Oakthorpe

The National Archives has the Parish Register for 1838-2002.

The County Mobile Library, Route C-5, makes five stops in the parish every second Monday of each month.

The Swadlincote Library is an excellent resource with a Local History section and a Family History section.

The cemetery was opened here with 1½ acres of ground in 1875.

• The parish was in the Hartshorn sub-district of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John and is located in Donisthorpe.
   
• The church was built in 1838.
   
• The church seats 500.
   
• Philip JEFFREY has a photograph of St John's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2014.

• The church was in the rural deanery of Repton.
   
• Brett PAYNE has some South Derbyshire Genealogical Pages, including some parish registers, which should help you.
   
• The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here by 1857.
   
• The Primitive Methodists had a chapel here by 1857, also.

• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   
• The parish was in the Hartshorn sub-district of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.

"DONISTHORPE and OAKTHORPE, are two hamlets adjacent to each other, about four miles from Ashby-de-la-Zouch; they are both partly in the parish of Church-Gresley, Donisthorpe extending into that of Nether Seal, county of Leicester; and Oakthorpe stretching into Measham parish, and also into that of Stretten-en-le-Fields. They contained together, in 1831, 757 inhabitants."

[Description from Pigot and Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire, 1835]

Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of Measham Road in Oakthorpe on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2008.

The High Speed Rail Line (HS2) from and to London stops at nearby Donington Park station.

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Rosemary LOCKIE provides a transcription of the Oakthorpe entry under Donisthorpe from Pigot & Co's Commercial Directory for Derbyshire (1835).
   
• Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Oakthorpe entry under Donisthorpe from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).

• Colin HINSON provides the transcription of the section for Oakthorpe from the National Gazetteer (1868).

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Oakthorpe to another place.

• Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Shoulder of Mutton public house on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2008.
   
• Oakthorpe has a "Parish Fun Day', typically in August each year in association with the Oakthorpe Youth Club. There are activities and booths for all ages.
   
• These are the names associated with the Shoulder of Mutton Inn in various directories:

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK329132 (Lat/Lon: 52.715706, -1.515138), Oakthorpe which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Donisthorpe and Oakthorpe share a War Memorial outside the Donisthorpe Cemetery. Cris SLOAN has a photograph of the Memorial Gates outside the cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2007.

Jenny A. Wright, "Donisthorpe at War", publ: David Dover, 2004, 130 pages; ISBN: unknown.

Cris SLOAN has a photograph of Seals Road on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2007. Seals Road was bombed in World War II by a lone plane aiming for the nearby colliery.

• This place was an ancient township and Chapelry in Derbyshire and became a modern Civil Parish in December, 1866.
   
• This parish was partially in the ancient Repton and Gresley Hundred (or Wapentake).
   
• This parish was also partially in the ancient West Goscote Hundred (or Wapentake).
   
• This Civil Parish was enlarged in March, 1884, amalgamating parts of Measham, Seal and Stretton en le Field Civil Parishes.
   
• In 1897, this Civil Parish was deemed a part of Leicestershire.
   
• In April, 1936, this Civil Parish gained 2 acres from the Abolishment of Willesley Civil Parish.
   
• You may contact the Joint Oakthorpe, Donisthorpe & Acresford Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history searches.
   
• District governance is provided by the North West Leicestershire District Council.

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Swadlincote petty session hearings every other Tuesday
   
• After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish was in the Ashby De La Zouch Poorlaw Union.

Year	Inhabitants
1831	757
1871	1,313
1901	2,048

A National School (mixed) was opened in 1830 to hold 66 children.

A Wesleyan Methodist School (mixed) was built here in 1875 to hold up to 108 children.