Tavistock

Tavistock Library has an extensive collection of material, such as PRs and census records on microfiche, trade directories, maps, etc., related to the town and its locality. (Tavistock Library web pages.)

Tavistock Subscription Library, founded in 1799, is a subscription-supported historic and local studies library situated in Court Gate in Guildhall Square.

Tavistock and district: records on the local studies database: place index, June 1996. Exeter: Devon Library Services (1976) 17p.

Adams, Maxwell. Rev. Daniel Pring Alford [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 44, (1912). pp. 35-37. [Transcript]

Adams, Maxwell. Samuel Peek Haddy [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 47, (1915), p. 48. [Transcript]

Adams, Maxwell. Lieutenant-Colonel Reginald Wilson Fox [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 48, (1916), p. 47. [Transcript]

Adams, Maxwell. Herbert George Radford, F.S.A. [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 52, (1920), pp. 45-46. [Transcript]

Alford, D.P. Four Tavistock Worthies of the Seventeenth Century: John Maynard, William Browne, Thomas Larkham, Richard Peeke. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol 21 (1889). pp. 138-147. [Index]

Alford, D.P. Dick of Devonshire. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. XXIV, (1892) pp. 431-440.[Re: Richard Peeke] [Index]

Alexander, J.J. The early life of Francis Drake. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14:5, (1927) pp.215-218. [Discussion of date of birth see vol.14, pp.370; T.D.A.46, p.281.] [1542-1548]

Barrow, John. The life, voyages, and exploits of Admiral Sir Francis Drake. John Murray, Albemarle Street (1843) ix, 428 pp. [Index to 2nd. edition (1844)]

Blackmore, A.B. Edward Capern, Devonshire's poetic postman. Devon Life vol. 5 no. 40, (1969) pp.22-24; ill. [1819-1894]

Boggis, P.R.J.E. I Remember: Reminiscences of an Octogenarian, Exeter, (1947) 288p. [Grew up in Tavistock, wrote on Exeter Cathedral, St. John's Torquay, Diocese of Exeter, etc.]

Bray, Mrs Anna Eliza. Fitz of Fitz-ford. A Legend of Devon. London: Longman, Brown, Green & Longmans. 1845, pp.1-108. [Index]

Brooking-Rowe, J. (Ed.). Rev Charles Hellins Taylor. [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. XXXV, (1903), p. 40. [Transcript]

Chalk, Edwin S. John Greeneway and his chapel at Tiverton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 2:3, (1902) pp.67-68. [Additions to vol.2, pp.41, par.33.] [John Greenaway, merchant]

Corbett, Julian Stafford. Sir Francis Drake. London, Macmillan, (1911), portrait, vi, 209 pp. [Index]

Davidson, J. (transcr.) The bloody booke or the tragicall ... end of Sir John Fites. Manuscript (1839) [Westcountry Studies Library - ms920/FIT] (Transcript of book on John Fites printed 1605)

Finberg, H.P.R. Prideaux of Tavistock and Alternun, Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries, vol. XXI, (1940) pp.337-345.

Hamilton, Ann. Obituary of Interest, Devon Family Historian, vol. 169, (2019) pp.45-46.[Thomas Tozer Kerslake, b. Derriton, Tavistock 1851.]

Harpley, W. Earl Russell [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 1878, Vol X, pp. 58-62. [Transcript]

Harpley, W. Henry Septimus Gill [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 24, (1892) pp.43-45. [Justice of the Peace, 1805-1892]

Harpley, W. Daniel Radford [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. XXXII, (1900), pp. 43-44. [Transcript]

Harris, Helen Joy. Drake of Tavistock. Exeter: Devon Books (1988) 92p: ill, maps (1 fold) [ISBN 0861148185]

Harris, Ruth. J.N. Singleton: first headmaster of the first factory school in the South West. Devon Historian 30, (1985) pp.13-17. [1811-1883]

Harte, Walter J. Sir Francis Drake: With a Portrait, London, Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge (1929) 70 pp. [Preface & Contents]

Hughes, T. Cann. John Cross, the Tiverton artist. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14:2, (1926) pp.82-88. [Historical works listed. For corrections to entry see 14, p.115.] [ -1861]

Lewis, W. Diary of the Rev. Thomas Larkham, M.A., Vicar of Tavistock, 1647-60, Bristol, (1888) xii + 155p p.

