Ballidon

The nearby Wirksworth Library is an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

• The parish was in the Hartington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
   
• Starting in 1901, the parish was reassigned to the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• The Anglican parish chapel was dedicated to All Saints.
   
• The chapel is apparently early Norman in origin, probably from the 12th century.
   
• The church was refloored and renovated in 1837.
   
• The church was thoroughly restored and almost entirely rebuilt in 1882-83.
   
• The church is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.
   
• The last service was held on 18 April, 2003. The church is now considered redundant.
   
• The church only seats 82.
   
• The church is under the care of the Friends of Friendless Churches.
   
• Ralph MILLS has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.
   
• Neil THEASBY also has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2015.

• Search the Bradborne parish registers.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.
   

• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   
• The parish was in the Hartington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.
   
• Starting in 1901, the parish was reassigned to the Brassington sub-district of the Ashbourne Registration District.

"BALLIDON, a chapelry in the parish of Bradborne, and hundred of Wirksworth, in the county of Derby, 5 miles to the W. of Wirksworth. Ashmore [Ed: sic. Probably intended to read 'Ashbourne'] is its post town. The living is a curacy attached to the vicarage of Bradborne, in the diocese of Lichfield. The chapelry is included in the honour of Tutbury, duchy of Lancaster, and within the jurisdiction of the Tutbury court for the recovery of small debts."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Ballidon entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).

• Mel LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Ballidon entry from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ballidon to another place.

The Ballidon Tarmac Quarry has long been a supplier of aggregates and tarmac for roads and walkways.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK204560 (Lat/Lon: 53.100479, -1.696335), Ballidon which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• This place was an ancient township and chapelry in Bradbourne parish in Derbyshire and became a separate modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
   
• This parish was in the ancient Wirksworth Hundred (or Wapentake).
   
• Today's local governance is provided by the Ballidon and Bradbourne Council.
   
• Today's district governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.

• Bastardy cases were heard at the Petty Sessional Hearings at the Green Man Inn in Ashbourne every Saturday.
   
• With the passage of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became part of the Ashbourne Poorlaw Union.
   

A Land Tax dated 7th May 1711 records some off the people associated with Ballidon.Paul JODRELL Esq., Roger HUETT, John BUXTON, Samuel FERNIHOUGH, George ROE, George CLEATON and Elizabeth WATTSON. Both Samuel FERNIHOUGH and George CLEATON acted as Assessors and Collectors. A Widow ROBINSON was assessed at three shillings and eight pence while John BUXTON paid over twenty-three pounds.

The Tithe Map tells us that the fields to the left belonged to Miss Mary CLAY. A large "modern" house has been built here, but tastefully done, so that it fits in keeping with the rest of the buildings.