of the linen and hempen manufactures of Ireland: also known by the short title: 1796 spinning wheel survey of Ireland, All-Ireland Heritage, Vienna, Va., c1986 (12 microfiches, All-Ireland Heritage microfiche series)
  • County Armagh flax growers, 1796 -- from John Hayes' Fáilte Romhat web site
• "Millies and Doffers," an article about mill workers and women labourers in the Irish linen industry, from the BBC
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Calvert, Leslie, Reflections on Irish Linen, Vol. 5 No. 1
  • Cooper, S.J.W., People I Met (1) The Blacksmith, Vol. 2 No. 2
  • Cooper, S.J.W., People I Met (2) The Carrier, Vol. 2 No. 2
  • Hunter, E., The Hens' Bucket, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • McGeown, William, All in a day's work: Memories from the farm over 75 years, Vol. 7 No. 3
  • McGeown, William, The Agricultural Revolution (1940), Vol. 8 No. 2
  • McGeown, William, The Lean Years (on the farm during the 1930s), Vol. 8 No. 1
  • Robinson, George, Farm life and farming before the Second World War, Vol. 6 No. 3
  • Robinson, George, The Early Tied Worker: Cottiers, Hiring, Apprenticeship, both Articled and Indentured, Vol. 7 No. 1
• Crafts and Trades, Collections and Research, Folk Collections, Ulster Folk and Transport Museum

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• A Decent Set of Girls: The Irish Famine Orphans of the Thomas Arbuthnot, 1849-1850, by Richard Reid and Cheryl Mongan (Yass, N.S.W.: Yass Heritage Project, 1996)
• Adoption of Irish orphans by Quebec families
• Arnold, M. & Laskey, H., Children of the Poor Clares: The Story of an Irish Orphanage, Appletree, Belfast, 1985
• Barefoot and Pregnant? Irish Famine Orphans in Australia, by Trevor McClaughlin (Melbourne: Genealogical Society of Victoria, 1991)
• Porteus, Robert John Norman, In the name of Jesus: a history of the County Armagh Protestant Orphan Society... , The Author, (Annaghmore), 1986 (QUB)
• Protestant Orphan Society Records, 1828-1973, National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• The Feisty Colleens: Irish Famine Female Orphans in Pre-Separation Queensland (video), by Ray Debnam (Pelican Waters, Queensland: Ray Debnam, 2009)
• The Golden Bridge: Young Immigrants to Canada, 1833-1839, by Marjorie Kohli (Toronto: Natural Heritage Books, c2003)
• Unnamed Irish Boys on Convict Ships, 1841-1843, sent to Queen's Orphanage, Hobart, Van Dieman's Land (New Town, Tasmania: J. Purtscher, 1993)
• Wages Paid to Orphans Index, 1849-1851, created by Pat Stemp and Aileen Trinder, Archives Office of New South Wales (Rockdale, N.S.W.: Pastkeys, 1996)

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Armagh Observatory: Textbooks and Scientific Journal Library Collection of 3000 volumes and 17000 journal volumes, treating on astronomy and related sciences c1790-present
• Belfast Ulster Tatler, 1996-, Ulster tatler portrait series: mid-Ulster edition: covering counties Armagh, Tyrone and Fermanagh
• Church of Ireland, Diocese of Armagh, Synod, Journal of the Synod of Armagh, 1898
• Seanchas Ardmacha, Journal of the Armagh Diocesan Society, Fr. Réamonn Ó Muir­, editor
  • NLI call nos. 1H 287, Coll H (Shelved at 1H 187 from Vol. 17 No. 2, 1998); and, Ir 27411 s 4, Coll Ir.
  • Partial index, 1954 - 1959 from Jane Lyons' From Ireland web site
• SELB Newspaper & Journal Collection: microforms in excess of 6,000, approximately 350 journal titles - held at the Irish & Local Studies Library, Armagh

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Book list
• Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland (EPPI), 1801-1922 - Digitisation project based at the University of Southampton
• Major Collections held at the PRONI
  • A guide to archives of political parties and archives of political interest, including papers relating to MPs' constituency affairs, held by the PRONI
  • The Cahir Healy Papers
  • The E.J. Saunderson Papers
  • The Ulster Unionist Council papers
• Northern Ireland Political Collection held at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• Northern Ireland Executive
• Records of Central and Local Government and Public Bodies, held by the PRONI:
  • Government Departmental Records
  • Non-Departmental Public Records, Courts and Local Authorities
• The Ulster Covenant - Signators on petition opposed to Home Rule, 1912. An online, digitised database hosted by the PRONI.

