GENUKI: KNARESDALE MONUMENTAL INSCRIPTIONS, Northumberland

Hide

Digitised by Kath Liddell

Data collected from parish registers in the Local Studies department of Newcastle Central Library, Newcastle upon Tyne, transcribed by John Walton Robinson and published in 1910. A few more recent unindexed inscriptions have been added
The volume has a section for bmds, with a single set of page numbers. Gravestones/MIs then follow, in alphabetical order with the corresponding plot number [square brackets], with pages numbered separately, or not at all.
Indexes are mine, showing page - name - plot number(s). For families with several plots, the page number of the first only is listed (eg Parker covers six pages). Names in brackets refer to the plots of another family (eg Lowes is mentioned in Parker inscription 113).
Page and plot numbers
G2 Amos 166
G2 Armstrong 24, 90, 118, 144, 158, 162, 180; 163 (Green)
G4 Atkinson 115
G5 Baxter 27, 38, 47, 48, 172
G7 Bell 18, 23, 46, 49, 179
G9 Bewsher 3
G13 Bowman 146 (Ridley), 148 (Robinson)
G10 Brown 61, 62, 107
G12 Burridge 167
G13 Burton 82, 83, 84
G14 Bywell 173
G15 Cantrell 31
G15 Carr 74, 75
G16 Charlton 33
G16 Clark 10
G17 Claxton 43
G15 Colthred 64 (Wallis)
G17 Dickinson 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 137, 140
G21 Dixon 143
G21 Edgar 4
G21 Elliott 11, 170
G22 Featherstonhaugh 80
G23 Fletcher 78
G23 Gill 103, 104, 171; 50 (Walton)
G25 Goodfellow 111 (Parker)
G25 Grant 153
G26 Greave 128, 129
G27 Green 101, 163
G28 Harrison 161
G28 Henderson 57, 174
G29 Herdman 178
G30 Heward 6
G30 Hewison 168
G31 Hodgson 92, 93
G32 Holmes 42
G32 Hornsby 86
G33 Howe 2, 181
G34 Hudspith 13
G34 Huitson 41 (Nixon)
G35 Hutchinson 7, 8, 60, 63, 138, 165; 61 (Brown)
G38 Hymers 8 (Hutchinson)
G38 Jackson 125, 130, 175
G39 Jonston 117
G40 Kennedy 176
G40 Kindred 12
G41 Kinleside / Keenlyside 44
G41 Langhorne 103 (Gill)
G41 Lee 88, 89, 90, 91, 154; 16 (Nixon)
G43 Liddel 32, 169
G44 Little 138 (Hutchinson)
G44 Lowes 9; 113 (Parker)
G44 Milburn 99 (Dickinson)
G44 Moor 14, 19, 30, 100, 108, 109, 110, 150
G48 Moses 45, 54, 55
G49 Nixon 5, 16 (photo), 41; 138 (Hutchinson)
G51 Norman 72, 73, 155
G53 Parker 21, 34, 35, 36, 37, 68a, 70, 71, 111, 112, 113, 114, 116, 142
G59 Pearson 42a
G59 Phillips 182
G59 Potts 105, 106
G60 Proud 94a photo
G61 Railton 103 (Gill)
G61 Raine 145
G61 Richardson 17; 47 (Baxter)
G62 Ridley 20, 39, 56, 119 (photo), 139, 146, 149, 156; 118 (Armstrong), 140 (Dickinson)
G67 Ritson 76
G67 Robinson 40, 141, 148
G69 Smith 28, 29; 91 (Lee)
G70 Sproat 120
G71 Stephenson 52, 68, 151, 159, 160, 183
G73 Stothert 177
G74 Teasdale 15, 25, 136, 157, 164; 165 (Hutchinson)
G76 Telford 147
G77 Thirlwell 61 (Brown), 62 (Brown)
G77 Todd 69, 131, 132, 133, 134, 135; 68a (Parker), 110 (Moor)
G81 Tweddle 123, 124
G82 Vickers 53
G82 Wallace 66, 87, 121, 122, 169a; 185 (Hope-Wallace)
G85 Wallis 26, 58, 59, 64, 65, 67, 81, 85; 86 (Hornsby)
G88 Walton 50, 51(altar tomb), 152
G90 Whitfield 184
G90 White 79
G91 Wilkinson 22
G91 Wilson 16 (Nixon)
G91 Young 163 (Green)
G2 [ 166 Amos ]
In Loving memory of Robert dearly beloved husband of Jane Amos who died at Slaggyford July 25th 1901 aged 31 years. Also Tom Robert their son who died at Elswick June 10th 1895 aged 6 months [headstone]
G2 [ 24 Armstrong ]
In memory of Mary wife of John Armstrong who died at Eals May 7th 1837 aged 52 years. Also of the above John Armstrong who died at Eals March 14th 1859 Aged 75 years [headstone]
G2 [ 90 Armstrong ]
Oswald Armstrong of Ais (who) Departed this life December (5) .....
[Flat stone much worn. Two stones numbered 90. The other is Hannah Lee]
G3 [ 118 Armstrong - photo indistinct ]
In Memory of Tamar wife of Thomas Armstrong of Sanders Close who died May 18th 1846 aged 17 years. Also of Sarah wife of William Ridley son in law* of the above named who died at Town Green June 17th 1874 aged 26 years [headstone]
* "and son" is cut into the stone, but "son in law" is painted over it, the paint now (1910) wearing off.
G3 [ 144 Armstrong ]
In loving Memory of Pickering Armstrong of Slaggyford who died 11th January 1849 aged 47 years. Also of Margaret his wife who died 21st April 1877 aged 67 years. Also of John their son who died 8th December 1901 aged 60 years [headstone]
G3 [ 158 Armstrong ]
Sacred To the Memory of Ann wife of John Armstrong of Eals who died Novr 30th 1846 Aged 33 years. Also of the above John Armstrong who Died at Eals July 27 1849 Aged 38 years [headstone]
G4 [ 162 Armstrong ]
IHS In Affectionate Remembrance of Robert Armstrong who died at Hanging Shaw Knaresdale August 29th 1872 Aged 37 years. Also of Robert his son who died Aug 2nd 1875 Aged 6 years [headstone]
G4 [ 180 Armstrong ]
In loving memory of Joseph Armstrong the beloved husband of Margaret Armstrong Church Stile Knarsdale who died Oct 10th 1893 aged 46 years [headstone]
G4 [ 115 Atkinson ]
In Memory of Martha wife of John Atkinson who died 20th June 1835 aged 54 years. Also of the above John Atkinson who died June 29 1839 aged 60 years. Also of William Atkinson who died April 3 1860 aged 79 years [headstone]
G5 [ 27 Baxter ]
Here lieth the Body of Hannah the Wife of Thomas Baxter of the Burn-stones who died April the 28th 1776 Aged 62 years (a).
(a) Hannah wife of Thomas Baxter Burnstones buried May 2 1776 Reg [headstone]
G5 [ 38 Baxter ]
IHS In Memory of James Baxter who died at Greenhaugh Augt 24th 1874 Aged 41 years [headstone]
G6 [ 47 Baxter ]
Erected in Memory of Robert Baxter of Farhouse who died Oct 4th 1796 Aged 50 years* (b). Also of Mary the wife of Matthew Richardson and widow of the above Robert Baxter who died at Barns March 7th 1799 Aged 43 years (a)
* Hodgson's Nhb says aged 56
(a) Mary wife of Matthew Richardson Barns bur Mch 7 1799 Reg
(b) Robert Baxter Farhouse bur Oct 11 1796 Reg
(The face of this stone is cut off at the bottom. It was the story of the poisoned bread and butter, for which see Hodgson's Hist Nhb Pt II Vol III page 80) [headstone]
See end of document
G6 [ 48 Baxter ]
In Memory of Francis Baxter who died at Greenhaugh April 24th 1852 Aged 62 years. Also of Mary his wife who died at Greenhaugh January 24th 1879 aged 83 years. Also of Margaret their daughter who died at Long-Dyke-Head April 28 1896 Aged 70 years [headstone]
G7 [ 172 Baxter ]
In Memory of Robert Baxter who died at Slaggyford Nov 2nd 1905 Aged 86 years. Also of Margaret his wife who died December 9th 1907 Aged 80 years (text) [headstone]
G7 [ 18 Bell ]
In loving Memory of Maria beloved wife of Henry Bell died July 11 1899 aged 29 years [ flat stone ]
G7 [ 23 Bell ]
IHS In memory of John Bell who died at Hill Augt 28th 1889 aged 66 years. Also of Isabella his wife who died Augt 19th 1892 Aged 57 years. Also of John his son who died Knowhead March 4th 1888 Aged 22 years. Also Robert their son who died June 18th 1893 Aged 30 years [headstone]
G8 [ 46 Bell ]
In Memory of John Bell who died at Greenhaugh Knaresdale April 7th 1803 Aged 88 years. Also of Thomas Bell his son who died July 4th 1836 Aged years. Also of Mary Bell wife of Thomas Bell who died Novr 6th 1818 aged 47 years. Also Mary Bell wife of George Bell son of the above named Thomas Bell who died at Town Green March 19th 1861 Aged 49 years. Also of the above named George Bell who died Sept 8th 1870 aged 72 years [headstone]
G8 [ 49 Bell ]
Sacred to the Memory of Richard Bell of Barns Row who departed this life June 11th 1786 aged 58 (38?) years (a). Also of Isabelle wife of Richard Bell who died 1st September 1803 aged 74 years. Also of John son of the above named Richard and Isabella Bell who departed this life at Burnstones December 31st 1833 aged 84 years
(a) Richard Bell bur June 13 1786 Reg (? if baptised Dec 28 1726)
(b) Isable Bell widow Brampton bur Aug 16 1803 [altar tomb]
G9 [ 179 Bell ]
In Memory of Joseph Bell who died at Lane-Side Nov 26th 1884 Aged 59 years. Also Margaret his wife died January 3rd 1902 Aged 72 years. Also John his son who died Feb 13 1851 Aged 2 years. Also Edward his son who died Aug 16 1884 Aged 23 years [headstone]
--- [ ??? Bell ]
In loving memory of Hugh Bell died at Slaggyford 23 July 1941 aged 80 years and Elizabeth Ann his wife died at Shotley Bridge 2[-] Jan 1945 aged 87 years [headstone]
G9 [ 3 Bewsher ]
Erected to the memory of Christianna Ann only daughter of the Revd T Bewsher Rector of this parish: who died Novr 6th 1859 deeply lamented. Also in memory of M J Bewsher mother of the above who departed this life October the 17th 1850 Aged 71. Also in memory of the Revd Thomas Bewsher for 29 years Rector of this parish who died Feby 28th 1853 Aged 77 years. Also of Henry Rector of this parish third son of the above who departed this life Decr 15th 1855 Aged 41 years [flat stone]
G10 [ 61 Brown - photo with other ]
In memory of Tamar wife of William Brown of Whitwham who died June the 28th 1793 aged 52. Also in memory of Tamar daughter of William & Isabella Thirlwell and wife of John Hutchinson who died Sept 12th 1829 aged 27 years
(a) Tamar wife of William Brown Whitwham Lambley bur Jun 30 1793 Reg
[The lower part of this stone appears to have been cut away] [headstone]
G11 [ 62 Brown - photo with others ]
In Memory of William Brown of Carnatly who died Sept the 24th 1797 Aged 67 (a) Also in Memory of Isabella wife of William Thirlwell who died at Bogue in this parish June 19th 1832 Aged 52 years. Likewise William their son who died Feb 23 1842 aged 32 years. Also of William Thirlwell his father who departed this life June 27 1845 aged 76 years
[on the back]
In Memory of William Brown of Darkdale-house who died June the 2nd 1729 aged 67 (b) Also Margaret his wife who died Sept the 12th 1738 Aged 78 (c) And Joseph their son who died Sept the 1st 1763 Aged 69 (d) Also Mary his wife who died Decb the 11th 1748 Aged 59 (e) [headstone]
(a) William Brown Carnatly bur Sept 24 1797
(b) William Brown Rattonraw bur June 2 1729
(c) Margaret Brown wid bur Sep 13 1738
(d) Joseph Brown Rattonraw bur Sep 1 1763
(e) Mary wife Joseph Brown Ratton Row bur Dec 11 1748 Knarsdale Regr
G12 [ 107 Brown ]
In Memory of Ann wife of John Brown who departed this life March 23rd 1834 aged 26 years. Also of the above named John Brown who died July 27th 1847 aged 38 years And of Isabella their daughter who died June 28th 1847 aged 14 years Also of Tamar wife of the above who died August 9th 1855 aged 55 years [headstone]
G12 [ 167 Burridge ]
In Loving memory of Hubert William Burridge Born December 22nd 1876 at Hinton St George Somerset Died August 19th 1901 (poem) [flat stone]
G13 [ 82 Burton ]
In memory of Lancelot Burton of Cole Hill who died Decem the 7th 17_2 aged 54 years (a) (verses) [headstone much weathered]
(a) 1792 Dec 10 Lancelot Burton of Coals Hill. He died at Brampton in the Co of Cumb Dec 7th 1792
G13 [ 83 Burton ]
In memory of Sarah daughter of Lancelot Burton of Side House who died July 12th 1768 aged 28. (a) Also Jane his wife died Augt 3rd aged 82 (b) [headstone]
(a) 1768 July 14 Sarah dau of Lanc & Jane Burton Sidehouse bur
(b) 1786 Aug 5 Jane Burton Coleshill widow bur Register
G14 [ 84 Burton ]
To the memory of John Burton of Side House who died April the 10th 1728 aged 78 (a). And Isabel his wife who died May ye 3 1741 aged (I think 94) years (b). Also Lancelot their son died March 23 1772 aged 85 years (c). And Thomas Lancelot's son died July 14 1789 aged 58 (d). Also of John Burton of Merry Know brother to the above Thomas who died Oct 9 1804 aged 76 years (e). And of Mariah Burton of Merry Know their sister who died April 3th (sic) 1806 aged 63 years (f). [Altar tomb. Coat of Arms (weathered) on the East end]
(a) John Burthom Syde house bur Apr 13 1728
(b) Isabel Burton Side House widow bur May 5 1741
(c) Lancelot Burton Side house bur Mch 26 1772
(d) Thomas Burton Coleshill bachelor bur July 16 1789
(e) John Burton M'know householder bur Oct 9 1804
(f) Maria Burton M'know bur Apr 5 1807
G14 [ 173 Bywell ]
In loving Memory of John Bywell of Burnstones who died Jany 30th 1868 Aged 55 years. Also of Mary his wife who died July 14th 1901 Aged 82 Years [headstone]
G15 [ 31 Cantrell ]
To the memory of Sarah wife of Godfrey Cantrell who died June ye 13 1752 aged 58 years (a)
(a) Sarah wife of Godfrey Cantrel Allenheads bur June 15 1752 Reg
G15 [ 74 Carr ]
M S of George Carr of Shawhead who died Jany 10th 1817 Aged 85 years. Elizabeth his wife died June 6th 1825 Aged 85 years. Also of Mary wife of George Carr of Halton-Lea-Gate who died Novr 26th 1862 Aged 77 years. Also of George Car who died at Clover-Hill Lodge January 25th 1873 Aged 80 years [headstone]
G16 [ 75 Carr ]
To the Memory of Mary wife of George Carr who died at Williamstone March 22nd 1756 Aged 23 years (a)
(a) 1756 Mch 25 Mary wife of George Carr of Williamstone [small headstone]
G16 [ 33 Charlton ]
In Memory of Edward Charlton who died at Eals March 4th 1875 Aged 71 years. Also of Mary wife of the above who died March 4th 1878 Aged 69 years [headstone]
G16 [ 10 Clark ]
Faithful unto Death. In loving memory of John Clark for 34 years steward at Featherstone Castle Born August 16 1818 Died Oct 19 1862. This stone is set up by his sincere friends John and Mary Hope Wallace.
