Steeple Gidding

• Monumental inscriptions of this parish have not yet been recorded by the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.

• Census information for this parish (1841 - 1891) is held in the Huntingdon Records Office.
• The full 1841 Census of Steeple Gidding Parish is available as fiche set C95.
• The full 1851 Census of Steeple Gidding Parish is available as fiche set C45.
• A Surname Index of the 1881 Census of the Huntingdon Registration District, in which Steeple Gidding was enumerated (RG11/1601, Folios 68a - 70b), and which took place on 3rd April 1881, is available as fiche set C3.
• A full transcription of the 1891 Census of the Sawtry sub-District of the Huntingdon Registration District (RG12/1235) in which Steeple Gidding was enumerated, and which took place on 5th April 1891, is available as fiche set C7.
• The above mentioned fiche are available from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.

• The following Churches have their own websites:
  • St. Andrew's Church, Steeple Gidding

• The church of St Andrew consists of a chancel, nave, south aisle and west tower. The walls are of coursed rubble with stone dressings, and the roofs are covered with lead and tiles.
• The church is not mentioned in the Domesday survey of 1086, but there was evidently a small stone church here in the 12th century of which part of the arch of the south doorway remains. It must have had a tower and steeple before 1260, by which date the parish had already obtained its distinctive name.
• The whole church was rebuilt during the 14th century, beginning, in the opening years, with the building of the south aisle and arcade, and ending, nearly 100 years later, with the rebuilding of the tower and spire together with the north-west corner of the nave.
• The chancel, nave and aisles were restored again and the porch rebuilt in 1874, and the tower and spire were restored in 1899.
• There are photographs and further information on St. Andrew's Church on Rob's Churches website.

• The following are available in the Huntingdon Records Office.
  • Baptisms: 1571-1867 (indexed), 1813-1966.
  • Banns: 1824-1941.
  • Marriages: 1575-1836 (indexed), 1838-1947.
  • Burials: 1572-1896 (indexed), 1813-1974.
  • Bishop's Transcripts: 1604-10, 1618-19, 1626, 1660-9/1680, 1684-8, 1690, 1692, 1695, 1698-9, 1701-2, 1705-7, 1709, 1711-35, (1736 is with Little Gidding's Registers), 1737-42, 1744-58, 1761-3, 1765-9, 1771-6, 1780-4, 1788-1812/1813-22/1824-49, 1851-9.
• The parish registers for Steeple Gidding St. Andrew 1571-1992, are available as fiche set D87.
• The Huntingdonshire Marriage Indexes include marriages from this parish. These are, at present, issued in alphabetical listings in series: 1601-1700, and 1701-1754.
• Both the above mentioned fiche sets are available from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.

• The parish of Steeple Gidding was originaly in the Huntingdon Registration District from 1st July 1837. Subsequently it became part of the Sawtry sub-District. From 1st April 1997, it once again is directly under the Huntingdon Registration District.

• A civic website on The Giddings is available.

• A transcript of the SteepleGidding parish entries from 1932 Victoria County Series
• A transcript of the SteepleGidding parish entries from Samuel Lewis's 1835 Topographical Dictionary of England,

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Steeple Gidding to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL134814 (Lat/Lon: 52.418846, -0.333965), Steeple Gidding which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

• The Steeple Gidding Victory Bible has been transcribed with detailed information about those who fell is available on the Roll of Honour site for Huntingdonshire.

• Redinges (xi cent.),
• Giddingges, Giddinge (xii cent.),
• Stepel Geddynge (xiv cent.),
• Gyendyng, Giddynge Abbatis (xv cent.).

• The parish of Steeple Gidding was in the Huntingdon Union for Poor Law administration.
• Births and Deaths registered in the Huntingdon Union Workhouse (1838 - 1949) are available, as fiche set D10, from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.

• Population in 1801 - 77.
• Population in 1851 - 105.
• Population in 1901 - 96.
• Population in 1951 - 57.
• Population in 1971 - 43.
• Population in 1991 - 28.