Kingston

• The Monumental Inscriptions for the churchyard of All Saints and St. Andrew for the years 1770-1978 are recorded in the Cambridge Records Office. These inscriptions are also available on microfiche from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)

• The Census Records from 1841-1891 can be found in the Cambridgeshire Archives. In addition the 1841, 1851, 1861 and 1871 Census for Kingston is available in full transcript form, on microfiche, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)

• Here are photographs of Churches etc. in the parish:
  • The Church of All Saints and St. Andrew, Kingston.
  • The following Churches have their own websites:
    • The Church of All Saints and St. Andrew, Kingston

• "The church of All Saints and St. Andrew is a structure of rubble in the Decorated and Perpendicular styles, and consists of chancel, clerestoried nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with turret on the north side and containing 2 bells; the north well of the chancel retains a small recess, probably a reliquary, and on both sides are arches with plate tracery: there is an ancient chancel screen, beautifully carved, and a Decorated font with octagonal basin, supported on low shafts with trefoiled arches under crocketed canopies, and a fine old Jacobean pulpit: the arcades of the nave are Perpendicular: the church chest is of rude construction, with strong iron work: the church was restored in 1895 at a cost of £1,600, and affords 130 sittings. The register dates from the year 1570." [Kelly's Directory - 1929]
• There is a description of the church on the Cambridgeshire Churches website.

• Church of England
  • Kingston, All Saints and St. Andrew: Records of baptisms 11673-1899, marriages 1659-73, 1688-1991, burials 1654-1875 and banns 1754-1832 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives. The Bishop's Transcripts for the years 1599-1660, 1676-83, 1711-81 and 1813-77 can be found in the Cambridge University Library. Indexed transcripts exist in the Cambridgeshire Archives for marriages 1589-1647 and 1658-1837.
  • Transcripts of the parish registers for the years 1589-1950 are available on CDrom, from the Cambridgeshire Family History Society Publications list (search)
• Independent
  • Records of baptisms 1841-45, 1857-83 and 1904-18 reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives.
• Methodist Church
  • Primitive Methodist Church: Records exist for the Cambridge Primitive Second Circuit of which Kingston is part.

• "This place had formerly a market on Thursdays, granted in 1305 to Sir Constantine Mortimer, together with two fairs, one at the festival of St. Margaret, for six days, the other for three days at the festival of St. Luke: the market and fairs have long since become obsolete." [Kelly's Directory - Cambridgeshire - 1929]

• A transcript of the Kingston parish entries from Samuel Lewis's 1835 Topographical Dictionary of England,
• A transcript of the Kingston parish entries from 1929 Kellys Directory of Cambridgeshire

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kingston to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL344550 (Lat/Lon: 52.176893, -0.035882), Kingston which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• The War Memorial has been transcribed and the men researched.

• Land Tax: records were compiled afresh each year and contain the names of owners and occupiers in each parish, but usually there is no address or place name. These records reside in the Cambridgeshire Archives for the years 1798 (on microfilm), 1829-32 and 1946-48.