Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Cardross

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Cardross

"CARDROSS, village and parish on north side of the Clyde in Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also Renton town and part of Dumbarton, and is 7¾ miles long and 2¼ miles broad. Acres, 8264. Pop., quoad civilia, 9365; quoad sacra, 1342. The surface includes the fine wooded promontory of Ardmore, rises gradually from the Clyde and the Leven, and is bordered by a hill- ridge with extreme altitude of 943 feet. The seats are Ardmore, Keppoch, Bloomhill, and Camus-Eskan; and a spot of great antiquarian interest is the site of the castle in which King Robert Bruce died. There are public schools for 694 scholars, and enlargements of them for 460 are new." ...

"... The village stands 3 miles west-north-west of Dumbarton, and has a post office, with money order and telegraph departments, designated of Dumbartonshire, a railway station, a drill hall, an Established church, a Free church, and a public school with about 150 scholars. Pop. 521."

[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cardross area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Cardross parish span the following years:

Births or Baptisms ~ 1681-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1687-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records

topup

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Cardross which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

    Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cardross to another place.

    Click here for a list of nearby places.

    topup