Mahotiere, Mary de la. Hannah Cowley (1743 - 1809): Tiverton's playwright and pioneer. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 129, (1997) pp.13-49: ill.

Peeke, Richard. Three to one. Being, an English-Spanish combat, performed by a Westerne gentleman, of Tauystoke in Deuonshire. London: Printed for I.T. (1906) 36p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s920/PEE]

Pengelly, W. Sir John Glanvil, Justice of the Common Pleas. in Devonshire gleanings from Manningham’s Diary. Transactions of the Devonshire Association, 1875, Vol VII, p. 382. [Transcript]

Radford, G.H. Lady Howard of Fitzford. Trans. Devonshire Assoc. (1890) 49p. [Index]

Radford, G.H. Thomas Larkham. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 24 (1892) pp. 96-146. [Index]

Richardson, Roland. A Devonshire visionary. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 47 (1970) pp.35-37; ill. [Benedictus Marwood Kelly, Sailor, Kelly College 1785-1867]

Rogers, W.H.H. Two Tudor merchants of the Staple of Tiverton and Cullompton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 2:2, (1902) pp.41-56, plates: ill(4). [Dunsford, Memoirs of Tiverton, 1790, quoted.] [John Greenaway, merchant]

Rowe, J. Brooking. Manly Peeke of Tavistock. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 11, (1879), pp. 262-275. [Index]

Rowe, J. Brooking. Richard Peeke of Tavistock. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 3:Appx, (1905). [Item 3, 1-100 - English-Spanish combat celebrated in prose, verse and drama.] [1625]

Selley, Maureen. Just Another Meeting and a Devon Rattenbury, Devon Family Historian, vol. 143, (2012) pp.14-15. [Rev. John Rattenbury, bap. 1806]

Smith, Gervase. The Rev John Rattenbury: memorial sketch. London: Wesleyan Conference (1880) 95p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s920/RAT]

Thompson, Laurence. Robert Blatchford: portrait of an Englishman. London: Gollancz (1951) 242p.

Trump, H.J. Brunel and Teignmouth. Devon Historian 17, (1978) pp.12-15: ill. [Engineer, 1843-1857]

Tony, Vigars. William Bray's Diary, Devon Family Historian, vol. 116, (Dec 2005) pp.31-32. [William Bray m. Agnes Vigars, Tavistock - the diary extract concerns their journey to Australia in 1857]

Worth, R.N. Sir Francis Drake: His origin, arms and dealings with the Plymouth Corporation, Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 16 (1884), pp. 505-552. [Index]

Alfred Rooker [Obituary]. Transactions of the Devonshire Association, 1875, Vol VII, pp. 59-62. [Transcript]

John Hornbrook Gill [Obituary]. Transactions of the Devonshire Association, 1875, Vol VII, pp. 50-51. [Transcript]

Richard Peeke of Tavistock: his three to one, the commendatory verses and the play of Dick of Devonshire. Exeter: James G.Commin (1905) x, 100p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library- s920/PEE]

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Information about the Tavistock Cemeteries(archived copy).

Brief History of Tavistock Burial Grounds - an illustrated account, and a memorial look-up service.

Alford, D.P. The inscribed stones in the Vicarage garden, Tavistock. Trans. Devon. Assoc. (1890) [Index]

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Tavistock St Eustachius. The Dartmoor Press. 16pp. [Fitz, Glanville]

Vigars, Tony. A brief history of Tavistock Burial Grounds, Devon Family Historian, vol. 181, (2022) pp.42-45. [A detailed well-illustrated account.]

