Marston Montgomery

Marston Montgomery is served by the Mobile Library on route 5, which stops by the Weston Bank on every 4th Tuesday from 11:10am to 12:10am.

The Ashbourne Library is an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the Church Lychgate on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2017.

We have a pop-up window of Parish Register burials (partially) extracted for your review. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.

• The parish was in the Sudbury sub-district of the Uttoxeter Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Giles.
   
• The church was built by 11th century Normans.
   
• The church received considerable alterations in 1824.
   
• The church was thoroughly restored in 1876.
   
• The church is a Grade II structure with English Heritage.
   
• The church seats only 120.
   
• Oliver DIXON has a photograph of St. Giles' Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2006.
   
• Julian P. GUFFOGG has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2013.
   

• The Anglican parish registers date from 1660.
   
• Researchers should also review the Cubley parish registers.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Ashborne.
   
• The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1845.

• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   
• The parish was in the Sudbury sub-district of the Uttoxeter Registration District.

"MARSTON-MONTGOMERY is a parish, in the same hundred as Cubley, one mile and a half from that village, and 4 N.E. from Uttoxeter, (in Staffordshire), the nearest post town. The greater proportion of the inhabitants, as well as those in the neighbouring parish of Cubley, are engaged in agriculture. The church here Is dedicated to St. Giles, and the living is annexed to that of Cubley. A school is supported here by small annual donations. The population in 1831 was 457, being fewer by 12 inhabitants than it contained in 1821, and 19 more than were returned at the census of 1801."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

The parish covers 2,475 acres and includes the hamlet of Waldley. Bus service to and from Derby city is available three days a week. The city of Uttoxeter is just a few miles to the southwest.

J. THOMAS provides a photograph of the village sign on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2016. Perhaps the village could use your artistic talent and Marketing knowledge to enhance the village signage.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Rosemary LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Marston Montgomery entry from Pigot & Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire (1835).
   
• Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Marston Montgomery entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).

• Mel LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Marston Montgomery entry from Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831.
   
• Colin HINSON provides the transcription of the section for Marston Montgomery from the National Gazetteer (1868).

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Marston Montgomery to another place.

• The parish land has mostly been used for pasturage in recent centuries.
   
• Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the The Crown Inn on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2017.
   
• Richard LAW also has a photograph of the The Crown Inn on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2018.
   
• Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the Village Pump and its shelter on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2017.
   

• Robert HARVEY has a photograph of the Manor House on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2017.
   
• The Manor House is a Grade II structure with English Heritage.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK135379 (Lat/Lon: 52.938328, -1.800577), Marston Montgomery which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The War Memorial plaque (apparently white marble with black lettering) inside the church of St. Giles. The tablet is in the porch and the lectern and prayer desk (dedicated as part of the War Memorial) are in the nave by the chancel arch.

Names inscribed on the Church Lecturn:

1. L/CPL. JOHN THOMAS COPESTAKE. Lincs. Regt., NOV. 6TH. 1916. R.I.P. Son of John and Mary COPESTAKE, of Marston Montgomery.
2. SERGT. WILLIAM ELIAS SKIDMORE. D.C.M. Royal Scots, JULY 30TH. 1916. R.I.P. Son of Robert Elias and Francess SKIDMORE, of Cliffe House, Marston Montgomery.

• This place was an ancient parish in Derby county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
   
• This parish was in the ancient Appletree Hundred (or Wapentake).
   
• You may contact the Marston Montgomery Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history lookups.
   
• District governance is provided by the Derbyshire Dales District Council.

• Bastardy cases were heard in the Sudbury petty session hearings on the last Monday of each month.
   
• As a result of the 1834 Poorlaw Amendment Act, this parish became a member of the Uttoxeter Poorlaw Union.

In 1872 a Board School (mixed) was built here for up to 60 children.