Hide
Albury
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"PATMER, a hamlet partly in the parish of Albury, hundred of Edwinstree, and partly in the parish of Bishop's-Stortford, hundred of Braughing, county Herts, half a mile from Bishop's-Stortford. It belongs to the Bishop of London, who holds courts leet and baron, at which a constable and other officers are annually chosen."
[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2020
Hide
| St Mary, Albury, Church of England |
| St Mary, Albury, Church of England |
There is a picture (81 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Mary the Virgin, Albury; supplied by Ian Rose.
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1558-1912
- Marriages - 1558-1998
- Burials - 1558-1868 and 1870-1995
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1813-1865
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P1]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1558-1875 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1558-1911 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1538-1904 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
"Spread-out parish with three population centres in typical East Hertfordshire country. The old centre is on high ground half a mile west of some newer development at Clapgate."St. Mary's Church has a miniature grandeur. the 13th-century chancel contains some very ordinary Victorian woodwork, a medieval screen of most tendril-like tracery, and some unusual Art Nouveauish brass plaques among the ancient ones. A whitewashed and clear-glazed 14th-century nave retains some original window tracery. The stone effigy of Sir Walter da la Lee's wife shows her unnaturally slim. A venerable iron-bound chest is of timber with the quality of fossilized sponge. Extensive views from an apon churchyard of a landscape puntuated by pylons. In the graveyard is an exotic flowering of Art Nouveau around the Shoobridge tomb: wrought iron rows of stiff lilies pointing heavenwards under a forest of scrolls, pinnacles and intricategrillework; speckled verdigris against the deeper green of the lime-tree avenue behind.
"A house called Labour in Vain was once an inn. The village pond is said to be as deep as the churchtower is high. At Patmore Heath (1m NE) is a nature reserve with some cottages dotted around its fringe, and Patmore Hall, half-hidden near the site of a deserted medieval village. On a misty morning the woodland of lanky hornbeams takes on the look of a Rowland Hilder water-colour."
[From Hertfordshire (a Shell Guide), R. M. Healey , Faber & Faber, London, 1982]
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"PATMER, a hamlet partly in the parish of Albury, hundred of Edwinstree, and partly in the parish of Bishop's-Stortford, hundred of Braughing, county Herts, half a mile from Bishop's-Stortford. It belongs to the Bishop of London, who holds courts leet and baron, at which a constable and other officers are annually chosen."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Albury to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL435247 (Lat/Lon: 51.902368, 0.084403), Albury which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.