Hide

Aldbury

hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
hide
Hide
"ALDBURY, a parish in the hundred of Dacorum, in the county of Herts, 3 miles to the N.E. of Berkhampstead. It lies pleasantly below the range of the Chiltern-hills, whose summits are wooded, and at a little distance from the London and North Western railway and the Grand Junction canal. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £448, in the patronage of Earl Brownlow. The church is old, and in the early English style, and is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It contains two altar tombs of the Verneys and Andersons, richly sculptured: one with the figure of a knight recumbent and his lady, the other with fine brasses of a knight and lady and their twelve children. There are also tombs of the Hydes, who owned the manor, which now belongs to the Duke of Leeds. There are three poor's cottages in the village, for five widowers and widows, endowed by some person unknown."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2020

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Anglican
St John, Aldbury, Church of England
topup

Churches

Anglican
St John, Aldbury, Church of England
topup

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1694-1968
  • Marriages - 1694-1968
  • Burials - 1694-1934
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1813-1865

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P2]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1558-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1558-1875 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1558-1911 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

topup

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Aldbury which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

"ALDBURY, a parish in the hundred of Dacorum, in the county of Herts, 3 miles to the N.E. of Berkhampstead. It lies pleasantly below the range of the Chiltern-hills, whose summits are wooded, and at a little distance from the London and North Western railway and the Grand Junction canal. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £448, in the patronage of Earl Brownlow. The church is old, and in the early English style, and is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. It contains two altar tombs of the Verneys and Andersons, richly sculptured: one with the figure of a knight recumbent and his lady, the other with fine brasses of a knight and lady and their twelve children. There are also tombs of the Hydes, who owned the manor, which now belongs to the Duke of Leeds. There are three poor's cottages in the village, for five widowers and widows, endowed by some person unknown."

topup

History

The Victoria County History pages for Aldbury offer a very complete history of the parish.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP963124 (Lat/Lon: 51.801961, -0.60481), Aldbury which are provided by: