Hide
Caldecote
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
hide
Hide
"CALDECOTT, a parish in the hundred of Odsey, in the county of Hertford, 3 miles to the N. of Baldock, which is its post town, and a station on the Hitchin and Cambridge branch of the Great Eastern railway. The parish, which contains only 318 acres, lies on the border of Bedfordshire. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £75, in the patronage of C. C. Hale, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene. Icknield Street passed a little to the S. of this place, and in 1724 some Roman urns were found here."
[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2020
Hide
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1726-1970
- Marriages - 1726-1974
- Burials - 1726-1964
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1605-1882
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P28]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1726-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1609-1834 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1726-1970 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"CALDECOTT, a parish in the hundred of Odsey, in the county of Hertford, 3 miles to the N. of Baldock, which is its post town, and a station on the Hitchin and Cambridge branch of the Great Eastern railway. The parish, which contains only 318 acres, lies on the border of Bedfordshire. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £75, in the patronage of C. C. Hale, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene. Icknield Street passed a little to the S. of this place, and in 1724 some Roman urns were found here."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Caldecote to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL236384 (Lat/Lon: 52.030246, -0.199756), Caldecote which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.