(on the sloping stone)
In the Memory of John Clark of Featherstone Born 16 Aug 1818 Died 19 Oct 1882. Also of his wife Jane Clark Born 14 Mar 1821 Died 9 Jan 1868. And their daughter Agnes Janet Born 6 Jan 1856 Died 19 June 1862 [marble cross on the square basestone with sloping stone of white marble in front enclosed in iron rails The first part of the inscription is on the cross]
G17 [ 43 Claxton ]
To the memory of Hamond Claxton Officer in Excise who died June ye 22nd 1776 aged 41 years (a)
(a) Mr Hamond Claxton Officer in Excise bur June 24 1776 Reg [headstone]
G17 [ 95 Dickinson ]
Here lyeth ye Body of Thomas Dickinson of Slaggyford who died Febry 20 1783 aged 51 years (a)
(a) Thomas Dickinson Slaggyford bur Feb 23 1783 Reg [headstone]
G18 [ 96 Dickinson - photo ]
Here lies the body of John Dickinson late of Towsbank who died March 31 1783 in the 6(2)th Year of his Age (a)
(a) John Dickinson Towersbank bur Apr 1 1784 Reg "(the figures 1783 are quite clear on the gravestone)"
G18 [ 97 Dickinson ]
In Memory of Henry Dickinson of Eals who Died May the 2 (1803) aged 75 (a)
(a) Henry Dickinson of Eals householder bur May 2 1803 Reg. [headstone]
G19 [ 98 Dickinson ]
In Memory of Henry Dickinson of Eals who died April 14th 1824 aged 56 years. Also of Hannah his wife who died April 28th 1824 aged 53 years [headstone]
G19 [ 99 Dickinson ]
In Memory of Anne wife of Joseph Dickinson of Halton Lea Gate who died Jan 4th 1850 Aged 33 years. Also Henry son of the above who died Octr 12th 1846 aged 6 months. Also Joseph son of the above who died in London Novr 6th 1857 Aged 18 years. The above Joseph Dickinson who died May 10th 1880 Aged 68 years Also Henry his brother who died Sep 9th 1876 aged 68 years Also Ann Milburn sister of Joseph Dickinson who died July 24th 1878 Aged 55 Years [headstone]
G19 [ 137 Dickinson ]
To the memory of Thomas Dickinson late Stonehall in this parish who died 27th October 1826 aged 48 years Also of Mary wife of the above who departed this life Oct 30 1847 aged 66 years Also of Emerson son of Thomas and Mary Dickinson who died Jan 6 1843 aged 18 years Also of Joseph their son who died March 23 1846 aged 37 years [headstone]
G20 [ 140 Dickinson ]
To the Memory of Tamar Dickinson wife of John Dickinson Town Green who died the 25th July 1827 aged 44 years. Also of Margaret wife of the above John Dickinson who departed this life Aug 25th 1845 aged 50 years Also of Elizabeth Ridley who died May 12th 1836 aged 20 years Also of the above John Dickinson of Town Green who departed this life Oct 28 1849 aged 68 years [headstone]
G21 [ 143 Dixon ]
In Memory of George Dixon who died at Church Stile Augst 9th 1882 Aged 65 years. Also of Dinah his wife who died Augst 17th 1888 aged 72 years [headstone]
G21 [ 4 Edgar ]
In memory of S E Edgar Daughter of Thomas and Ellen Edgar, Fell-End, who died May 23rd 1889; Aged 18 years [small cross white marble on base stone]
G21 [ 11 Elliott ]
In memory of Simon Elliott, Knarr who died Sept 28th 1878 Aged 71 Years. Also of Hannah his Daughter who died at Knarr April 3 1869 Aged 30 Years. Also of Hannah his Wife who died Feb 23 1892; Aged 87 Years. Also of Simon their Son who died Dec 11 1897 Aged 50 Years. Also of Thomas their Son who died March 25 1901 Aged 57 Years [headstone]
G22 [ 170 Elliott ]
In Loving Memory of Elizabeth the beloved wife of Joseph Elliott Stone-Hall who died Feb 9 1900; Aged 54 Years. Also of Sarah Lizzie their daughter who died June 25 1886 Aged 11 Years [headstone]
G22 [ 80 Featherstonhaugh - photo ]
To the memory of Henry Featherstonhaugh late of Luzley Field head who died August 20th 1816 Aged 44 Years. Margaret his wife died January 8th 1837 aged 51 years. And of Elizabeth the Daughter of Henry and Margaret Featherstonhaugh died Novr 14th 1821 aged 10 years. Also of Henry their Son who died Augst 25 1835 aged 21 years. Also of William their Son who died Decr 24 1864 aged 59 years [headstone]
G23 [ 78 Fletcher ]
To the Memory of Robert Fletcher of Wells who died July the 24 1724 Aged 87 (or 37) (a)
(a) 1724 July 24 Robert Fletcher Snowup bur Reg [headstone]
G23 [ 103 Gill - photo ]
Sacred to the memory of Harry son of Harry Gill of Williamston who died July 29 1831 aged 26 years universally and deservedly regretted. Also of the above Mr Harry Gill who died Novr 19th 1836 aged 59 years. Likewise of Ann wife of Mr T Langhorne and Daughter of the above named Mr H Gill who departed this life September 19th 1836 aged 28 years. Also George son of the above Mr H Gill who died Oct 27 1847 aged 30 years. Also of John son of the above Mr H Gill who departed this life December 30th 1852 aged 43 years Also of Jane widow of the above named Revd Thomas Railton who died April 3rd 1865 aged 87 years [headstone]
G24 [ 104 Gill - half photo ]
George Gill of Williamston died June the 26th 1774 Aged 54. Also of Henry Gill his Brother who died at Williamston August the 13th 1807 aged 85 (b)
(a) 1774 June 28 George Gill of Williamston bur Reg
(b) 1807 Aug 13 Henry Gill of Wmstone Gentleman bur Reg [headstone]
G24 [ 171 Gill ]
Sacred to the Memory of Annie Gill dearly loved wife of Charles Sydney Gill of Williamstone, Slaggyford & Rhodesia whom died Sept 19th 1904 Aged 35 Years [headstone]
G25 [ 153 Grant ]
In loving memory of Sarah the beloved daughter of James and Ann Grant who died at Double Dykes July 15 1859 aged 3 years Also John their son who died at Towsbank Dec 20 1894 aged 32 years Also of Ann beloved wife of the above James Grant who died at Towsbank Coanwood on the 19th March 1907 aged 82 years (text) [headstone]
G26 [ 128 Greave ]
M S of Robert Greave of Aulice Hill who died June 17 1839 aged 71 years Also of Hannah wife of the above Robert Greave who died April 6 1851 Aged 82 years Also of James Son of Robert and Hannah Greave who died 2nd Jany 1825 aged 19 years Also of William their Son who died July 12th 1830 aged 29 years Also of Isaac their Son who died Feb 3 1839 aged 23 years Also of Joseph their Son who died Decr 2nd 1846 aged 35 years Also of Margaret their Daughter who died March 5 1868 aged 59 years Also of Robert Greave their Son who died at Aulis Hill March 31 1876 aged 73 years Also of Thomas their Son who died at Aulis Hill July 22 1884 aged 77 years [headstone]
G26 [ 129 Greave ]
In Memory of John Greave of Amos Hill who died July 3rd 1862 aged 64 years Also of Jane his wife who died at Amos Hill Nov 14 1874 aged 75 years [headstone]
G27 [ 101 Green ]
Sacred to the Memory of John Green of Pryhead who died June 16th 1799 aged 44 years (a). Also of Sarah Green his wife who died at Merit Hall July 12th 1845 aged 87 years. Also of William Green their Son who died at Barns June 2 1806 aged 14 years (b). Also of John Green their Son who died at Barns Oct 21 1863 aged 76. Also of Joseph Green their Son who died at Merit Hall Feb 2 1867 aged 72 years. Also of Thomas Green their Son who died at Merit Hall Oct 9 1868 aged 79 years. Isabella wife of the above named John Green who died at Barns Nov 16 1871 aged 79 years
(a) 1799 July 19 John Green of Pry head bur Reg (It is clearly July in Regr and June on stone)
(b) not in Regr. (He was born Dec 12 1791) [headstone]
G28 [ 163 Green ]
In loving memory of Robert Green Slaggyford, who died Nov 23rd 1896 aged 71 years Also of Violet Armstrong Grand-daughter of the above who died Oct 15 1884 Aged 13 months Also of Harold Young Grand-son of the above who died Aug 22 1893 Aged 6 months Also of Tom Armstrong son-in-law of the above who died at Tynemouth Jan 8 1905 Aged 53 Years [headstone]
--- [ ??? Green ]
In loving memory of William Green died 17 December 1938 aged 73 years, also Isabella his wife died 1 December 1936 aged 69 years.
G28 [ 161 Harrison ]
In memory of Elizabeth Ann, daughter of John & Hannah Harinson who died April 18, 1852 Aged 1 year. Also of James William their Son who died May 16 1861 Aged 2 years. Albert their Son who died Oct 26 1866 Aged 11 weeks [headstone]
G28 [ 57 Henderson Photo ]
Here lieth the Body of John Henderson of Slaggyford who died Nov 20th 1751 aged 74 (a) And the Body of Thomas Henderson his Son who died Decr 19 1767 Aged 54 (b)
(a) 1751 Nov 8 John Henderson Slaggyford poor bur See photo Reg
(b) 1766 Dec 23 Thos Henderson Slaggyford bur Reg [headstone]
G29 [ 174 Henderson ]
In Memory of my dear husband Thomas Henderson Hole House Slaggyford who died March 7 1897; Aged 75 Years Also of Catherine Armstrong Henderson his wife who died April 8 1900 Aged 77 Years [headstone]
G29 [ 178 Herdman ]
In Loving Memory of Nicholas Herdman of Eals who died May 1st 1904 Aged 80 Years. Also of Ann his wife who died Feb 6th 1863 Aged 35 Years. Also of Nicholas their son who died Feb 20th 1862 Aged 11 months. Also of Elizabeth their daughter who died June 15th 1864 Aged 11 Years. Also of William their son who died June20th 1865 Aged 10 years [headstone]
G30 [ 6 Heward ]
In Affectionate Remembrance of Mary, the beloved wife of Thomas Heward, High Thornhope, who died March 19th 1874; Aged 71 years [headstone]
G30 [ 168 Hewison ]
In affectionate Memory of Frederick Hewison Born July 8th 1847 Died Jany 2nd 1902 [cross]
G31 [ 92 Hodgson - 1/2 photo on Burton 84 ]
In Memory of Lenard Hodgson of Slaggyford who departed this life Feby 22nd 1769 Aged 53 years (a). Also Mary his wife who died on the 13th of June 1806 aged 73 years (b). Also Elizabeth their daughter who died June the 29th 1813 aged 68 years. Also of Hannah daughter of the above Lenard Hodgson who died at Chelsea on the 24th of December 1819 Aged 86 years.
