Hide
Salford Census
hide
Hide
The census records that have been made available for Salford are:
| Year | Sub District | PRO piece | LDS film | Indexes, transcripts etc. |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1841 | Greengate | HO107/585 | ||
| Regent Road | HO107/586 | |||
| 1851 | Greengate | HO107/2223 | 87232 | A surname index (Vol 11) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
Sections of the Salford 1851 census are water damaged and have never been filmed, but the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as 1380 Salford Greengate, 48 fiche. |
| Regent Road | HO107/2224 | 87233 | A surname index (Vol 11) has been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
Sections of the Salford 1851 census are water damaged and have never been filmed, but the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as 1384 Salford Regent Rd, 26 fiche. |
|
| 1861 | Greengate | RG9/2910-8 | A surname index has been published by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS. | |
| Regent Road | RG9/2919-26 | A surname index has been published by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS. | ||
| 1871 | Greengate | RG10/4016-20 | Names from the 1871 Census of Salford Royal Hospital Dispensary, transcribed by Ted Wildy. | |
| Regent Road | RG10/4021-27 | |||
| 1881 | Greengate | RG11/3957-63 | Indexes, and transcriptions can be found in the Lancashire section of the fiche produced by the 1881 census project and on the CD available from the The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
|
|
| Regent Road | RG11/3964-76 | |||
| 1891 | Greengate | RG12/3215-8 | 6098325-8 | |
| Regent Road | RG12/3219-29 | 6098329-39 | ||
| 1901 | Can be searched online at the National Archives |
N.B. Please remember that all transcripts and indexes are subject to error or mistakes. They are compiled from film copies of handwritten documents that in some cases are very hard to read. So use them as finding aids, and always check with the original documents, even for the 1881 census on CD.
The only census which can be easily searched is that for 1881. All the rest require searching page by page of handwritten information. The effort required is considerably reduced if a surname or street index exists, but it is still not a trivial task. Please bear this in mind before requesting lookups via e-mail lists or newsgroups.
If you want to look at the census then try the following places:
- The Local Studies library for this area will normally hold a copy for the local area.
- The National Archives in London, holds copies of all the released census for England and Wales.
- LDS Family History Centres around the world can order the census for you to research there.
If you want to purchase your own copy of the census film/fiche, then you obtain a copy from the National Archives/Public Record Office.
If you know of the existence of any other indexes or transcripts, then let us know and we can add their location to this page.