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Armagh Poor Law Union -- at Peter Higginbotham's web site, The Workhouse
• Lurgan Poor Law Union -- at Peter Higginbotham's web site, The Workhouse
• Poor Law Records held at the PRONI

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• AIGS holdings
  • Armagh District Will Book  1858 - 1868, 1872 - 1875, 1877-1887.
• Wills and Testamentary Records held at the National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• Wills and Testamentary Records held at the PRONI, Belfast; search the Will Calendars online

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Holdings of Armagh-related documents at the PRONI
• Immigrants at Gross Île Quarantine Station, 1832-1937, Library and Archives Canada
• National Archives of Ireland, Dublin
• Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• 1824 Survey of Irish Schools - submitted by Ray Marshall to Waterlily's County Kerry Genealogy web site
• Derryoughan School House Co. Armagh, PRONI ref. D/1553
• Irish & Local Studies Library
• National Education Records held at the PRONI
• Primate Beresford papers: correspondence and reports about various schools before the introduction of the National System of Education - PRONI ref. T/2772
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • Hunter, Emily, School Days Long Ago, Vol. 7 No. 1
  • Maguire, Albert, Accountability in education - an historical perspective, Vol. 5 No. 3
  • Maguire, Albert, Accountability in education - Part II, Vol. 6 No. 1

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• A Chapter on Irish Costume, from the Illustrated Dublin Journal, No. 4, 28 September 1861 - hosted by Library Ireland
• ARK Northern Ireland, Political and Social Archive - in collaboration with Queen's University Belfast and University of Ulster.
• Arts & Humanities Research Institute, University of Ulster
• Book List
• Cricket - The Northern Cricket Union of Ireland papers, held at the PRONI
• Costume Collection, Armagh County Museum
• Folk Life Archive, and Social Life & Traditions Collections, held in the Archival Collections at the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, Omagh
• Flood, William H. Grattan, A History of Irish Music (1905) - hosted by Library Ireland
• Ireland: Her Wit, Peculiarities and Popular Superstitions, with Anecdotes, Legendary and Characteristic, by Distinguished Irish Writers (c1850) - hosted by Library Ireland
• Review - Journal of the Craigavon Historical Society
  • England, R., Ulster Memories, Vol. 3 No. 3, written in 1938 and published in the Dalhousie Review
  • Hunter, E., The Hens' Bucket, Vol. 6 No. 1
  • Hunter, E., These I Have Loved, Vol. 6 No. 3
  • Jensen, Mary, Little memories of country life, Vol. 8 No. 1
  • Lutton, S.C., Poems, ballads and rhymes, 1996/97
  • McElroy, Eric, with illustrations by Julie Trimble, An Old Game ("Catty"), Vol. 6 No. 1
  • Tallon, Alfie, Robbing the Wild Bees' Nests, Vol. 6 No. 2
• The Theatre and Performing Arts Archive at the Linenhall Library, Belfast
• The W.R. Rodgers Papers, PRONI ref. D/2833

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

Family History:

• North of Ireland Family History Society

Local History:

• Armagh and District History Group
• Craigavon Historical Society
• Creggan History Society
• Poyntzpass and District Local History Society
• Secret Societies (1760-1762) and (1785-1790) from A Concise History of Ireland, by P.W. Joyce - hosted by Library Ireland
• Thompson, Rev. Dr. J., Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland, North Irish Roots, Vol 2.4, p 125

Other Societies

• Yale University Divinity Library, Special Collections
  • Baptist Union of Great Britain and Ireland, pub. London, 1848, Box 29
  • Irish Society for Promoting the Scriptural Education and Religious Instruction of Irish Roman Catholics, Dublin, 1859, Box 11
  • London Hibernian Society for Establishing Schools and Circulating the Holy Scriptures in Ireland,1807-1830, Box 36
  • Religious Tract and Book Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1833, 1838, Box 14
  • Scripture Readers' Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1834, Box 14
  • Society for Protecting the Rights of Conscience in Ireland, Dublin, 1852, Box 40
  • Sunday School Society for Ireland, Dublin, 1829, 1836-1837, Box 15

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

See also Land & Property above

Poll Taxes:

• AIGS holds: County Armagh Poll Tax, 1660. (Film Irl Gen 29)

Valuation Records:

• 1828-1840, Townland valuations
  • Primarily a valuation of land, but cited those houses that had an annual value of £3 or more; after 1838, this cut-off point for specific mention was increased to £5
  • Return of Progress in Ordnance Survey and Townland Valuation of Ireland, HMSO, 1840: reference information from EPPI (Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland, 1801-1922)
  • Select Committee on townland valuation of Ireland: report together with the minutes of evidence, appendix and index, HMSO, 1844: abstract from EPPI
• 1848-1864, General valuation of rateable property in Ireland, "Griffith's Valuation"
  • Listed every occupier of land, the lessor of that land, size of the holding, and the rate payable on that holding
  • Griffith's Valuation - Armagh 1864 - index published online by John Hayes, on his Fáilte Romhat web site
  • Griffith's Valuation - fully searchable, with digitised images of pages from the valuation books, and maps; supported by the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government, Republic of Ireland
• 1864 to early 1930s - Valuation Revision Books - search facility supported by the PRONI, Belfast
• Description and outline of holdings at the PRONI
• Ireland Householders Index, description by Family Search

Click on the "Up Arrow" (above left) to see resources which cover Ireland in general.

• Armagh (Northern Ireland: County), Register ... of persons entitled to vote at any election ... which shall take place ... between the 15th day of March, 1851, and the 1st day of December, 1852, pr. by J. McWatters, 17, English Street, Armagh, [1852]