(on the back)
To the Memory of Thomas Hodgson of Slaggyfoord who died April the 6th 1738 Aged 65 years (c) and Margaret his Wife who d Jan ye 12th 1745 Aged 66 (d)
(a) Leonard Hodgson Slaggyford bur Feb 22 1769 Reg
(b) no entry in Knarsdale Register
(c) Thomas Hodgson of Slaggyforf bur Apr 8 1738 Reg
(d) 1745/6 Feb 15 Margaret Hodgson Slaggyford widow bur Reg (date on stone is Jan)
G32 [ 93 Hodgson - indistinct photo ]
In Memory of George Hodgson of Slaggyford who died April 13th 1828 aged 74 years. Also of Jane his wife who died July 6th 1827 aged 77 years. Also of John their son who died 28th May 1816 aged 31 years. Also William their son who died June 7th 1823 aged 36 years [headstone]
G32 [ 42 Holmes ]
In Memory of John Holmes who departed this life December 14th 1845 Aged 71 years. Also of Sarah his wife who died 11th June 1824 Aged 41 years. Also of Ann their Daughter who died Feb 27th 1814 Aged 2 years. Also of Joseph their son who died Oct 23 1888 Aged 72 years [headstone]
G32 [ 86 Hornsby ]
Here lieth the Body of Nicholas Hornsby of Barns who died Sep the 7th 1717 Aged 5 (a). Also the Body of Isabel his widow (a) who died Aug the 12th 17(18) Aged 71 (b). Also the Body of Richard Wallis junior of Stone hall their Grandson who died Nov the 26th 1755 Aged (31) (c). Also the Body of Isabel their only Child and Wife of Richard Wallis Senior of Stone hall who died Aug the 14 1771 Aged (69) (d) [flat stone very much worn]
(a) 1717 Sep 10 or 15 Nicholas Hornsbie Barns bur Reg
(b) 1742 Aug 24 Isabel Hornsby Stonehall widow bur (We have no doubt read the stone incorrectly)
(c) 1755 Nov 29 Richard Wallis son of Isabel Wallis of Stonehall Reg
(d) 1771 Aug 15 Mrs Isabel Wallis Stone hall bur Reg
G33 [ 2 Howe ]
In loving memory of Thomas Howe of Slaggyford who died May 28th 1907 aged 80 years. Sarah wife of Thomas Howe, Slaggyford who died June 26th 1883 aged 53 years. Also of Margaret their daughter who died May 9th 1877 aged 20 Years [headstone]
G34 [ 181 Howe ]
In loving memory of Mary Howe (the beloved wife of Albert Howe) who died at Moriah House April 16th 1908 aged 46 years [memorial wreath]
G34 [ 13 Hudspith ]
In Loving Memory of Edward Hudspith who died at Eals, Jan 12 1887 aged 78 years. Also of Elizabeth his wife who died April 12 1884 aged 75 years [headstone]
G35 [ 7 Hutchinson ]
In Memory of the undernamed beloved children of William and Frances Hutchinson
William died Nov 7th 1859 Aged 7 Years and ten months. Jacob died Nov 12th 1859 aged 3 years and 8 months. Tamar died Dec 4th 1859 aged 1 year and 8 months. Barbara died Jan 18th 1871 aged 13 months. Tamar Alice died Jan 22 1871 aged 4 years and 10 months. Mary Ann died Jan 28th 1871 aged 11 years and 3 months. Frances died Jan 28th 1871 aged 8 years and 10 months. John died Jan 28th 1871 at Tors Bank aged 22 years. Also of the above named William Hutchinson who died June 12th 1889 aged 66 years. Also Frances the beloved wife of the above named William Hutchinson who died at Dovenby Hill, Cockermouth May 26th 1900 Aged 70 Years [headstone]
G35 [ 8 Hutchinson ]
In Memory of John Hutchinson who died at Tows Bank Feb 6th 1872 Aged 79 Years. Also of Anne his wife who died June 7th 1860 Aged 59 Years. Also of Jacob Hymers his Son-in Law who died at Alston Novr 12th 1854 Aged 23 Years [headstone]
G36 [ 60 Hutchinson - photo with others ]
In memory of Jane wife of William Hutchinson who died at Bog in this Parish Septr 27th 1835 Aged 28 years Also John their son who died in infancy [headstone]
G36 [ 63 Hutchinson - photo with others ]
Sacred to the memory of Tamar wife of John Hutchinson of Towsbank who died Sep 12th 1829 Aged 27 years. Also of Alice their daughter who died June 11 1840 Aged 15 years. Also of Isabel(la) their daughter who died Sept 29th 1--1 Aged 13 years. Likewise Sarah daughter of the above John & Ann Hutchinson who died July 17 1841 aged 2 years. Also of Ann wife of the above John Hutchinson who died June 6th 1860 aged 59 years [headstone]
G37 [ 138 Hutchinson ]
In Memory of Thomas Hutchinson who died at Slaggyford Feb 18 1866 aged 86 years. Also of Mary his wife who died at Haltwhistle April 22 1870 aged 80 years. Also of Ann daughter of Thomas & Mary Hutchinson who died June 5 1839 aged 19 years. Also of John their son who died Aug 28th 1843 aged 26years. Also of Robert their son who died Feb 3 1844 aged 20 years. Also of Thomas their son who died Dec 27 1848 aged 16 years. Also of Hannah their daughter who died June 28 1850 aged 28 years. Also of William Henry Nixon their Son-in-law who died Novr 11 1877 aged 69 years
(on the back a 4 line poem and as follows)
Also of Archibald Little his Son-in-law who died at Carlisle June 10th 1883 aged 65 years. Also of Jane his daughter who died at Carlisle Dec 9 1907 aged 79 years [headstone]
G38 [ 165 Hutchinson ]
In loving Memory of William Hutchinson Slaggyford who departed this life Jan 4th 1901; Aged 79 Years Also of Thomas Teasdale his brother-in-law who departed this life Jan 2nd 1898 Aged 66 years [headstone]
G38 [ 125 Jackson ]
Here Lyeth the Body of Thomas Jackson of the Merryknow who died Novr 8th 1736 Aged 60 (a)
(a) 1736 Nov 10 Thomas Jackson of the Merryknow buried Reg [headstone]
G39 [ 130 Jackson ]
In memory of Isaac Son of William & Isabel Jackson of Shawhead who died Jany the 22 1791 Aged 2 Also of the above Isabella Jackson (a) [headstone]
(a) 1791 Jan 23 Isaac s William & Isabel Jackson of Far Shawhead bur Reg
G39 [ 175 Jackson ]
IHS In loving memory of Elizabeth wife of John Jackson of Williamstone who died April 10th 1902 Aged 60 Years Also of Hugh their son who died August 5th 1905 aged 35 years [headstone]
G39 [ 117 Jonston ]
William the son of John Jonston of the Loning who died October ye 14th 1741 aged 2 years (a) [headstone]
(a) William s John & Mary Johnson of Loning House born Nov 9 bap Nov 23 1739 Regr No burial found
G40 [ 176 Kennedy ]
In loving memory of William Kennedy who died at Town Foot, Eals, 26 July 1904 Aged 81 years. "Peace perfect peace" [headstone]
G40 [ 12 Kindred ]
IHS In memory of William Kindred, who died at Darkdale, Novr 1st 1880; Aged 57 years. Also of John his son, who died at Darkdale, Febry 27th 1880 Aged 23 years. Also of Mary his daughter who died March 8th 1892 aged 27 years [headstone on base]
G41 [ 44 Kinleside ]
To the memory of John Kinleside of Merryknow who died December ye 13 1752 aged 97 (a) [headstone]
(a) John Keenleyside Merryknow bur Dec 12 1752 Reg
G41 [ 88 Lee - photo ]
To the memory of Anne daughter of William Lee who died May the 28 1746 Aged Nine months (a) [headstone]
To the memory of William Lee of Bogue who died May the 1 1746 Aged 43 years (b)
(a) 1746 May 3 William Lee of the Bogg bur Reg
(b) 1746 May 27 Anne d Widow Lee of the Bogg bur Reg
G41 [ 89 Lee ]
To the Memory of Joseph Lee of Softley who died December the 13th 1765 Aged 40 years (a) [headstone]
(a) 1745 Dec 15 Joseph Lee of Softley Bachelor bur Reg
G42 [ 90 Lee ]
To the Memory of Hannah Wife of John Lee of Softly who died February the 7th 1747 Aged 69 (a) [headstone]
(a) 1746/7 Feb 10 Hannah wife of John Lee of Softly bur Reg
G42 [ 91 Lee ]
To the memory of John Lee of Softly who died December the 6th 1753 Aged 84 (a) Also Frances his Daughter wife of Jos Smith of Merryknow who died Aug ye 16 1786 Aged 76 (b) [headstone]
(a) 1753 Dec 6 John Lee of Softly bur Reg
(b) 1786 Aug 16 Frances wife of Jos Smith of Merry Know bur Reg
G43 [ 154 Lee ]
In Loving Memory of William beloved husband of Mary Lee who died at Eals Sept 4 1897 aged 52 Years [headstone]
G43 [ 32 Liddel ]
In Memory of Isaac Liddel late of Burnstones who died April the 11th 1782 Aged 85 (a)
(a) Isaac Liddell Burnstones bur Apr 13 1782 Reg [headstone]
G43 [ 169 Liddell ]
In Loving Memory of Jonathan T Liddell of Hanging Shaw who died September 20th 1909 Aged 76 Years. Also of Mary his wife who died August 3rd 1908 Aged 77 years [headstone]
G44 [ 9 Lowes ]
In Memory of John Lowes of Eals House Knarsdale, Born April 6th 1796. Died March 7th 1872. Also of William Lowes of Eals House Knarsdale, Born September 4th 1803 Died October 6th 1888.
G44 [ 14 Moor ]
In Memory of Isabella wife of William Francis Moor of Lanerton in the parish of Lanercost who died May 9th 1882 aged 41 years and was interred in this churchyard May 12th 1882 Also of the above William Francis Moore (sic) who died at Lanerton Jany 18th 1888 aged 46 years and was interred in this churchyard Jany 22nd 1888 Also of Mabel Isabella Moore who died at Burnfoot July 5th 1895 aged 5 weeks Also of William Moore who died March 7th 1896 aged 2 years and 9 months Grand-children of the above [headstone]
G46 [ 19 Moore ]
In Memory of Jacob Moore who died at Whitwham March 24th 1872 aged 55 years Also of Thomas his son who died July 5th 1841 aged 11 months Also of Jane his wife who died at Whitwham April 4th 1885 aged 69 years [headstone]
G45 [ 30 Moor ]
Sacred to the Memory of Abigail Moor wife of Nicholas Moor of Burnstones who died April the 19th 1799 aged 43 (a)
(a) Abigail wife of N Moor Burnstones bur Apr 22 1798 Reg. (the figures 1799 are correctly copied from the gravestone) [headstone]
G46 [ 100 Moor ]
In Memory of Joseph Moor of Eals in this Parish who died August 21st 1825 aged 90 years. Also of Mary his wife who died Feby 26th 1824 aged 71 years. Also of Mary their Daughter who died 7th of August 1814 aged 26 years. And Thomas his Brother died August 28th 1757 Aged 26 years (a)
(a) Thomas s John & Mary Moor Eals bur Aug 30 1757 Reg. [headstone]
G45 [ 108 Moor ]
In Memory of Thomas Moor of Softly who died July 1 1799 aged 88 (a) Also of Mary his wife died April 24 1788 aged 70 (b) Also of Jacob their son who died April 26 1831 aged 74 years Also of Mary his wife who died February 4th 1830 aged 57 years Also of William their Son who died May 6 1832 aged 36 years [headstone]
(a) 1799 July 3 Thos Moor of Softly bur Reg
(b) 1788 Apr 19 Mary wife of Thomas Moor of Softly bur Reg (figs 24 on stone)
G47 [ 109 Moore - photo ]
In Memory of Thomas Moore who died at Softly June 1st 1872 aged 78 years Also of Hannah his wife who died Janry 13 1873 aged 68 years Also of Janie Annie their Grand Daughter Born May 18 1866 and died at Softly Nov 27 1883 [headstone]
G47 [ 110 Moore - photo ]
In Memory of Mary wife of Henry Moore who died at Stone House Coanwood Sepr 9th 1859 aged 67 years. Also of Mary their daughter who died at Wolfhills June 8th 1852 aged 36 years
[ on the back]
To the Memory of John Todd of Bogue who died Feb 19 1800 Aged (58 or 38) (a)
(a) John Todd of Bog bur Feb 22 1800 Reg [headstone]
G48 [ 150 Moore ]
Sacred to the memory of Thomas Moore who died at Softley October 29 1899 Aged 59 years Also of Janie Annie Daughter of the above who died Nov 27 1883 Aged 17 years [headstone]
G48 [ 45 Moses ]
To the memory of Elizabeth daughter of Thomas Moses of Farhouse who died April ye 8th 1756 Aged 21 (a)
(a) Eliz d Thomas & Mary Moses farhouse bur Apr 10 1756 Reg [headstone]
G49 [ 54 Moses - photo ]
The 1st day of September 1773 Mary Moses interred here aged 68 years from Luzley High Field (a)
(a) Mary wife of Thomas Moses Luzley High Field bur Sept 1 1773 Reg [headstone]
G49 [ 55 Moses - photo ]
The 6th day of January 1781 Thomas Moses of Luzly High Field interred here aged 81 years (a)
(a) Thomas Moses Luzly High Field Jany 6 1781 Reg [headstone]
G49 [ 5 Nixon ]
Erected in memory of Andrew Nixon who departed this life May 27th 1860 Aged 79 Years. Also of Ann his wife who died July 5th 1870 aged 76 Yrs. Also of Jane their Daughter who died May 5th 1866 aged 45 years. Also of Thomas their son who died at Field Head Knarsdale December 10th 1886 aged 48 years. Also of William their Son who died at Shaft Hill July 28th 1894 Aged 71 Years. Also of John their Son who died at Shaft Hill Aug 10th 1895 Aged 69 Years. Also their son Andrew who died at Darkdale Sept 10th 1903 Aged 63 Years (text on back) [headstone]
G50 [ 16 Nixon ]
Sacred to the memory of Mary Wilson daughter of William and Mary Nixon who died Feb 25th 1839 Aged 25 years. Also of Thomas their son who died Feb 15th 1843 aged 21 years. Also of the above William Nixon who died April 14th 1854 aged 72 years. Also of Jane wife of Nicholas Lee who died Sept 5th 1857 aged 45 years. Also of Mary wife of the above William Nixon who died Oct 29th 1867 aged 77 yrs. Also of the above Nicholas Lee who died at Haltwhistle June 18th 1880 aged 69 Years [headstone]
G51 [ 41 Nixon ]
In Memory of John Nixon who died at Field-head May the 15th 1801 aged 84 (a) Also of Ann Huitson who died at Town green Nov 12th 1817 Aged 26 Years Also of Tho Nixon who died Sept 20th 1825 Aged 76 years Also of Joseph Nixon who died at Town Green Feb 18th 1824 Aged 73 Years
(a) John Nixon Field Head bur May 18 1801 Reg. [headstone]
G51 [ 72 Norman ]
John Norman of Thornhope died 16 of September 1823 aged 47 years. Also of Jane wife of the above who died July 26th 1864 aged 88 years [headstone]
G52 [ 73 Norman - photo ]
In loving memory of John Norman who died at Sleggyford Feb 9 1891 aged 85 years. Also of Frances his wife who died March 16 1891 aged 77 years. Also of William their son who died at Slate house March 31 1881 aged 36 years. Also of John their son who died in America March 2 1895 aged 57 years. Also of Isabella daughter of the above who died March 16th 1908 aged 65 years [headstone]
G52 [ 155 Norman ]
In loving memory of Joseph Norman Low Row Barhaugh who departed this life October 26th 1900 aged 54 years [headstone]
G53 [ 21 Parker ]
In memory of John Parker who died at Moriah House Eals, May 22nd 1875 Aged 76 years Also of Dorothy, Relict of the above, who died at Moriah house Sept 6th 1886 Also of John William their son who died at Penrith April 20th 1889 aged 20 years [headstone]
G53 [ 34 Parker ]
In Memory of William Parker of Knowhead who died April the 12th 1806 Aged 76
(a) Wm Parker Knowhead householder bur Apr 12 1806 Reg. [headstone]
G53 [ 35 Parker ]
To the memory of Charles Parker of Knowhead who died Nov ye 4th 1766 Aged 33
(a) Charles Parker of Lintlee in Kirkhaugh bur Nov 7 1766 Reg [headstone]
G54 [ 36 Parker ]
In memory of John Parker late of Knowhead Who Died March ye 23rd 1788 Aged 52
(a) John Parker bachelor Knowhead bur Mch 25 1788 Reg [headstone]
G54 [ 37 Parker ]
I H S In Memory William Parker who died at Knowhead April 12 1891, aged 88 years. Sarah wife of William Parker, Knowhead, who died Jany 24th 1888; Aged 83 years. Also of William their son who died Feby 2nd 1854 Aged 15 years. Also of John their son, who died Octr 4th 1870, aged 28 years [headstone]
G54 [ 68a Parker ]
In Memory of Anne wife of Joseph Parker of Slaggyford who died July 22nd 1768 Aged 72 Also of her husband (a) (b) who died Novr the 24th 1772 Aged 84 And Anne, their daughter, wife of John Todd of Amos-hill who died Feby the 21st 1787 Aged 42 (c)
(a) 1768 Jly 25 Ann wife Joseph Parker bur Reg
(b) 1772 Nov 26 Joseph Parker Slaggyford poor bur Reg
(c) 1787 Feb 23 Ann wife John Todd Amos Hill bur Reg [headstone]
G55 [ 70 Parker - photo with others]
In Memory of Thomas Parker late of Carlisle who died Feby the 14th 1790 Aged 66
(a) 1790 Feb 17 Thomas Parker of City Carlisle bur Reg [headstone]
G55 [ 71 Parker - photo with others ]
In Memory of Anne wife of Joseph Parker of Town Green who died August the (-)6th 1789 Aged 56. Also of her Husband who died May the 13th 1793 Aged (5)9
(a) 1789 Aug 28 Anne wife Joseph Parker Slaggyford bur Reg.
(b) 1793 May 15 Joseph Parker widower Town Green bur Reg. [headstone]
G56 [ 111 Parker ]
In Memory of John Parker of Sanders Close who died Feb 18 1837 aged 88 years. Also of Jane his wife who died Nov 4 1836 aged 81 years. Also of Jane their daughter who died Nov 14 1804 aged 19 years. Also of Nicholas Lowes Parker their son who died April 18 1805 aged 15 years. Also of Hannah their daughter who died May 10th 1823 aged 27 years. Also of John their son who died April 17 1846 aged 64 years. And also of Mary Goodfellow of Laws their daughter who died May 12th 1847 aged 60 years. [headstone]
G56 [ 112 Parker ]
In Memory of John (a) Parker of Sandersclose who died Novr the 2nd 1785 aged 69. Also Tamer (b) his wife who died March the 11th 1791 Aged 70. Momento mori.
(a) 1785 Nov 5 John Parker of Sanders Close bur Reg.
(b) 1791 Mch 13 Thamar Parker widow of Sanders close bur Reg [headstone]
G57 [ 113 Parker ]
In Memory of William Parker of Eals who departed this life the 4th Day of May 1826 in the 75th Year of her (?) age. Also of Elizabeth his wife who died April the 9th 1831 aged (37) years ( ... their first daughter was born in 1810, so age of Elizabeth must be a good deal wrong ...) Mary the daughter of William & Elizabeth Parker of Eals who died May 13 1825 aged 15 years. Also Tamer their daughter who died April 26th 1825 Aged 13 years. Also Sarah Parker Wife of John Parker of Eals Town Foot who died July 30 1859 aged 60 Years. Also Mary Lowes Sister of Sarah Parker who died at Eals January (4) 1861 Aged 68 years. Also Mary Daughter of John & Sarah Parker who departed this life Decr the 9th 186(2) Aged (3)3 years. ( ... 1862?, 1863 ... 33?, 23 ...) [headstone]
G57 [ 114 Parker ]
In Memory of William son of William & Sarah Parker of Knowhead in this Parish who died Feb 2 1854 aged 15 years. Also of John son of William and Sarah Parker who died Octr 4th 1870 aged 28 years [headstone]
G58 [ 116 Parker ]
Erected in Memory of Thomas Parker of Eals who departed this life Febry 23d 1824 aged 86 years Also Mary wife of the above who died Sep 16 1805 aged 63 years. Also of Jane wife of John Parker of Eals who departed this life March 9th 1856 aged 75 years Also of the above John Parker who died Augst 25 1863 aged 85 years. Also Thomas their Son who died at Eals March 28 1886 Aged 79 Years. [headstone]
G58 [ 142 Parker ]
In loving Memory of William Parker Beloved Husband of Barbara Parker of Eals who died March 28 1884 aged 60 years. Also of Barbara their daughter who died August 6th 1885 aged 14 years William their Son who died July 19th 1886 aged 19 years [headstone]
--- [ ??? Parker ]
In loving memory of Margaret beloved wife of David Parker (of) the Eals Town Head died 17 June 1944 aged 54 years, also the above David Parker died 20 March 1960 aged 67 years, also their son David William died 14 December 1952 aged 31 years. Also John Parker beloved brother of David Parker died 9 March 1959 aged 81 years. [headstone]
--- [ ??? Parker ]
In loving memory of a dear husband and dad Thomas Parker who died 22nd March 1984 aged 63 years also his dear wife Rhoda who died 7th February 1998 aged 74 years. Rest in peace. [headstone]
G59 [ 42a Pearson ]
In affectionate remembrance of Sarah Pearson who died at the Bog, Knaresdale Aug 13th 1889 aged 20 years [memorial wreath]
G59 [ 182 Phillips ]
In loving memory of Annie May Phillips (the beloved wife of William Phillips junior) who died Church Street, Haltwhistle on the 18th January 1906 aged 24 years [memorial wreath]
G59 [ 105 Potts ]
In memory of John Potts of Alstone who departed this life Oct the 29th 18(0)9 aged 40 years (a) (poem)
(a) 1809 Oct 29 John Potts of Aldstone house holder Died at Eals Reg. [headstone]
G60 [ 106 Potts ]
In Memory of David Potts of Darkdale house who died Feby the 14th 1763 (a) aged 63. And Margaret his wife who died Feby the 20th 1783 aged 79 (b) Also John their Son of Slaggyford who died Decr the 1st 1792 aged 56 (c) [headstone]
(a) 1763 Feb 16 David Potts of Dark Dale House bur Reg
(b) 1783 Feb 23 Margaret Potts of Dark Dale widow bur Reg
(c) 1792 Dec 3 John Potts Senior of Slaggyford bur Reg
G60 [ 94a Proud ]
In Memory (Fran)ces wife of John Proud of Binks who died March 2 1754 Aged 81 (a) Also John her Husband of Aulice hill who died Dec 27 17 - - Aged 88 (b) And Hannah their Daughter of Loaning (hd) Spinster who died June (10) 1783 Aged 72 (c) And Sairah her Sister of Loaning hd spinster who died Nov (11) 1791, Aged 68 (d) [headstone]
(a) Frances wife of John Proud Binks bur Mch 2 1754 Reg
(b) John Proud Aulice Hill bur 27 Dec 1757 Reg
(c) Hannah Proud New Hall spinster bur June 18 1783
(d) Sarah Proud Maid of Lonning Nov 11 1791
G61 [ 145 Raine ]
In Memory of Robert Raine of Thornhope who died Feb 17 1883 aged 56 years Also of John James his Son who died Dec 12 1885 aged 24 Years Also of Mary Ann Widow of the above who died August 25th 1907 aged 71 years [headstone]
G61 [ 17 Richardson ]
In Memory of Sarah the beloved wife of William Richardson, Eals, who died Sept 10th 1874 Aged 44 years. Also of the above named William Richardson, who died at Eals, May 30th 1883, aged 59 years. Also of Ann their daughter, who died Sept 28th 1883; Aged 30 years [headstone]
G62 [ 20 Ridley ]
In memory of Thomas Ridley who died at Knarsdale-Hall, Aug 25 1876, aged 62 years. Also of John his son, who died April 10 1866; aged 11 months. Also of Elizabeth his wife, who died Nov 22 1890; aged 62 years. Also of Margaret their daughter who died April 18 1891; aged 27 years [headstone]
G62 [ 39 Ridley ]
In loving memory of Sarah the beloved wife of Jacob Ridley Sanders Close who died May 11, 1900 Aged 64 years [headstone]
G63 [ 56 Ridley ]
Erected in memory of Jane wife of William Ridley who died at Knarsdale-Hall March 8th 1856 Aged 79 years. Also of the above William Ridley who died March 21st 1859 aged 87 years. Also of Mary their daughter who died Novr 9th 1827 aged 27 years. Also of Elizabeth their daughter who died June 26th 1850 aged 47 years. Also of Jane their daughter who died April 16th 1850 aged 33 years. Also of Jane their granddaughter who died May 25th 1852 aged 17 years. Also of John their son who died Feb 10th 1872 aged 75 years. Also of Hannah wife of Thomas Ridley of Side House who died June 30th 1850 Aged 28 years. Also of Mary wife of Joseph Ridley of Slaggyford who died July 12th 1852 Aged 37 years [headstone]
G63 [ 119 Ridley - photo ]
Sacred to the Memory of Elizabeth daughter of William and Mary Ridley who died at Stone Hall March 24 1836 aged 12 years. Also of Maria their daughter who died at Sandersclose Jany 3rd 1849 aged 13 years. Also of Mary Ann their daughter who died at Sandersclose Decr 21 1849 Aged 23 years. Also of John their Son who died at Sandersclose April 20 1868 aged 27 years. Also of the above named William Ridley who died at Sandersclose September 12th 1881 aged 84 years. Also of Mary his wife who died September 8th 1880 aged 82 years [headstone]
G64 [ 139 Ridley ]
In Memory of Matthew Ridley of Long dyke head who died June 7th 1835 aged 67 years, Margaret his wife who died Jan 26 1803 aged 35 years, Matthew who died June 15 1842 aged 40 years, Ann his wife who died Nov 19th 1871 aged 66 years, Henry their Son who died Novr 20 1871 aged 42 years, Mary their Daughter who died in infancy. Also of Thomas Son of the former Matthew Ridley who died at Long dyke head Aug 19 1878 aged 78 years [headstone]
G65 [ 146 Ridley ]
In Memory of Henry Ridley who died at High Luzley November 20th 1871 aged 42 years Also of Elizabeth his wife who died at Longdykehead Octbr 19 1882 aged 53 years Also of Hannah their daughter who died at High Luzley Dec 20th 1871 aged 2 years Also of Matthew their Son who died at Long dyke head Nov 21st 1881 aged 21 years Also of Thomas their Son who died at Long dyke head March 6th 1883 aged 15 years Also of Mary their daughter wife of Robert Bowman who died at Long dyke head Decr 10th 1884 aged 28 years Also of Annie their daughter who died at Long dyke head Novr 20th 1888 aged 25 years [headstone]
G65 [ 149 Ridley ]
In Memory of William Ridley late of Lintley Mill, who died at Slaggyford, Sept 27th 1879; aged 78 years Also Sarah, his wife, who died July 4th 1880 aged 78 years Also John, their Son who died Novr 16 1859 aged 23 years [headstone]
G66 [ 156 Ridley ]
In loving Memory of Ruth beloved wife of John Ridley who died at Slaggyford 18th Sept 1903 aged 58 years. Also of John Ridley husband of the above who died 31st May 1909 aged 66 years [headstone]
G67 [ 76 Ritson ]
Erected in Memory of William Ritson of Hill House in the parish Lanercost who died June 14th 1846 Aged 54 Years. Also of Ann Wife of the above who departed this life Jany 30th 1853 Aged 53 Years [ headstone ]
G67 [ 40 Robinson ]
M. S. of Elizabeth wife of James Robinson who died May 30 1863 Aged 32 years Also of Robert their son who died Aug 20 1863 Aged 1 year [headstone]
G67 [ 141 Robinson - photo ]
To the memory of Abraham Robinson of Slaggyford who died March ye 16, 1748 aged 59 (a) [headstone see photograph]
(a) Abraham Robinson of Slaggyford buried March 18 1747/8
G67 [ 148 Robinson ]