Transcriptions of the 1841 Census - Enumeration District No. 2, Enumeration District No. 3, Enumeration District No. 4, Enumeration District No. 5, Enumeration District No. 6, Enumeration District No. 7, Enumeration District No. 8, Enumeration District No. 9, and Enumeration District No. 10, by Marjorie Fisher.

Nick Mayne has prepared an index to the 1891 census, and is prepared to check for particular names in it on request.

Tavistock 1891 Census: a transcript.[Devon FHS Library p.929.34297]

St Eustachius Church, Tavistock, by Graham Naylor.

Alexander, J.J., Finberg, H.R. Tavistock Parish Church. [SoG library]

Bickersteth, Hugh Leslie. Notes on Church history in Tavistock. Tavistock: Jolliffe & Son [1935?] 18p: ill. [Plymouth Library - 726.5TAV]

Dell, Simon. The Quakers and Rediscovered Boundary Stone: Dolphin Road Cemetery in Tavistock, Devon Family Historian, vol. 175, no. (2020) pp.40-43.

Finberg, H.R. Abbots of Tavistock. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 22 (1942-46) pp.174-175, 186-188, 194-197.

Finberg, H.R. Some Early Tavistock Charters. English Historical Review 62 (1947) pp.352-377, 1103-1235.

Finberg, H.P.R. Tavistock Abbey: A Study in the Social and Economic History of Devon, Cambridge Univ. Press (1951) 330 pp.

Hicks, C.E. Early Methodism in Tavistock. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 78, (1946) pp.239-245.

Hicks, C.E. Nineteenth-century nonconformity in Tavistock. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 110, (1978) pp.9-18.

Hicks, H. Ronald. Ministers of the Abbey Chapel, Tavistock. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 23 (1947-49), pp.212-215, 248-251, 289-292, 315-318, 358-359.

Jenkins, Francis P. The Benedictine Abbey of St Mary & St Rumon, Tavistock, Devon 974-1539, (n.d.). [SoG Library - DE tracts box]

Kingdon, J. Early history of Congregationalism in Tavistock. Tavistock: Tavistock Printing (1894) 12p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p285.8/TAV/KIN]

Lightfoot, N.F. Some churches in the deanery of Tavistock. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 1 ser, v. 2, (1847) pp.53-66. [General description of various churches in the Tavistock area.]

Radford, Mrs G H. Tavistock Abbey. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 46 (1914) pp. 119-155. [Index]

Radford, Lady. Tavistock Abbey. Exeter Diocesan Architectural Soc. Trans. 3 ser, v. 4, [19--?] pp.55-86; plates.

Windeatt, E. Early non-conformity in Tavistock, Trans. Devon. Assoc., (1889), pp. 148-158. [Index]

Woolner, Diana. Tavistock Abbey Church. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 30,1 (1965) pp. 7-10.

Parish Registers going back to 1614 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

• Independent/Congregational Chapel (later United Reform Church), Brook Street: Registers for 1796-1837 (ZC) in PRO RG 4/451; 1796-1911 (C), 1868-1975 (M), 1867-1907 (B) at DRO
• Abbey Presbyterian/Unitarian Chapel, Bedford Square: Registers for 1692-1837 (C) in PRO RG 4/2030; 1862-1961 (C), 1874-1949 (B) at DRO
• Tavistock Wesleyan Circuit: Registers for 1809-1942 (C); 1837-1962, 1899-1914, 1918-72 at DRO
• Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for 1808-37 (ZC), 1832-37 (B) in PRO RG 4/341; 1860-83 (Chapel Street M) at DRO; for c1800-37 see also Plymouth Ebenezer, Morice Street Devonport (RG 4/864, 1325)
• Dolphin Road Cemetery: Registers (copy) for 1834-82 (B) at PWDRO

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Brook Street Independent Chapel Christenings 1686-1837, The Abbey Presbyterian Chapel Christenings 1692-1837 and Wesleyan Chapel Christenings 1809-1837.

