Hide
Anstey
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
ANSTEY (about 4 1/2 miles N.E. from Buntingford Station, G.E.R.) has a cruciform church of mixed styles: the nave is Dec., the transepts E.E., the S. porch. Perp. The tower rests upon four Norman arches ; the font also is Norman. The church was restored in 1871 ; many features of architectural interest being wisely retained. The recumbent effigy in the recess in S: transept is thought to be that of Richard de Anestie, who founded the church in the fourteenth century. We learn from Domesday Book that at the time of the Great Survey there was "pannage" (i.e. acorn woods) at Anestie sufficient to feed fifty hogs, and that the manor was worth fourteen pounds a year, There was once a castle here, built soon after the Conquest, the site of which is supposed to be marked by the remains of a moat still to be traced in the grounds of Anstey Hall. The churchyard is entered by a covered lich-gate. [From Hertfordshire - Little Guide 1903, Methuen & Co., London, 1903]
Hide
| St George, Anstey, Church of England |
| St George, Anstey, Church of England |
The Parish Registers for the periods: -
- Baptisms - 1543-1857
- Marriages - 1541-1836
- Burials - 1540-1923
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1800-1840
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P5]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1541-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1541-1857 is covered by the IGI.
There is a full transcipt in alphabetical order from the earliest date to about 1837 held at HALS.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1540-1923 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Anstey to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL404328 (Lat/Lon: 51.975936, 0.042679), Anstey which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.