Cornwood

James, June. An Idyllic Childhood, Devon Family Historian, vol. 174, (2020) pp.7-11. [Jnne (Batten) James, d. of Head Gardener at Blachford Estate

Shepheard, Wayne. The Maritime Journey of James Shepheard, Devon Family Historian, vol. 179, (2021) pp.24-26.

MIs for this parish, and for St John the Evangelist, Ivybridge, are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Michael and All Angels is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 8 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M23).

Brown, Mike. Ivybridge (Pre-1900 Survey). In Dartmoor Region Monumental Inscriptions Indexes, Vol. 14. Dartmoor Press, PO Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL.

Brown, Mike. Cornwood. In Dartmoor Region Monumental Inscriptions Indexes, Vol. 10. Dartmoor Press, PO Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL.

Transcriptions by Wayne Shepheard of the Cornwood area census for:

• 1841: Book 24, Book 25, and Book 26
• 1851: Book 24, Book 25, and Book 26
• 1861: Book 24, Book 25, and Book 26
• 1871: Book 24, Book 25, and Book 26
• 1881: Book 25, Book 26, and Book 27
• 1891: Book 25, Book 26, and Book 27
• 1901: Book 20, Book 21, and Book 22.
• 1911: Book 18, Book 19, and Book 20.

Ivybridge - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Cotton, William. The churches of Cornwood, Harford, and Ermington. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 1 ser, v. 6, (1861) pp.289-307; ill, plates.

Hingeston-Randolph, F.C. The Rectors and Vicars of Cornwood, Devon, 1263-1914. Plymouth: F.E.Sach & Co (1914) 14p.

W., E. and W., H.R. The priory for nuns of St Mary, Cornworthy, Devon. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 11:Appx, (1921). [Item 3, 1-57, plates: ill(4). [Plan faces p.51. Chronological record, under names of prioresses.]

Parish Registers going back to 1669 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1685 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838, together with Ivybridge Baptisms 1835-1840, and Marriages 1813-1840 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

• Wesleyan Chapel, Fore Street, Ivybridge: Registers for c1801-37 - see Ashburton Circuit, Axminster (PRO RG 4/1763, 840, 512)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1665-1783 and Marriages 1685-1783, 1806-1811. (These entries are based in part on Bishops' Transcripts.)

Brown, Mike. Pre-1754 Marriage Index for Cornwood.. Dartmoor Press, P.O. Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL (1999)

Brown, Mike. Cornwood 1754-1812 Burials Index. Dartmoor Press, P.O. Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL (1999)

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]

Ivybridge Parish council website.

Section on Cornwood (and Ivybridge) from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Crossing, William. Guide to Dartmoor: Southern and Western Section comprising: Princetown, Two Bridges, Hexworthy & Post Bridge Districts, Asburton, Brent, Ivybridge, and Cornwood Districts, and Plympton, Shaugh, Yelverton, and Dousland Districts. With Maps and Sketches, Exeter, (c191-).

Mann, Bob. Ivybridge, Exeter, Obelisk Publications (1996) 20p: ill, map. [ISBN 1899073469] [Westcountry Studies Library pB/IVY/1996/MAN]

Sandover, Michael. Willliam Sandover's Diary: Return to South Devon in 1886, Devon Family Historian, vol. 164, (2017) pp.8-11. [Travel diary of Willliam Sandover (b.Cornwood, 1822), revisiting South Devon from Australia. Transcript with extensive annotations.]

• Geograph
• Flickr

Transcription of the entry for Ivybridge in Pigot & Co.'s Devon (1830) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription of the entries for Cornwood, and for Ivybridge in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the Cornwood entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the Ivybridge entry (description and names) in Pigot and Co's Directory of Devonshire 1830-31.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the Ivybridge entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Brown, Mike. Trade Directory for Cornwood, Harford, Shaugh Prior, South Brent 1850, 1870, 1878, Dartmoor Press (2001).

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cornwood to another place.

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Wayne Shepheard, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Dartmoor Press Online Magazine's page for this parish (archived copy), and for Ivybridge (archived copy), with articles, transcriptions, publication details, etc. - highly recommended.

Grylls, Richard. Prestwood and Cholwich, Devon Family Historian, vol. 181, (2022) pp.22-24. [On the Preswood and Cholwich families, of Exeter and Cornwood, respectively]

Jones, Winslow. Elize Hele. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 21 (1889), pp. 488-497. [Index]

King, Cameron H. English records of the King family of Suffield, Conn. New England Hist. & Gen. Reg. 58, 1904 pp. 347-48. [Raymond: Extracts from Ivybridge parish registers, 16-17th c.]

Maddock, T.H. Four Haynes Brothers and a Milk Bottle, Devon Family Historian, vol. 147, (2013) pp.19-24.

Shepheard, Wayne. George Chapple, Case Study, Devon Family Historian, no. 149, (2014) pp.29-31. [

Hutchings, Ian. Hutchings Headstones at Hemyock - Part Two, Devon Family Historian, vol. 173, (2020) pp.16-17.

Shepheard, Wayne. Losing the 'a': A reminder lesson on surname spelling, Devon Family Historian, vol. 169, (2019) pp.41-44. [The Shepheard family name.]

