Appleby

• The Cemetery is across the street from the church and was consecrated in November, 1877.
   
• The Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society have published details of Appleby burials (Ref: 865F) from 1813 - 1865.
   

• The parish was in the Measham subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
   
• The 1851 census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. The whole index is available on microfiche. The society has also published it in print and Volume 7 covers the Measham subdistrict which includes the Leicestershire part of Appleby.
   
• The Appleby Information Portal holds copies of census returns for 1841 - 1911.
   
• Chris Bee also has the The 1939 Civilian Register on the portal.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

Census Year	Piece No.
1841	H.O. 107 / 600
1851	H.O. 107 / 2084
1861	R.G. 9 / 2267
1871	R.G. 10 / 3243
1891	R.G. 12 / 2508

• The Anglican parish church for Appleby is dedicated to Saint Michael and All Angels.
   
• Tradition holds that the church was built on the site of a Roman temple.
   
• The churchyard burial ground was expanded in by an acre in 1877.
   
• The church seats 600.
   
• Philip JEFFREY has a photograph of St. Michael and All Angels' Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2014.
   

• The Anglican parish register dates from 1572 and is in fair condition.
   
• The church was in the Akeley West rural deanery.
   
• The General Baptists had a chapel built here in 1820.
   
• The Particular Baptists had a chapel built here by 1849.
   
• The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built here by 1849.
   
• The Society of Genealogists holds copies of baptisms (1572 - 1862), marriages (1573 - 1837) and burials (1572 - 1906) from Appleby Magna which can be studied at their library in London.
   
• The Appleby Information Portal holds copies of parish registers (1572 - 1906).
   

• The parish was in the Measham subdistrict of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Registration District.
   
• Civil Registration started in July, 1837.
   

Appleby is a village in two counties. Most of the village is in the Leicesteshire parish of Appleby, but some of the village spills over into Derbyshire. The parish is about 110 miles north of London, 8 miles north of Atherstone and 5 miles south-west of Ashby-de-la-Zouch. The parish covers 2,853 acres and includes the hamlet of Little Appleby just 1/2 mile south-west of the village.

If you are planning a visit:

• By automobile, take the A42 south out of Ashby de la Zouch and turn left (east) into Appleby.
   

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ann ANDREWS provides a transcription of the Appleby entry from Kelly's Directory of the Counties of Derby, Notts, Leicester and Rutland (1891).

• The transcription of the section for Appleby from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin HINSON.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Appleby to another place.

• A 4th Century Romano-British farm has been excavated in the parish.
   
• In the 1068 Domesday Book, the parish is listed as "Apleby" and as part of Derbyshire.
   
• The Amenity Woodlands, just north of the village, is a small part of the national reforestation project.
    The web page author has been told that ist is locally known as Georgina’s Wood.
• John POYSER has a photograph of the entrance to Amenity woodland on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.
   
• Phillip JEFFREY has a photograph of the Appleby Inn on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2014.
   

• Appleby Hall is a handsome structure about 3/4 of a mile outside the village. It was the seat of George John MOORE in 1912.
   

• See our Maps page for additional resources.
   

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK315098 (Lat/Lon: 52.684982, -1.535457), Appleby which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Inside the church there is a framed Roll of Honour for World War One and World War Two.

In the churchyard is a tall granite cross with names on plaque to base. Dedicated and unveiled Autumn 1920 by Colonel BYRON, Leicestershire Yeomanry Cavalry and Rev C. T. MOORE. The plaques cover both World Wars and the Cyprus intervention of 1956.

The names listed on the War Memorial in the churchyard are:

• Appleby was an ancient parish of Leicestershire and became a Civil Parish on 30 September, 1897 when the old parish boundaries, which intruded into Derbyshire, were redrawn. The whole parish was thereafter in Leicestershire.
   
• On 1 April, 1965, the parish was reduced by 4 acres which were given to Newton Regis Civil Parish in Warwickshire.
   
• The Leicestershire portion of the parish was in the ancient Sparkenhoe Hundred in the western division of the county.
   
• The Derbyshire portion of the parish was in the ancient Repten and Gresley Hundred.
   

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Ashyb-de-la-Zouch petty session hearings.
   
• The Common Land was enclosed here in 1771.
   
• As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, Appleby became part of the Ashby-de-la-Zouch Poorlaw Union.
   
• The Misses MOORES had almshouses built in 1839.
   

Year	Inhabitants
1841	1,075
1891	657
1901	649
1911	675
1921	752
1951	829

• A Grammar school was founded at Appleby Magna by Sir John MOORE, Lord Mayor of London in 1697. The school was closed by 1912.
   
• A Public Elementary School for boys occupied a portion of the Grammar School building.
   
• A Public Elementary School for girls was built in 1845 for 120 children.