Brown, Mike. Pre-1754 Marriages for Tavistock. (2 vols.). The Dartmoor Press (1999).

Dallas, J. The Tavistock Parish Registers. Notes and Gleanings - Devon and Cornwall 2 (1889) pp.69-70.

G., S. Buried in Ye Woolen - Affidavit Sworn. Devon Family Historian 43 (987) pp.12-13.

Johnstone, Mrs. G. An old parish chest, Trans. Devon. Assoc., (1889), pp. 228-237. [Index]

Stoate, T.L., (Ed.). Tavistock Parish Registers 1614-1781, Staverton, Harry Galloway Publishing (1993) 237 pp. [ISBN: 1-86241-27-5]

Worth, Richard Nicholls. Calendar of the Tavistock parish records. Plymouth: W. Brendon & Son (1887) viii, 135p. [Westcountry Studies Library - 352/TAV/WOR] [Full text]

The Deanery of Tavistock, CD008, Devon Family History Society, Exeter (2007). [Contains indexes: Bradstone - Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1755-1838, Burials 1813-1837; Brentor - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1834, Burials 1801-1845; Bridestowe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Broadwoodwidger - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1836, Burials 1813-1837; Coryton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1806-1860; Dunterton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1836, Burials 1752-1837; Kelly - Baptisms 1813-1842, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838; Lamerton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1844, Burials 1812-1838; Lewtrenchard - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1840; Lifton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1650-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Lydford - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1780-1841; Maryystow - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1792-1837; Milton Abbot - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838; Princetown - Baptisms 1813-1839, Burials 1815-1853; Sourton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1723-1837, Burials 1814-1838; Stowford - Baptisms 1811-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Sydenham Damerel - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1750-1837; Tavistock - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Thrushelton - Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Virginstow - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1836, Burials 1813-1839.]

Mettler, Alex. Were My Ancestors' Deaths Registered? A study based on the Tavistock Registration District 1840-1895, Devon Family Historian, vol. 124, (2007) pp.7-12.

The file Tavistock Borough Court Luxton Manuscripts, 1839-1896 - ("court summonses, witness depositions, conviction registers and more") is available on Findmypast.

Register of Freeholders - Stanborough & Tavistock c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D134). [Foreword]

Tavistock Town Council's web-site - with description of the town.

Tavistock-Information Web-Site.

Tavistock, from Wikipedia.

Section on Tavistock from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Barber, Chips. Around & About Tavistock. Pinhoe, Exeter: Obelisk Publications. [ISBN 1899073671].

Bridge, Maureen, Bridge, Don and Pegg, John, (Ed.). The Heart of Tavistock: Guide to the historic Dartmoor stannary town with a colourful past, a lively present and an exciting future, Tavistock, AQ & DJ Publications (1995) 196 pp.

Evans, Rachel. Home scenes: or, Tavistock and its vicinity, London, Simpkin and Marshall (1846) viii, 258p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library B/TAV/1846/EVA] [Index]

Glanville, Sir John. The voyage to Cadiz in 1625: Being a journal written by John Glanville, secretary to the lord admiral of the fleet (Sir E. Cecil), afterward Sir John Glanville, speaker of the Parliament, &c., &c., never before printed. From Sir John Eliot's mss. at Port Eliot. Ed., with introduction and notes, by the Rev. Alexander B. Grosart. Westminster: Printed for the Camden Society, (1883), xlvi, 132 pp. [Index]

Richardson, Roland. Tavistock, Drake's town. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 44 (1970) pp.38-40; ill.

• Geograph
• Flickr

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcript of entry in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devon (1870), provided by Val Henderson.

Tavistock and District Almanac: Directory and Visitor's Guide. Tavistock: Joliffe and Son [1918].

Brown, Mike. Trade Directory Index for Tavistock 1850. The Dartmoor Press (c1997) 14p.

