Foolow

The Chapel-en-le-Frith Library is an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

Alternatively, the Bakewell Library is also an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

• The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• There has been no Anglican parish church in Foolow until a tiny chapel was built and consecrated and used as a church in 1889.
   
• The Anglican mission chapel dedicated to Saint Hugh was built in 1889.
   
• Alan FLEMING has a photograph of St. Hugh's on Geo-graph, taken in 2004.
   
• Neil THEASBY also has a photograph of St. Hugh's on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2018.
   

• Search the Eyam parish registers for anything prior to 1890.
   
• The webpage author could find NO parish register information on St. Hugh's Church.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Eyam.
   
• The Wesleyan Reformed Church was built in 1836.
   
• Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the former Wesleyan Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012. The chapel was auctioned off in 2011 and is no longer used for divine services.

• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   
• The parish was in the Tideswell sub-district of the Bakewell Registration District.

"FOOLOW, a hamlet in the parish of Eyam, hundred of High Peak, county Derby, 2 miles N.E. of Tideswell."

[Description(s) from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868)
Transcribed by Colin HINSON ©2003]

The village sits in the High Peak National Park 2 miles west of Eyam. Much of the village dates from the 18th and 19th centuries.

Peter MacKENZIE has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2018.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Rosemary LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Eyam entry (where Foolow is mentioned) from Pigot & Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire (1835).
   
• Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Foolow entry under Eyam from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).

• Mel LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Foolow entry from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Foolow to another place.

When Hannah Ellen FURNIS nee SORESBY of Foolow, Eyam died in 1743, she mentioned her grandchildren Isaac, John & Hannah ALLSOP (children of her dec'd daughter Hannah born 1704). Deceased daughter Hannah had married Josiah ALLSOP / AWSOP 28.8.1729 at Eyam.

Charlotte HARKER died at age 41 in Foolow in September, 1861. She was 41 years old and married to a lead miner, George HARKER, from Yorkshire and they had a daughter and three sons. She was buried in Stoney Middleton, DBY.

There is no mention of Foolow in the 1086 Domesday Book.

A document dated 1338 refers to it as `Fuwelowe".

South of the village, the Watergrove Mine was active from the 18th century until 1853.

Foolow did not get piped water until 1932. But the Duck Pond was here for centuries.

Nigel THOMPSON has a photogarph of Foolow Duck Pond on Geo-graph, taken in March, 1982.

The Milestone Society has a photograph of the old, Grade II Village Cross on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.

Neil THEASBY has a photograph of the Bull's Head Public House on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2018.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK197755 (Lat/Lon: 53.275956, -1.706641), Foolow which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• This place was an ancient hamlet in Eyam parish in Derby county and became a separate, modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
   
• This parish was in the ancient High Peak Hundred (or Wapentake).
   
• The residents of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council and instead have periodic Parish Meetings of all the residents to discuss civic and political issues.
   
• District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bakewell petty session hearings every Friday.
   
• There is an index of only one Foolow Bastardy Papers held at the DRO on the Yesterdays Journey website. Select "Bastardy Papers" on the left side, then "Eyam" from the list of parishes displayed.
   
• As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act reforms, this parish became a member of the Bakewell Poorlaw Union.

Year	Inhabitants
1871	256
1881	223
1891	152
1901	141
1911	130

PCC Will of John HIGTON husbandman of Rowsley, Derbys, written 16 Jun 1628, proved 14 May 1629: wife Jane (who’s pregnant), lands in Eyam and Foloe (Foolow?), dau. Barbara HIGTON (under 21), son-in-law John ASHBORNE, wife Jane’s children who she had with John ASHBORNE.
Signed: John HIGHTON. Wits: John WOODHOUSE; George SMITH.