GENUKI: Rose Ash, Devon

Hide

Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.

Hide

hide

Hide

"ROSE-ASH, formerly called Ralph Esse, is a pleasant village, on an eminence, 6 miles S.E. by E. of South Molton, and has in its parish 541 souls, and 4987A. 3R. 27P. of land, rising in bold hills on the east and north, and comprising the hamlet of Yard, and many scattered houses, bearing different names. The manor belonged, in the reign of Henry III., to Ralph de Esse. . . . J.T. Davy, Esq., and the Rev. E. Southcombe and his family own a portion of the manor, . . . The Rev. W.H. Karslake, W.T. Southcombe, T. Loveband, J.A. Thomas, the Rev. W.P. Thomas, and several smaller owners have estates in the parish. The ancient lords of the manor had the power of inflicting capital punishment. The Church (St. Peter,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells, and the rectory, valued in K.B. at £18. 19s. 7d., and in 1831 at £469, is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. E. Southcombe, M.A., who has lately rebuilt the Rectory House, and has 165A. 3R. 9P. of glebe. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Witheridge Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide

Biography

Harpley, W. Obituary notices: Mrs Tanner-Davy. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 27, (1895) pp.39. [Philanthropist, 1835-1895] [Transcript]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS and NDA North Devon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Peter is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 8 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M23).

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

**Anglican**
St Peter, Rose Ash, Church of England

Church History

Rose Ash - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Usmar, John. A history: Ash Moor Chapel, Rose Ash, North Devon. [s.l.]: J. Usmar (1991) 35p: ill, map, plan. [Barnstaple Library - 726.4/ROS/USM]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1591 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1591 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1850 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1591-1837 and Marriages 1591-1646, 1660-1837.

The Deanery of South Molton: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bishop's Nympton, Cheldon, Creacombe, Cruwys Morchard, East Anstey, East Woolfardisworthy, East Worlington, George Nympton, King's Nympton, Knowstone, Mariansleigh, Meshaw, Molland, North Molton, Oakford, Puddington, Rackenford, Romansleigh, Rose Ash, Satterleigh, South Molton, Stoodleigh, Templeton, Thelbridge, Twitchen, Warkleigh, Washford Pyne, West Anstey, West Worlington and Witheridge. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902). CD-ROM 062, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Bishop's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheldon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1841; Creacombe Bapt: 1814-1902, Mar: 1759-1835, Bur: 1813-1850; Cruwys Morchard Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1688-1839; East Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; East Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; George Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; King's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Knowstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1740-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Mariansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Meshaw Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1838; Molland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; North Molton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Oakford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840; Puddington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1759-1836, Bur: 1740-1837; Rackenford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Romansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1730-1837; Rose Ash Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1850; Satterleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; South Molton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoodleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Templeton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thelbridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1853; Twitchen Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Warkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Washford Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1840; West Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1745-1838; West Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1846, Bur: 1813-1851; Witheridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1835]

Description & Travel

Section on Rose Ash from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Rose Ash which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Rose Ash to another place.

Genealogy

Skinner, A.J. Rev. Roger Trosse of Rose Ash, Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 15, 1928-29, pp. 154-55. [Raymond: Genealogical notes, 17th c.]

Wilkin, W.H. Southcomb of Rose Ash. Trans. Devonshire Association Vol 57 (1925) pp289- 305. [Rectors from 1675 to 1854.]

Wilkin, W.H. Southcomb of Rose Ash - Part 2. Trans. Devonshire Association Vol 62 (1930) pp341- 346

Wilkin, W.H. Genealogical notes on 3 Roseash families. Typescript [1930?] [Westcountry Studies Library - msx929.2/SOU] [Southcomb Family] pp289-305.

Wilkin, W.H. Venner of Rose Ash, Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 16, 1930-31, pp. 155-59. [Raymond: Includes extracts from Rose Ash parish register, 17th c.]

History

Saunders, Helen. Notes on the history of a North Devon parish, Aissa Rose Ash. Exeter: Devonshire Assoc. (1900) 17p. [Index]

Tull, Christopher S. Rose Ash: church and people - 2nd rev. ed. [Bishopsnympton]: C.Tull (1979) [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/ROS/0001/TUL]

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS787217 (Lat/Lon: 50.98189, -3.729373), Rose Ash which are provided by:

OpenStreetMap
Google Maps
StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
Bing (was Multimap)
Old Maps Online
National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Names, Personal

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]

Occupations

Rose Ash Apprentices Register - 1803-1844, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF A363). [Foreword]

Probate Records

The will of George Sowthcombe (1595), and abstracts of the wills of Lewis Southcombe (1663), John Southcombe (1685) and Julian Southcombe (1707) provided by Fay Sampson.

The wills of Alexander Tackell (1589) and William Vicarie (1589), provided by Fay Sampson.

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.