Hide
Bleddfa
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"BLETHVA (BLEDDVA), a parish partly in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, and partly in that of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (W. S. W.) from Knighton, containing 233 inhabitants. This parish is situated within the boundaries of the forest of Blethva, and near the river Lug, and is intersected by the high roads from Knighton in this county, and from Builth. in the county of Brecknock, to Newtown in Montgomeryshire. Its aspect is barren and uninviting : a great part of it being little better than a dreary unproductive waste, agriculture is here in a rude state ; the mountains, however, afford pasturage for large flocks of sheep. The petty sessions for the hundred are occasionally held here. The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £10. 12. 1., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Mary,.........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Bleddfa Excavations, 1961; Summary Account Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 31 1961 Welsh Journals OnlineButler, L A S The excavation of a mound at Bleddfa Church Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 32 1962 Welsh Journals Online
Inquisitions post-mortem for the Manor of Bleddfa Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 33 1963 Welsh Journals Online
Milton, David. A Knighton, Bleddfa, Knighton walk. [Birmingham]: Different Walker Publications , 2002. 42p
Noble, F Further excavations at Bleddfa Church, and associated problems of the history ofn the Lordship of Bleddfa Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 33 1963 Welsh Journals Online
Wright, Eva. The Bleddfa Trust : a centre for the sacred arts [Bleddfa Church, Powys]. Resurgence 125 (1987), p. 25-6
| St Mary, Bleddfa |
| Zion Baptist Chapel, Bleddfa |
| Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bleddfa |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Blethvaugh or Bleddfa Parish; Statistics; Area 2740 acres; Population 119 males, 115 females, total 234
|
Church of St Mary Magdalene, Bleddfa on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Bleddfa church and rectory on the People's Collection Wales site
Baptist Chapel Bleddfa on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1603-1686, 1719-1795, 1801-1986; Marriages 1603-1686, 1719-1754, 1755-95, 1813-1971; Burials 1603-1686, 1719-1795, 1801-1984 ; Banns 1824-1983
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Bleddfa Castle on the Castle Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Bleddfa from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bleddfa to another place.
Bleddfa War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Salwey and Rickards, Solicitors, [Ludlow] Records "Deeds and related papers, 1606-1871, relating to assorted parishes in Radnorshire and Herefordshire, including deeds for lands in the parishes of .............................. ; Bleddfa, Radnorshire, 1606-1730"
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Bleddfa c 1840 & 1903 - on the Victorian Powys site
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO221685 (Lat/Lon: 52.309001, -3.144064), Bleddfa which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Population figures for Bleddfa parish - on the Victorian Powys site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Bleddfa Parish Council records 1853-1975
The school Bleddfa and Bleddfa school children July 1911 on the People's Collection Wales site