Hide

Eastwick

hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
hide
Hide
"EASTWICK, a parish in the hundred of Braughing, county Herts, 3 miles W. of Harlow, its post town, and 5 S.E. of Ware. It is situated on the river Stort, and the Burnt Mill station on the Great Eastern railway is about 1 mile S.E. of the village. Petty sessions are held in the village, which was anciently a market town, but is now an inconsiderable hamlet. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £210, in the patronage of R. P. Ward, Esq. The church is an ancient Norman structure, dedicated to St. Botolph. It contains monuments of the Ward family, also a brass (1564). The parochial charities produce about £6 per annum."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2020

Hide
topup

Cemeteries

Anglican
St Botolph, Eastwick, Church of England
topup

Churches

Anglican
St Botolph, Eastwick, Church of England
topup

Church History

There is a picture (31 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Botolph, Eastwick; supplied by Ian Rose.

topup

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1555-1878
  • Marriages - 1556-1977
  • Burials - 1555-1930
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1800-1866

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P35]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1555-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1555-1879 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1555-1930 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

topup

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Eastwick which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868

"EASTWICK, a parish in the hundred of Braughing, county Herts, 3 miles W. of Harlow, its post town, and 5 S.E. of Ware. It is situated on the river Stort, and the Burnt Mill station on the Great Eastern railway is about 1 mile S.E. of the village. Petty sessions are held in the village, which was anciently a market town, but is now an inconsiderable hamlet. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Rochester, value £210, in the patronage of R. P. Ward, Esq. The church is an ancient Norman structure, dedicated to St. Botolph. It contains monuments of the Ward family, also a brass (1564). The parochial charities produce about £6 per annum."

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL434117 (Lat/Lon: 51.785589, 0.077565), Eastwick which are provided by: