Hide
Casgob / Cascob
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"CASCOB, a parish partly within the liberties of the borough of NEW RADNOR, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, and partly in a detached portion of the hundred of WIGMORE, county of HEREFORD, 5 miles (W.N.W.) from Presteign. The population is partly returned with the hamlet of Litton, and High and St. David's-street wards, in the parish of Presteign, and that part of the parish which is not so returned contains 121 inhabitants.This parish, in Domesday-book called Coscope, contains three thousand two hundred and fifty acres of land, of which about eleven hundred and fifty are enclosed and in a state of cultivation. .............. A small stream, called Cascob brook, rises in the parish, in two different sources, one in the, western part, and the other on the south-west side, the two branches uniting at a distance of about a mile from their respective springs, and forming first the boundary between the parishes of Cascob and Old Radnor, and subsequently that between the townships of Cascob and Litton with Cascob, and finally joining the river Lug. ..............The township, of Cascob consists of the manors of Ackwood and Cwmygerwyn,,..........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
| St Michael and All Angels, Cascob |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Cascob Parish; Statistics; Area 2548 acres; Population 83 males, 72 females, total 155
|
Church of St Michael and All Angels, Casgob on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
The rectory, Cascob on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1678-1985; Marriages 1678-1812, 1815-1835, 1837-1900, 1905-1971; Burials 1678-1986; Banns 1824-1912
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
- The transcription of the section for Casgob / Cascob from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Casgob / Cascob to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Bryson Collection, Radnorshire deeds and documents 1559-1811 "The Powell Goughe family owned property in Cascob, Radnorshire....."
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO229657 (Lat/Lon: 52.284355, -3.131018), Casgob / Cascob which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Harvesting potatoes on Foesidoes farm, Casgob, Presteigne 9 Oct 1953 - on the People's Collection Wales site