Davey, F.A., Watts, S.G. Westward Look: Devon Pioneers and Pilgrims in the New World. Town & Country Press Ltd., 42 Rectory Lane, Bracknell, Berks. (1970) 56p. ["William Pepperrell - Tough Son of the Sea" [of Tavistock] - pp.47-46]

Tony, Vigars. William Bray's Diary, Devon Family Historian, vol. 116, (Dec 2005) pp.31-32. [William Bray m. Agnes Vigars, Tavistock - the diary extract concerns their journey to Australia in 1857]

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tavistock to another place.

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Deborah O'Brien who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PR transcription - baptisms, marriages and burials 1614-1837; censuses.) 

Dartmoor Press Online Magazine's page for this parish (archived copy), with articles, transcriptions, publication details, etc. - highly recommended.

The Drake Family of Devon, by Geoff Ledden.

The Sir Francis Drake Family, by Barbara Williams.

Alexander, J J. Crowndale [and the Drake family]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46 (1914). [Index]

Alexander, J.J. Edmund Drake's flight from Tavistock, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 20 (8), 1939, pp. 381-5

Gill, H.D. Random notes on the Tavistock Gills, Lamerton: the author, 1954.

Gill, H.D. Notes on the Tavistock Gill family and some of their connections. Lamerton, Tavistock: Venn (1954) 24p: ill, tables. [Westcountry Studies Library - 929.2/GIL]

Gill, H.D. Further Notes on the Tavistock Gill family and some of their connections. Lamerton, Tavistock: Venn (1957) 42p: ill, geneal.tables. [Westcountry Studies Library - 929.2/GIL]

Finberg, H.R. Prideaux of Tavistock and Altarnum, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 21 (8), 1941, pp. 337-45. [16-19th c.]

Fuller-Eliott-Drake, Elizabeth Douglas. The Family and Heirs of Sir Francis Drake. London: Smith Elder & Co. 15 Waterloo Place, S.W. (1911) 2 vols. illus. 488pp. [Preface & Contents]

Hunter, Ann. Simmons and Ware, Devon Family Historian, no. 151, (2014) p.8.

Lillicrapp, Peter. Lillicrapp Foundry Cottages, Tavistock, Devon Family Historian, vol. 175, no. (2020) p.44.

Miller, Amos C. Lady Howard and Sir Richard Grenville. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 101, (1969) pp.139-159. [Lawsuit involving Sir Richard Grenville and George Cuttford.]

Mettier, Alex. A "Shopping Bag", Devon Family Historian, vol. 165, (2018) pp.7-8. [The search for information about a collection of old photographs - including of Ivy Beale of Tavistock and Charles Vickery of Broadwoodwidger.]

Miller, Amos C. Lady Howard and her children. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 102, (1970) pp.87-104.

Morris, G.T.Windyer. Birthplace of Sir Francis Drake. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14:5, (1927) pp.214-215. - Crowndale farm, see Western Antiquary, vol.3, p.115.]

Noonan, Virginia. From Devon to Australia - A 19th Century Narrative, Devon Family Historian, vol. 166, (2018) p.6. [Family of William Merrifield, Librarian at the Tavistock Subscription Library (1841-1872), whose son Samuel emigrated to Australia in 1854.]

Noonan, Virginia. From Devon to Australis, A 19th Century Narrative: through the unpublished letters of the Merrifield family, Tavistock, Dart Print, for the Author (2017) 176 pp. [ISBB 978-0994612830]

Prideaux, F.B. Prideaux of Tavistock. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 7:3, (1912) pp.109-110. [Transcript]

Reichel, O.J. The Family and Heirs of Sir Francis Drake. Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries vol. IX, (January 1916 to January 1917), p. 32. [Transcript]

Szaroleta, Stan. Where Did They Come From? A Lamphee Puzzle Partly Solved, Devon Family Historian, vol. 154, (2015) pp.20-21.

Szaroleta, Stan. A Lamphee Family in Tavistock and West Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 174, (2020) pp.37-38.

