Hide
Aston
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"ASTON, a parish in the hundred of Broadwater, in the county of Hertford, 3 miles to the S.E. of Stevenage, its post town. It is situated near the river Brane. In the Saxon period it was a royal demesne. It was one of the possessions of the Abbey of Reading from the reign of Henry I. till the Dissolution, being conferred on the abbey by his queen, Adeliza. Henry VIII. gave it to Sir John Boteler, of Watton Woodhall. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, of the value of £380, in the patronage of the Rev. G. A. Oddie, the incumbent. The church is dedicated to St. Mary, and contains a brass of the year 1592. There are charitable endowments amounting to £3 per annum. Aston Hall or Place, is a curious brick building of considerable antiquity, with decorated chimneys. The Puckridge hounds meet at Aston Bury."
[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2020
Hide
| St Mary, Aston, Church of England |
| St Mary, Aston, Church of England |
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1558-1986
- Marriages - 1558-1980
- Burials - 1558-1902
- Bishops' Transcripts - 1604-1868
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P9]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1558-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1558-1875 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1558-1922 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"ASTON, a parish in the hundred of Broadwater, in the county of Hertford, 3 miles to the S.E. of Stevenage, its post town. It is situated near the river Brane. In the Saxon period it was a royal demesne. It was one of the possessions of the Abbey of Reading from the reign of Henry I. till the Dissolution, being conferred on the abbey by his queen, Adeliza. Henry VIII. gave it to Sir John Boteler, of Watton Woodhall. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, of the value of £380, in the patronage of the Rev. G. A. Oddie, the incumbent. The church is dedicated to St. Mary, and contains a brass of the year 1592. There are charitable endowments amounting to £3 per annum. Aston Hall or Place, is a curious brick building of considerable antiquity, with decorated chimneys. The Puckridge hounds meet at Aston Bury."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aston to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL271226 (Lat/Lon: 51.887476, -0.154606), Aston which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.