Enderby

• Enderby Library
• Townsend Road
• Enderby, Leicestershire, LE19 4PG
• Tele: 0116 286 2091

The Library has free Wi-fi for those of you with laptops or tablet computers.

The Enderby Community Library in Townsend Road is a branch of the Leicester County Council Library System. It is open 6 days each week (verify by phone if you are visiting).

1. Carne, C. Mark, "The graveyard monuments in Enderby parish churchyard", 42 pages, paperback, publ. 2001, ISBN: unknown.
    
2. Walton, Sylvia, "Enderby in 1881 : a snapshot of a village", 160 pages, paperback, publ. 2001, ISBN: unknown.

Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Church Graveyard on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2017.

• The parish was the centre of the Enderby subdistrict in the Blaby Registration District from 1896 to 1974.
   
• The 1851 Census for Leicestershire has been indexed by the Leicestershire & Rutland Family History Society. Volume 4 covers the Enderby sub-district.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

Census Year	Piece No.
1841	H.O. 107 / 600
1861	R.G. 9 / 2258
1871	R.G. 10 / 3233 & 3234
1891	R.G. 12 / 2500

• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
   
• The church was originally built about 1230.
   
• The church was rebuilt in 1868, except for the tower.
   
• The church seats 500.
   
• Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Parish Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2007.
   
• Mat FASCIONE has another photograph of the Enderby Parish Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2017.
   

• The Anglican parish register dates from 1559.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Guthlaxton (first portion).
   
• The Society of Genealogists holds copies of parish registers including baptisms from 1559 - 1656, marriages from 1560 - 1837 and burials from 1567 - 1656 which can be studied at their library in London.
   
• The original records are held at the Leicestershire Records Office.
   
• The Congregationalists built a chapel in Chapel Street in 1822 and rebuilt it in 1910.
   
• The Primitive Methodists built a chapel in Cross Street before 1881.
   

• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   
• The parish was the centre of the Enderby subdistrict in the Blaby Registration District from 1896 to 1974.
   

This large village, township and parish lie on the west side of the vale of the River Soar, 5 miles southwest of Leicester and 100 miles north of London. Narborough is just to the south. The parish covers just over 1,670 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

• By automobile, take the M1 Motorway (or the M69 Motorway) to the B582 arterial road southwest out of Leicester. The village is just south off of the B582 between the M1 and M69 Motorways.
   
• The parish has its own website.
   

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Enderby to another place.

• During the 1800s and early 1900s, most of the inhabitants were employed in the quarries, in boot making or as frame-work knitters.
   
• Tim GLOVER has a photograph of the Plough Inn on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2016.
   
• "The BITTERMAN" has a photograph of the New Inn in High Street on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2009.
   
• Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Hedge along the Fosse Way on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2017. The old Roman Road tracks along the route of the B4114 arterial road here.
   

• Enderby Hall, the seat of the DRUMMOND family and the MITCHELL family before them, was the residence of Frederick R. DONISTHORPE in 1912. It stands in a park of about 80 acres.
   
• Enderby Hall was purchased in 1865 by Charles BROOK. Mat FASCIONE has a photograph of the Statue of Charles BROOK which stands outside the Old School on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2014.
   

• See our Maps page for additional resources.
   

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SP537994 (Lat/Lon: 52.589757, -1.208768), Enderby which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

There are two marble plaques in St John the Baptist Church honouring the men who fell in World War One and World War Two.

Their is a shield-shaped plaque on the outside of Enderby United Reform Church commemorating five men from the parish who fell in World War One.

There is a memorial window in the parish church to Cecil Rowland DRUMMOND of H.M.S. Centurion, died July, l897. at Hong Kong,

The Litany Desk in the parish church was a gift, in memory of the son of the Rev. Claud A. VINCENT, vicar of this parish 1914-17, who fell in the charge of the Leicester Regiment, Oct. 1915.

There is a second table in the church dedicated to the men of the parish who fell in the Great War, 1914-18.

• The village name appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as "Andretesbie" and " Endrebie".
   

• This place was an ancient parish of Leicestershire and a township, as well.
   
• The parish was in the Sparkenhoe Hundred (Wapentake) in the southern division of the county.
   
• On 1 April, 1935, this parish was reduced by 290 acres to enlarge Lubbesthorpe civil parish.
   
• You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history research.
   
• District governance is provided by the Blaby District Council.
   

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Leicester petty session hearings.
   
• As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Blaby Poorlaw Union.
   

Year	Inhabitants
1801	513
1811	804
1841	1,336
1871	1,390
1881	1,677
1891	2,399
1901	2,638
1911	2,667
1921	2,635
1931	3,040
1951	3,378
1961	4,024

• A County Council School opened here in September, 1906, large enough for 330 children.
   
• A Church of England School (National School) was endowed in 1759 by Richard SMITH. It stood on Blaby Road and was last enlarged in 1891 and in 1896 to hold 400 children.
   
• A Church of England Infants' School was built on Cross Street in 1880. It was enlarged in 1891 to hold 200 students.
   
• Built in 1957, Brockington College is a Church of England mixed secondary school in Enderby. The school became an academy on 1 August 2012 (children aged 11–16).
   
• The actor Richard Crispin ARMITAGE, born Huncote, LEI, was a student at Brockington College.
   
• Peter MacKENZIE has a photograph of Brockington College on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2017.
   

The Enderby Heritage Society has a heritage map of the village and sponsors heritage walks.

This parish page was originally developed by Tim ARGUILE.