Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for CAMBRIDGESHIRE: Bishops of Ely

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.


Listed below are the various Bishops of Ely from 1109 to present, the year being the year that they came to office.

1174Geoffrey Ridel
1189William Longchamp
1220John of Fountains
1225Geoffrey de Burgo
1229Hugh of Northwold
1255William of Kilkenny
1258Hugh of Balsham
1286John of Kirkby
1290William of Louth
1299Ralph Walpole
1303Robert Orford
1310John Ketton
1316John Hotham
1337Simon Montacute
1345Thomas de Lisle
1362Simon Langham
1367John Barnet
1374Thomas Arundel
1388John Fordham
1426Philip Morgan
1438Lewis of Luxembourg
1444Thomas Bourgchier
1454William Grey
1479John Morton
1486John Alcock
1501Richard Redman
1506James Stanley
1515Nicholas West
1534Thomas Goodrich
1554Thomas Thirlby
1559Richard Cox
1600Martin Heton
1609Lancelot Andrewes
1619Nicolas Felton
1628John Buckeridge
1631Francis White
1638Matthew Wren
1667Benjamin Laney
1675Peter Gunning
1684Francis Turner
1691Simon Patrick
1707John Moore
1714William Fleetwood
1723Thomas Greene
1738Robert Butts
1748Thomas Gooch
1754Matthias Mawson
1771Edmund Keene
1781James Yorke
1808Thomas Dampier
1812Bowyer Edward Sparke
1836Joseph Allen
1845Thomas Turton
1864Edward Harold Browne
1873James Russell Woodford
1886Alwyne Frederick Compton
1905Frederick Henry Chase
1924Leonard Jauncey White-Thomson
1934Bernard Oliver Francis Heywood
1941Harold Edward Wynn
1957Noel Baring Hudson
1964Edward James Keymer Roberts
1977Peter Knight Walker
1990Stephen Whitefield Sykes
2000Anthony John Russell

©Genuki 2001