Kenmare

Note: The Civil Parish of Kenmare ceased to be used for census purposes in the mid nineteenth century when District Electoral Divisions (DEDs) were introduced.

The Civil Parish of Kenmare was split between the DEDs of Cappagh and Kenmare:
Cappagh DED Caher East, Caher West, Cappagh, Cooragweanish, Cummeenboy, Currabeg, Derreenacahill, Derrylahan, Doughill, Dromatouk, Fustane Lower, Fustane Upper, Gearhadiveen, Gortalassa, Gortalinny North, Gortalinny South, Gortlahard, Gortnacurra, Kilgortaree, Kilpatrick , Lackaroe, Letter Lower, Letter Upper, Rossboy and Tullig townlands.
Kenmare DED Ballygriffin, Barraduff, Cappamore, Carhoomeengar East, Carhoomeengar West, Carrignahihilan, Derrygarriv, Derrynacaheragh, Derrynacoulagh, Dromanassig, Dromcahan East, Dromcahan West, Dromneavane, Gortagass, Gortnaboul Lower, Gortnaboul Upper (nil), Gortnadullagh, Gortrooskagh, Gowlane, Inchimore, Istalea Lower, Istalea Upper, Kenmare, Kenmare Old, Kilcurrane East, Kilcurrane West, Kilkeana, Killowen, Killmurry, Lissaniska, Lissyclearig Lower, Lissyclearig Upper, Mucksna, Rusheens, Tooreenbreanla townlands and Kenmare Town.

• Kerry County Library, Tralee has the 1901 Census on microfilm.
• The Family History Library of the Church of the Jesus Christ of Latter Day saints also has the 1901 and 1911 census on microfilm.
  The films should be available from one of the church's Family History Centers. You can locate the nearest to you by searching at www.familysearch.com.
  The relevant films are:
  1901 Census Kenmare DED FHL British Film 838560
  1901 Census Cappagh DED FHL British Film 838561 Item 1
  1911 Census Kenmare DED FHL British Film 2170768 Item 3, 2170769, 2170770 Item 1
  1901 Census Cappagh DED FHL British Film 2170770 Item 3

The parish of Kenmare was combined with neighbouring parishes at an early period in both the established Church of Ireland and the Roman Catholic church.

In the Church of Ireland Kenmare was combined with various other parishes as the incumbent minister changed. These included Kilgarvan (1673-82), Tuosist (1673-1682, 1703 on), Knockane (1673-82), Templenoe (1678-1809), Kilcrohane (1678-1718). In 1924 Kenmare became part of the Union of Kenmare, Templenoe and Kilgarvan. This has since been enlarged to the Union of Kenmare and Dromod.

The old parish church at Killowen, on the Kilgarvan road, was replaced by a new structure in 1814. This is now a ruin in the graveyard there. St. Patrick's Church, which replaced Killowen, was consecrated in 1858. In the Roman Catholic Church by 1819 the parish of Templenoe, Kenmare and Douros had been established. The parish appears to have been renamed Kenmare and Templenoe by 1839. In 1876 the parish was slightly enlarged. There were two churches in the parish in 1846 and 1863. The present church at Kenmare is Holy Cross church, consecrated in 1864. There is also a church at Templenoe.

The Church of Ireland registers for baptisms, marriages and burials start in 1799. These registers remain in local custody.

Roman Catholic parish registers for both baptisms and marriages begin on 1st January 1819. There are gaps in the registers, however: births from March 1824 to January 1826 and marriages from July 1838 to January 1839 are missing. The registers remain in the custody of the parish priest, although microfilm copies are at the National Archives of Ireland. Written permission from the Bishop of Kerry is required to view these records.

From 1863 Kenmare was part of the Kenmare Superintendant Registrar's District. The townlands in Kenmare DED were included in Kenmare Registrar's District, those in Cappagh DED in Kilgarvan Registrar's District. See the Registration Districts page.

• Geograph
• Flickr

John Hayes has scanned entries for Kenmare from the following directories, where they can be downloaded in Adobe PDF format:

• Pigot's Provincial Directory of Ireland 1824
• Slater's Commercial Directory of Ireland 1846

Dr Jane Lyons has transcribed the 1931 Trades Directory on the From Ireland genealogy website.

• The transcription of the section for Kenmare from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kenmare to another place.

A Map showing the Townlands of Kenmare from Rootsweb

You can see maps centred on OSI grid reference V9401471387 (Lat/Lon: 51.885125, -9.540002), Kenmare which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Copy Kenmare and paste it along with the county name into the search box at Ordnance Survey Ireland.
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.