In loving memory of Matthew Robinson Slaggyford who died September 21st 1889 Aged 97 years. Also of Martha his wife who died June 4th 1872 aged 79 years Also of Mary their Daughter who died Jan 25th 1874 Aged 51 years Also of Robert Brown husband of the last named who died Oct 3rd 1859 aged 33 years and was interred at Carr Shield West Allendale and of Robert younger Son of the above Robert and Mary Brown who died Feb 8th 1891 aged 30 years and was interred at Brompton Cemetery London. Edward Robinson Brown B A L TH Oldest Son of the above who died in London Sept 3rd 1909 aged 51 years [headstone]
G69 [ 28 Smith - half photo & photo of back ]
Here lieth the Body of Isabel the Wife of Robert Smith of Burn-stones who Died July the 3rd 1777 Aged 31 years (a) She was an affectionate Wife, An indulgent Parent, An obliging Neighbour And a good Christian [headstone, coat of arms on back]
(a) Isabel wife of Robert Smith Burnstones buried July 6 1777 Reg
G69 [ 29 Smith - photograph ]
Sacred to the Memory of Robert Smith of Burnstones who died June the 19th 1783 Aged 59 [?39] (a) Also Bella 2nd Daughter of Robert and Isabel Smith who died at Burnstones Feb the 16th 1784 (b) Aged 16 [?10 or 19] And Fanny 2d Daughter of Robert and Abigail Smith who died at Burnstones .......... Aged 12
(a) Robert Smith of Burnstones buried June 19th 1783 Register
(b) Bella d Robert Smith late of Burnstones buried Feb 16 1784 Register
(c) Frances d the late Robert Smith and Abigail now w Nicholas Moor of Burnstones buried Jan 1 1792 Register
G70 [ 120 Sproat ]
Here lieth Interred the Body of John Sproat of Lingey Close who Departed this life the 9th day of April in the Year of our Lord 1781 (a) Aged 79 years
(a) 1781 Apr 11 John Sproat of Lingey Close, Lambley, buried Register [headstone]
G71 [ 52 Stephenson ]
In Memory of Joseph Stephenson of Knarr who died August The 30th 1784 aged 82 years (e) Also of Mary who died May The 26th 1784 aged 70 years (f)
(e) 1784 Aug 30 Joseph Stephenson, Knarr, buried. Register
(f) 1784 May 26 Mary wife Joseph Stephenson, Knar, buried. Register [headstone]
G71 [ 68 Stephenson - photo in distance ]
Erected in Memory of John Stephenson of Slaggyford who died August 18th 1827 Aged 47 Years And of Ann his wife who died Aug 6th 1824 Aged 41 years Also of Ann their Daughter who died August 5th 1825 aged 14 years Also of Thomas their son who died May 12th 1851 Aged 41 Years [headstone]
G72 [ 151 Stephenson ]
Erected in Memory of Jane wife of William Stephenson of Redpath who died June 9 1865 Aged 51 years Also of Thomas their Son who died Oct 8 1875 aged 29 years Also of William their Son who died at Eals Nov 17 1890 Aged 41 years Also of John their Grandson who died at Softley Oct 27 1888 Aged 20 years Also of John Stevenson (sic) who died on Jany 11 1869 aged 24 years Also of William Stevenson (sic) who died May 12 1904 aged 89 years [headstone]
G72 [ 159 Stephenson ]
In Affectionate Remembrance of John The Beloved Husband of Isabella Stephenson, Burnstones, Knarsdale who died Novr 12th 1895, Aged 57 Years Also of James, their son who died Novr 25th 1868; Aged 10 months Also of Edward their son, who died June 8th 1870; Aged 7 months [headstone]
G73 [ 160 Stephenson ]
In Memory of Elizabeth wife of Thomas Stephenson of Merry Know who died May 17th 1845 Aged 26 years Also of Thomas their son who died June 8th 1861, Aged 18 years [headstone]
G73 [ 183 Stephenson ]
Beneath this Chancel repose the remains of Thomas Ann & Samuel Stephenson Merryknowe Also Thomas Elizabeth Jane & Thomas Stephenson Slate House Also Jane William and Bessie Stephenson Burnstones [ stone set into Chancel wall, inside ]
G73 [ 177 Stothert ]
In loving memory of IHS Thomas Stothert of Barnes Row who died March 30th 1905 Aged 63 Years [headstone]
G74 [ 15 Teasdale ]
IHS In memory of James Teasdale sculptor of Slaggyford who died Aug 22nd 1841 Aged 29 Years. Mary Ann his daughter died June 11th 1841 Aged 13 months. Joseph his son died Jany 4th 1852 Aged 16Years. Thomas his son died Nov 25th 1877 aged 44 years. Isabella his daughter died March 4th 1891 Aged 51 years [headstone]
G74 [ 25 Teasdale ]
In Memory of Isabella daughter of Jos & Ann Teasdale of Darkdale who died July 23rd 1831 aged 14 years. Also of the above Joseph Teasdale who died Aug. 1. 1843 aged 53 years. Ann wife of the above died July 8. 1850 aged 69 years. Also of Joseph Teasdale son of the above named Joseph & Ann Teasdale, who died June 30, 1874, aged 59 years. Also of Ann his wife who died Jan 15, 1900 Aged 83 years. Also of Smith Teasdale, their son, who died June 2, 1892 aged 40 years, Interred in Gateshead Cemetery. Also Joseph their son who died in infancy Nov 16, 1850 [headstone]
G75 [ 136 Teasdale ]
In Memory of Matthew Teasdale of Bogg who died Feb 14 1863 aged 71 years. Also of Jane his wife who died Dec 18 1876 aged 70 years. Matthew their Son who died Nov 20 1876 aged 45 years [headstone]
G76 [ 157 Teasdale ]
In Memory of Thomas Teasdale who died at the Bog July 15th 1879 Aged 27 Years [headstone]
G76 [ 164 Teasdale ]
In loving memory of Elizabeth Teasdale who died at Tows Bank Sepr 5th 1893 In her 20th year [headstone & cross]
G76 [ 147 Telford - photograph ]
Erected to the Memory of Robert son of John & Margaret Telford of Towsbank in the parish of Lambley who departed this life March 30th 1841 aged 25 years. John Telford who died at Wingates April 30t 187(-) aged 86 years Also of Margaret his wife who died at Eals Bridge End Jun ( ) 1869 aged [?82] years [headstone]
G77 [ 69 Todd ]
Erected in Memory of Joseph Todd of Hill who died April 27th 1867 Aged 67 Years. Also of Ann wife of the above who died July 21st 1856 Aged 79 Years. And of Joseph their son who died April 22nd 1854 Aged 35 Years. Also of Sarah their daughter who died at Slaggyford Decr 13th 1872 aged 60 years. Also of John their son who died at Slaggyford Octr 14th 1885 aged 69 years [headstone]
G78 [ 131 Todd - photograph ]
In Memory of Joseph Todd of Amos Hill who died April 14th 1810 aged 91 years (a). Mary his wife died April 1 1790 aged 65 years (b)
(a) 1810 Apr 14 Joseph Todd of the Knar, householder, buried, Register
(b) 1790 Apr 2 Mary wife of Joseph Todd of Aulice-hill, buried, Register [headstone]
G78 [ 132 Todd - photograph ]
To the Memory of John Son of Thomas & Ann Todd of the Underbank who died Sept the 29th 1804 aged 19 years (c). Also of Thomas Todd of Underbank his Father who died January the 22nd 1806 aged 60 years (d). Likewise Ann Todd Wife of Thomas Todd who died July 4th 1816 [?] aged [60?] years (e) [headstone]
(c) John son of Thomas Todd of Underbank, Kirkhaugh, buried Oct 9 1805
(d) Thos Todd, Underbank, Kirkhaugh, householder buried 22 Jan 1806
(e) [not found in Register between 1800-1812 therefore probably 1816]
G79 [ 133 Todd ]
In Memory of Hannah wife of John Todd of Lintley who died Feb the 26 1789 aged 81 yrs (f) [ Poem on back ] [headstone]
(f) Hannah Todd, Lintley in Kirkhaugh widow buried Mch 1 1789 - Register
G79 [ 134 Todd ]
In Memory of John Todd of Bogg in this parish who died Feb 19 1800 aged 58 years (g) Also of Mary his beloved wife who died at Water head in the parish of Abbey Lanercost July 18th 1848 Aged 92 years. Also of John Todd their Son who died at Water head June 24 1857 aged 70 years Also of Thomas his brother who died Sep 22 1875 aged 83 years
(g) John Todd of the Bogg buried Feb 22 1800 [headstone]
G80 [ 135 Todd ]
Here lieth the Body of John Todd of Lintley who died Nov the 9th 1784 aged 71 (h)
(h) John Todd of Lintley buried Nov 12, 1784 Register [headstone]
G81 [ 123 Tweddle - photograph ]
In affectionate remembrance of Anthony Tweddle of Burnstones who died Feb 3rd 1872 aged 48 years. Also of John his son who died January 20th 1856 aged 7 weeks. Also of Mary his wife who died at Town Green October 22nd 1896 aged 72 years [headstone]
G81 [ 124 Tweddle ]
Erected in memory of John Tweddle of Burnstones who died Novr 12 1851 aged 79 years. Also of Sarah his wife who died Feb 21st 1851 aged 69 years. Also of Margaret their daughter who died March 18th 1818 aged 1 year. Also of Mary their daughter who died March 25th 1836 aged 26 years. Also of William their son who died Decr 27th 1848 aged 30 years. And of Elizabeth their daughter who died May 2nd 1854 aged 45 years. Also of John thier son who died May 14th 1862 aged 58 years.
