GENUKI: Burrington, Devon

Hide

Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.

Hide

hide

Hide

"BURRINGTON, a pleasant village, 4 miles N.W. by W. of Chulmleigh, has in its parish 5330 acres of land, including Halsbury, Callard, Northcote, and other scattered farms. The parish had 1244 souls when the census was taken in 1841, but they included 196 visitors at the village fair, on Trinity Monday. The Hon. Newton Fellowes has a manor and estate here, but a large part of the parish belongs to the Rev. P. Johnson, L.W. Buck, Esq., R. Chichester, Esq., and the Rev. James Buckingham, B.C.L. The latter is patron and incumbent of the vicarage, valued in K.B. at £13. 11s. 3d., and in 1831 at £301. The tithes were commuted in 1838, the vicarial for £260, and the rectorial for £308. 10s. The latter belong to Mr. Tout. The Church (Holy Trinity,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and six bells, and a handsome screen. The Wesleyans and Baptists have small chapels here. The poor have £2. 10s. yearly from Pyncombe's and Tossel's charities." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide

Biography

Bolt, Margaret R. When We Came to Week, Bideford, Lazarus Press (Edward Gaskell Publishers) (2001) 152 pp. [ISBN: 1-898546-49-5]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Buckingham, E.H. Burrington, Devon: Memorial Inscriptions (1917). [SoG DE/M25]

Inscriptions on the graves in the church yard of Burrington N. Devon. Manuscript (1917) 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.5/BUR/BUC]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

**Anglican**
Holy Trinity, Burrington, Church of England

Church History

Burrington - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Holy Trinity Church, Burrington - pictures of the church.

Burrington Methodist Church, 1829-1979: 150th anniversary celebrations. Burrington: The Church (1979) [12]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p287.1/BUR/BUR]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1592 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1592 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Bideford Methodist Circuit baptisms (1819 -1870) transcribed by David Carter. (Contains entries from the following parishes: Abbotsham, Allington, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Appledore, Arlington, Barnstaple, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bucks Mills, Burrington, Chulmleigh, Clovelly, Fremington, Frithelstock, Great Torrington, Hatherleigh, Huntshaw, Ilfracombe, Instow, Landcross, Little Torrington, Littleham, Loxhore, Marystowe, Monkleigh, Newton Tracey, Northam, Parkham, South Molton, St Giles in the Wood, Wear Giffard, Westleigh, Woolfardisworthy.)

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-27 - see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1610-1812 and Marriages 1601-1612, 1624-1837.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]

Description & Travel

Burrington community web-site - general information.

Section on Burrington from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie

You can see pictures of Burrington which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription of the complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1890

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Burrington to another place.

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Lacy, John. Searching for W. Southcombe, Devon Family Historian, vol. 174, (2020) p.15. [Signalman at Portsmouth Arms station in 1930]

Norris, Dwane V. The Tout Family History, Devon County, England to the U.S.A., Jackson, Mich. (4540 Hendee Rd., Jackson 49201-9414): D.V. Norris (1999) x, 148 pp. : ill., maps. [New York Public Library]

Norris, Dwane. The Tout Family History Devon County, England to the U.S.A., Privately Published (2000) 144 pp. [Traces the Tout family line beginning with Michael Toute (d. 1795 in Burrington)]

History

Report in the North Devon Journal of A Singular and Fatal Accident (to Samuel Parkhouse in 1873) transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Burrington Parish Council, 1894-1994: centenary commemoration: then and now. Burrington: The Council (1994) 64p,plates: ill.

Authers W. P. Tonic for Horses at Burrington. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries Vol. 32 (1971-73), p153.

Stanes R. G. F. Burrington and Week. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries Vol. 35 (1982-86), p233.

Land & Property

Transcription of a Tripartite indenture between John Callard, Mary Short, Nicholas Hole and John Dillon, of Burrington, dated 1 July 1760, provided by Debbie Kennett.

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS637166 (Lat/Lon: 50.932698, -3.941023), Burrington which are provided by:

OpenStreetMap
Google Maps
StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
Bing (was Multimap)
Old Maps Online
National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Names, Personal

Protestation Return of 1641/42 from Devon Heritage.

Transcription of names fron White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]

Probate Records

Wills of William Cruwys (1873), Dorothy Dillon (1812), and John Dillon (1853) transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Will of Thomas Shobbrook (1840), transcribed by Adrian Parry.

Will of Thomas Gifford of Halsbury (1659) transcribed by John Moore.

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.