Szaroleta, Stan. A Lamphee Family in Tavistock and West Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 179, (2021) pp.28-29.

Taylor, Alan. Cudlipp of 17th century Tavistock. Farnborough: A.J.C.Taylor (1988) 26p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p929.2/CUD]

Taylor, Alan. Cudlipp of 17th century Tavistock: additional notes. Farnborough: A.J.C.Taylor (1991) 7p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p929.2/CUD]

Worth, R.N. The Drakes in Tavistock, Notes and Gleanings . . . Devon and Cornwall 1, 1888, 86-7.

The Tucker family. Typescript (n.d.) 37 leaves: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - px929.2/TUC ]

Alexander, J.J. The coats of arms at Kilworthy. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13:7, (1925) pp.316-322. [Formerly home of Glanville and Manaton families.

Drake, H.H. Drake - The arms of his family and surname: Argent, a waver-dragon gules. Trans. Dev. Assoc. Vol. 15 (1883), pp. 487-493. [Index]

The History of Tavistock (archived copy), from Devon Online.

Alexander, J.J. Tavistock as a Parliamentary borough, part 1. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 42, (1910) pp.258-277. [Index]

Alexander, J.J. Tavistock as a Parliamentary borough, part 2 (1688-1885). Trans. Devon. Assoc. 43, (1911) pp.371-402.

Alexander, J.J. Some notes on Tavistock history. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46, (1914) pp.156-175; 47, (1915) pp.372-395. [Index to part I] [Index to part II]

Alexander, J.J. Tavistock in the fifteenth century. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 69 (1937) pp247- 285.

Alexander, J.J. Tavistock in the thirteenth century. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 71, (1939) pp.221-230.

Alexander, J.J. The beginnings of Tavistock. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 74, (1942) pp.173-202.

Antony, G.H. The Tavistock, Launceston and Princetown Railways. (1971) [DFHS LOC 148]

Appleton, Edward. (1866). Archaeological Notes of Tavistock and Neighbourhood. Report and Transactions of the Devonshire Association of Science, Literature and Art. (1862-66), Vol I. Part V, London: Taylor & Francis, Plymouth: W Brendon (1866), illus. pp 122-127. [Index]

Brown, Cynthia Gaskell. A Lost Devon Village: New Quay, Devonshire Association Transactions, vol. 114, (1982) pp. 133-168.

Clifford, E T. Drake's treasure. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 44 (1912). [Index]

Fenner, Robin A. Tavistock 1900-1930: the first thirty years. [Tavistock]: R.A.Fenner [1985] x, 102p: chiefly ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/1930/FEN]

Finsberg, H P R. The Stannery of Tavistock. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 81 (1949) pp.155-84.

Finberg, P.R. The borough of Tavistock its origin & early history. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 79, (1947) pp.129-153, plates: ill.

Finberg, H.P.R. Tavistock Abbey: a study in the social and economic history of Devon (2nd. ed.). Cambridge University Press (1969) xi, 320p, plates: ill, map. [ISBN 0715343351]

Goodridge, J.C. Devon Great Consols: a study of Victorian mining enterprise. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 96, (1964) pp.228-268, plates: ill.

Harris, Helen. Foundries in nineteenth century Tavistock. Devon Historian 31, (1985) pp.16.

Harrison, Bill. Tavistock scouts: the first 75 years, 1909-1984. [Tavistock]: [B.Harrison] [1984] 33p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p369.4/TAV/HAR]

Hicks, C.E. Tavistock: the changing scene in the last two centuries. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 79 (1947) pp. 155- 173.

Hicks, H. Ronald. The Tavistock Theatre. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 80, (1948) pp.187-191.

Hoskins, W.G. and H.P.R. Finberg. Devonshire Studies, London, Jonathan Cape (1952) 470 pp. (See pp. 172-197.)