Shepheard, Wayne. Discover Genealogy, Devon Family Historian, vol. 173, (2020) pp.18-19. [Case study: Two Richard Hillsdons]

Shepheard, Wayne. Heirloom Watches, Devon Family Historian, vol. 175, no. (2020) pp.30-33.

Shepheard, Wayne. Hillsdon Search - Follow up, Devon Family Historian, vol. 174, (2020) pp.14-15.

Snowden, M. Great Grandmother's Legacy, Devon Family Historian, vol. 118, (2006) pp.36-38. [Lavers family of Lutton]

Brown, Mike. Guide to the Heraldry in St Michaels Church, Cornwood, Cornwood, St Michaels Church (2000).

Barber, Tony. Recollections of Ivybridge and district. Ivybridge: T.Barber (1981) 24p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/IVY/0002/BAR]

Barber, Tony. Aspects of Ivybridge: some notes on its history. Ivybridge: T.Barber (1988) 53p: ill,map. [ISBN 0951413201]

Clamp, Arthur L. Ivybridge during the Second World War 1939-1945. [Plymstock]: [The Author] (1996) 40p: ill,ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/IVY/1939/CLA]

Hankin, Charles F. Ivybridge: a short history. Ivybridge Information Centre (1992) 29,[4]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/IVY/0001/HAN

Hoskins, W.G. and H.P.R. Finberg. Devonshire Studies, London, Jonathan Cape, 1952, 470 pp. (Pp. 78-94 concern Cholwich estate and family.)

Van Der Kiste, John and Van Der Kiste, Kim. Ivybridge and South Brent Through Time, Amberley Publishing (2010) 96 pp. [ISBN-10: 184868733] [Contains 90 old photographs, plus 90 corresponding modern photographs of Ivybridge, South Brent, and their surrounding villages and hamlets.]

Mann, Bob. Ivybridge. Exeter: Obelisk,1996, 20 p. ill., 1 map. ISBN: 1899073469 (pbk).

Martin, Ivor. Ivybridge. Stroud: Chalford Publishing (1997) 128p: chfly ill,ports. [ISBN 0752407597]

Martin, Ivor. The Book of Ivybridge, Halsgrove (2009) 160 pp.

Peeke, Bruce R. Some aspects of the parish of Cornworthy in the first half of the nineteenth century. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 123, (1991) pp.105-128.

Pode, J.D. & C.A.: Some Descriptive Notes on the Parish of Cornwood and its Inhabitants from Prehistoric Times to the Beginnings of the 20th Century. Plymouth: Bro-cards (1918) 41p. [Transcription]

Cornwood notes. Plymouth: BRO-Cards [1970?] 47p. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/COR 3/0001/SOM]

The Book of Cornwood and Lutton (Halsgrove Community History Series), Halsgrove House, Lower Moor Way, Tiverton, Devon,EX16 6SS, UK, Halsgrove Publishing (1995) [IBSN 0-86114-919-X] [Index]

Cornwood Tithe Apportionments - pages 1-20, 21-40, and 41-52, transcribed by Wayne Shepheard. (A PDF version, plus tithe maps are available on his Cornwood OPC site.)

Brown, Mike. Cornwood. In "Dartmoor Tithe Apportionments, Vol. 3". The Dartmoor Press (c1997) 16p.

Spence, Charles. Some account of the ancient mansion, Fardell, in the parish of Cornwood, Devon. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 1 ser, v. 4, (1853) pp.156-160. [Index]

Cholwich Town - A.D 1204. Devon Life vol. 2 no. 22, (1966) pp.6-7; ill. ["Town" is the old English word "tun" meaning "farm".]

Index of Heads of Households in Devonshire: Cornwood A-L, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1781-1832]

Index of Heads of Households in Devonshire: Cornwood M-Z, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1781-1832]

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX603593 (Lat/Lon: 50.416907, -3.967717), Cornwood which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

War Memorial inside St Michael & All Angels Church, transcribed by John Williams

Ivybridge Gazette - regional electronic journal.

Transcripts of the wills of Nicholas Shepheard (1657), Nicholas Shepheard (1821), Arthur Shepheard (1834), and Samson Shepheard (1856), provided by Wayne Shepheard.

Will of John Sandover (1849), transcribed by Ros Dunning.

Brushfield, T.N. The copy of the will of George Ralegh. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 1:7, (1900) pp.202-204. [Wills, 1895-96. G.R. was the elder stepbrother of Sir Walter.] [Index]

Shepheard, Wayne. Analysis of the Last Will & Testament of Nicholas Shepheard (1761-1820) of Cornwood Parish, County of Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 139, (2011) pp.22-26.

Shepheard, Wayne. Where there's a Will.  Family Tree, vol. 39, no. 7 (June 2023) pp.22-27 [On the will of Nicholas Shepheard (ca 1601-1657) and other family members].

Upham, Reynell. Raleigh of Fardell. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 1:7, (1900) pp.201-202. [Wills, 1595-96] [Transcript]

Brown, Mike. The Growth & Development of Fore Street, Ivybridge 1830-1997. Dartmoor Press (1997?) 44p.[Tax Lists from the years 1830, 1840, 1850, 1856, 1866, 1878, 1883, 1893, 1897, 1910, 1914, 1926, 1935, 1944]