Kempe, Alfred John. Notices of Tavistock and its abbey. From Gentleman's Magazine (1830) 21p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/0001/KEM]

Mettler, A. E. The Bedford Hotel Tavistock. S.l.: The Author (1986) 29, [6]p: ill. [Plymouth Library - 728.5BED]

Mettler, Alex. A Devon Gem: The Bedford Hotel, Tavistock, Philip Davies (2013) 218 pp. [ISBN-13: 978-0957649309]

Patrick, Amber. Growth and decline of Morwellham, Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 106, (1974) pp.95-117.

Patrick, Amber. Morwellham Quay: a history: a Tamar Valley mining quay 1140-1900. Morwellham Quay Museum (1990) [ISBN 0951636006] [Contains census transcriptions 1841-81 and many other lists]

Phillips, M.C. Revd John Jago and his Survey of Tavistock of 1784; Demographic Changes 1741-1871 and their Association with Mining Developments. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.145-154.

Qui. Some reflections on the history of Tavistock "the Gothic town of the West". [s.l.]: [s.n.] (19--) 44p. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/TAV/0001/QUI]

Radford, Mrs G H. Charter of Tavistock [1682]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46 (1914). [Index]

Reichel, O J. Hundred of Tavistock in early times. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46 (1914) pp. 220-255. [Index]

Searley, A.W. (comp.) A book about Tavistock. Scrapbook [1930?] 608p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/0001/SEA] (Collection of articles from Trans. Devon. Assoc., photographs, etc.)

Sloman, Mike and Tynan, Bill. Tavistock AFC: The First 100 Years, 1888/9-1988/9 (1989). [Devon FHS Library p942.35/TAV]

Thrower, Norman Joseph William (Ed). Sir Francis Drake and the Famous Voyage, 1577-80. Essays Commemorating the Quadricentennial of Drake's Circumnavigation of the World. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press. Published under the auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (1984). illus. maps, xix, 207 pp. [Index]

Woodcock, Gerry. Tavistock's yesterdays: episodes from her history. (Nos 1 - 10) Tavistock: G.Woodcock (1985-94) 10 vols., each 88p: ill, ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/0001/WOO]

Woodcock, Gerry. Tavistock. Stroud: Chalford Publishing (1997) 128p: cfly ill, ports. [ISBN 0752407600]

Woodcock, Gerry. The Book of Tavistock: Celebrating a distinctive market town, Tiverton, Halsgrove (2003) 160 pp. [ISBN 1841142425]

Woodcock, Gerry. Homage to St Eustachius: A History of Tavistock Parish Council. [DFHS Library 942.35/TAV] [ISBN 978186077731-8]

Wootton, M and S. Reminiscences of Tavistock. Tavistock: M.and S. Wootton (1975) 142p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/0001/WOO]

Worth, R.N. Municipal life in Tavistock, Trans. Devon. Assoc. (1889) pp. 305-311. [Index]

Worth, R.N. Notes on the Early History of Tavistock, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 1889, Vol XXI, pp. 132-137. [Index]

A Short History of Tavistock. (1974) [DFHS LOC 144]

Tavistock AFC: First Hundred years 1888/9 - 1988/9. [DFHS LOC 69]

Denham, P.V. The Duke of Bedford's Tavistock Estate, 1820-1838. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 110, (1978) pp.19-51: maps.

Finberg, H.P.R. Morwell. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 77, (1945) pp.157-171.

Map of the area from OldeMaps (circa 1950).

OS 1:500 1883 Town Plan of Tavistock, provided by the National Library of Scotland. (The plan consists of 14 sheets - to examine an individual sheet select the appropriate extent in the little grid covering Tavistock and click on "Zoom to selected map extent.)"

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX481744 (Lat/Lon: 50.549577, -4.145455), Tavistock which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Patrick, Amber. Some documentary sources for the history of Morwellham in the eighteenth century. Devon Historian 10, (1975) pp.36-41.

Patric, Amber. The trade and shipping of Morwellham in the ninteenth century. Exeter Papers Economic Hist. 13, (1980) pp.35-52; maps, ill.

Brewer, Dave. Napoleonic prisoners of war at Moretonhampstead, Okehampton and Tavistock. Dartmoor Magazine no. 13, (1988) pp.9; ill.

Mettler, Alex and Woodcock, Gerry. We Will Remember Them, Tavistock Local History Society (2003). [ISBN 0954428412] [About the men of Tavistock who died in the First World War]

Mettler, Alex and Woodcock, Gerry. Lest We Forget - The Tavistock Fallen of the Second World War, A.E. Mettler, Landfall, Courtenay road, Tavistock, devon PL19 0EE (2007?). [ISBN 978-0-954424-3-9]

Richardson, R. Through war to peace 1914-1918: being a short account of the part played by Tavistock & neighbourhood in the Great War. Tavistock: the author? (1919) xiv, 102p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TAV/1914/RIC]

Tavistock War Memorial - pictures and name listings, from Devon Heritage.

Mettler, Alex and Woodcock, Gerry. We Will Remember Them: The Men of Tavistock Who Died in the First World War, Tavistock & District Local History Society (2003) 257 pp.

Mettler, Alex and Woodcock, Gerry. Lest We Forget: The Tavistock Fallen of the Second World War, Tavistock & District Local History Society (2007) 251 pp.

Names from an 1822-23 edition of Pigot's Directory.

Index to the unpublished Scrapbooks of Mary Ann (Shepherd) Cole, a former resident of Morwellham, Tavistock, covering years 1874-1915.

Tavistock - List of Male Parishoners And Their Trades - 18c, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D081). [Foreword]

Tavistock Times Gazette - regional electronic journal.

Morwelham Quay - tourist attraction based on an old copper mine.

Aiken, S.R. West Devon Mining: the influence of mining on the parish of Tavistock in the 19th century. (1964) 37p: maps, diagrams. [Plymouth Library - 622.34]

Bawden, M. Mines and mining in the Tavistock district [1810-1901]. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46 (1914) pp. 256-264. [Index]

Mettler, Alex. Devon Country Town Brewers and Public Houses - Tavistock 1752-2020, Tavistock Local History Society (2022) 547 pp. [ISBN-10-0954428455]

Tamar Journal [Friends of Morwellham], nos. 4-5 (1982-3) and no. 8 (1986). [SoG Library DE/PER]

Alexander, J.J. Tavistock as a Paliamentary Borough. Trans. Devon Assoc. 42 (1910) pp.258-277, 43 (1911) pp.371-402.

Jones, W. Portreeves of Tavistock. Notes and Gleanings - Devon and Cornwall 4 (1891) pp.18-19.

Tavistock Union Workhouse Transcriptions (mainly related to Calstock), provided by Julie Williamson (archived copy).

Tavistock Workhouse Births - 1866-1901, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D003). [Foreword]

Tavistock Workhouse Deaths - 1866-1901, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D004). [Foreword]

Transcripts of the wills of Elizabeth Windeatt (1766) and Thomas Windeatt (1850) by Sandra Windeatt.

Transcripts of the wills of Mary Windeatt (1834) and William Windeatt (1832/3) by Pam Jackson, and by Sandra Windeatt.

Transcripts of the wills of John Roskilly (1820) and John Carter (1836) by Ros Dunning.

History of Mount Kelly School.

Penny, A.O.V. Kelly College register, 1877- 1927. Tavistock: The College (1930) 246p, plates: ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - 373/TAV/KEL]

Woodcock, Gerry. Tavistock School: the first thousand years. Tavistock: G.Woodcock (1978) 280p, plates: ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - 373/TAV/WOO] [Raymond: Includes lists of heads, 1552-1978, and of full time members of staff, 1959-1978, etc.]

Interesting abstracts and minutes from the managers' meetings ...Tavistock Church of England schools 1855-1955. Typescript (1966) 16p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s377.8/TAV/INT ]

Tavistock Local History Society website.