G82 [ 53 Vickers ]
To the memory of James Vickers of Intacks who died August the 21st 1767 aged 34 (a). Also of Jane Vickers his wife of Luzley High Field who died January the 30th [?] 1806 aged 73 years (b) [headstone]
(a) James Vicars Intacks buried Aug 30 1767
(b) Jane Vickers Luzley High Field widow buried June 5 1806 Register
G82 [ 66 Wallace ]
Sacred to the memory of Matthew Wallace who died at Lingey-close July 17th 1872 aged 84 years. Also of Ann his wife who died at Lingey-close June 4th 1878 aged 86 years. Mary Wallace daughter of Matthew & Ann Wallace who died at Lingey-close in the Parish of Lambley Oct 27 1835 aged 14 years. Also of Thomas their son who died 2nd May 1842 aged 27 years [headstone]
G83 [ 87 Wallace - photograph ]
In memory of Thomas Wallace who died at Yont-the-Cleugh Jan 3 1867 aged 82 years. Also of Hannah his wife who died Aug 25 1865 aged 66 years. Also of William their son who died July 27 1858 aged 23 years, Also of Sarah their daughter who died Decr 5th 1885 aged 62 years. Also of Margaret their daughter who died May 2nd 1900 aged 62 years. Also of Henry their son who died May 8th 1900 aged 69 years [headstone]
G83 [ 121 Wallace - photograph ]
To the memory of John Wallace of Towsbank in the parish of Lambley who died Feb 20 1839 aged 70 years. Also Elizabeth his wife died Jan 13 1842 aged 74 years. Also of Joseph Wallace their son who died at Towsbank March 3 1862 aged 58 years [headstone]
G84 [ 122 Wallace - photograph ]
Erected in memory of Thomas Wallace of Tows Bank who died April 18 1864 aged 71 years. Also of Mary his wife who died May 9th 1825 aged 34 years [headstone]
G84 [ 169a Wallace ]
In loving memory of John Wallace who died at Melkridge on November 19th 1902 aged 77 years [memorial card]
G84 [ 185 Hope-Wallace - East window ]
To the glory of God / and in loving Memory of / John George Frederick / Hope-Wallace / of Featherstone Castle / this East window is erected / by his son James AD 1904 /
G85 [ 26 Wallis ]
Here lyeth inter'd ye body of Anne wife of James Wallis of Burnstones deceased the 18th of Augst 1738 (a) aged 54 years 4 months & 17 days
(a) Ann wife James Walliss Burnstone buried Aug 21 1738 - Knarsdale Register
G85 [ 58 Wallis ]
Here lyeth the body of Isabel wife of Joseph Wallis of Aulice Hill who died Nov 13 1736 aged 31 (b) [headstone]
(b) 1736 Nov 15 Isabell wife of Joseph Walliss of Aulis Hill buried - Register
G85 [ 59 Wallis ]
Here lies the body of Mary wife of Henry Wallis of the LOning who died Jan 21 1731 aged 61 (c) [headstone]
(c) 1731/2 Jan 24 Mary wife of Hen Wallis Loaning House buried - Register
G86 [ 64 Wallis ]
(on the face)
To the memory of John Wallis of Williamstone who died Sep 14 1721 aged 51 years (a)
(on the top)
John Colthred of Slaggyford
(on the back)
To ye memory of John Coldthred of Slaggyford who died May ye 15 1761 (b) aged 88 years. Also Joseph his son died May the 15th 1794 aged 60 (c) [headstone]
(a) 1721 Nov 2 John Wallis of Williamstone bur
(b) 1761 May 18 John Coulthard Slaggyford bur
(c) 1794 May 17 Joseph Coulthard Senior Slaggyford buried - Register
G87 [ 65 Wallis - photograph ]
Here lieth the body of Ann wife of Wm Wallis of Merryknow who died May ye 19th 1773 aged 70 years (d) [headstone]
(d) 1773 May 21 Ann wife of William Wallis Merryknow buried - Register
G87 [ 67 Wallis ]
Here lieth the body of William son of Wm Wallis of Merry Know who died Jan the 13 1777 aged 23 [?] years (e) [headstone]
(e) 1777 Jan 16 William son of William Wallis Merryknow buried - Register
G87 [ 81 Wallis - photographed with others ]
Here lies the body of Isabell Wallis of Hirdly Bank Head died June the 26 1735 Ag 36. 1735 Jly 8 Isabell Wallis spr High Hirdly in p Lamly buried - Register [small headstone]
G88 [ 85 Wallis ]
Here lieth the mortal part of Richard Wallis of Ston-Hall who died April ye 6 1754 aged 70. 1754 Apr 9 Richard Wallis Stonehall buried - Register
G88 [ 50 Walton - photograph ]
In memory of Thomas Walton of Merryknow who died Oct 6th 1767 aged 71 years (a) Also of Ann his widow who died June 6th 1793 aged 93 years (b) Also John their son who died July 6th 1781 aged 44 years (c) And Tamar their Daughter Widow of Henry Gill of Williamston died May 26th 1810 aged 74 years (d)
(a) 1767 Oct 9 Thomas Walton, Merryknow buried
(b) 1793 Jun 8 Ann Walton, Merryknow, widow bur
(c) 1781 Jly 7 John Walton, Merryknow, buried
(d) 1809 Sep 1 Thamar Gill W'stone widow buried - Register
G89 [ 51 Walton ]
Sacred to the memory of John Walton of Merryknow who departed this life July 5th 1781 aged 44 years (a) also of Anne his widow late of Walby who departed this life Feb 6th 1819 and was interred at Crosby aged 68 years. Also of Tamar their daughter who departed this life July 20th 1818 and was interred at Crosby aged 47 years. Also of Mary their daughter who departed this life April 5th 1825 Aged 47 years, likewise of Betty their daughter who departed this life March 25th [?28] 1844 aged 66. And also of Ann their daughter who departed this life April 9th 1844 aged 73 years
(a) 1781 July 7 John Walton Merryknow buried - Register [altar tomb]
G89 [ 152 Walton ]
In loving Memory of Jacob Walton who died at Double Dykes Sept 19 1869 aged 75 years. Also of Ann his wife who died Oct 21 1854 aged 56 years. Also of Sarah their Daughter who died July 31st 1851 aged 11 years. Also of Samuel their Son who died Aug 29 1898 aged 77 years [headstone]
G90 [ 184 Whitfield ]
In affectionate remembrance of George Whitfield who died August 16 1880 aged 82 years. Also Annie wife of the above who died February 13 1876 aged 72 years. Also of Mary the beloved daughter of the above who died October 26th 1841 aged 14 years [text] [Stone let into south wall of Chancel, inside the church]
G90 [ 79 White ]
M. S. of Eleanor wife of Joseph White of Blackley House who died 18th Nov 1831 aged 60 years. Also of the above Joseph White who departed this life Decr 6th 1857 aged 87 years. Also of Thomas their son who died June 21st 1864 aged 61 years. Also of Jane his wife who died at Slaggyford Janry 18th 1876 aged 63 years [headstone]
G91 [ 22 Wilkinson ]
In memory of George Wilkinson who died at Eals June 11th 1873 aged 72 years Also of Margaret his wife who died Jany 19th 1888 Aged 78 years [headstone]
====================================================================
Hodgson's History of Northumberland Pt II Vol III page 80

"We hide the following disgraceful doggerel on a tombstone, near the church door of Knaresdale in the smallest type our printer's office affords:-
"In memory of Robert Baxter, of Far-house, who died Oct 4 1796, aged 56. Also of etc.
All you who please these lines to read,
It will cause a tender hearts to bleed;
I murdered was upon the fell,
And by the man I knew full well;
By bread and butter which he laid,
I being harmless, was betrayed.
I hope he will remembered be
That laid that poison there for me."
This Robert Baxter, on his way home to his sheep on the fell, found some bread and butter, neatly folded up in paper, and soon after eating it, was seized with violent convulsions, and died - under the belief that a malicious neighbour, with whom he had lately quarrelled, had in it laid a poisoned bait to kill him; and though the report was current and much believed, no inquest was holden on his body - (Mack. ii 320). A tombstone, bearing some doggerel calumnies, was refused, by the incumbent, to be put up in the chapel-yard in Heworth; but in his absence in London, in 1819, to procure funds to re-build the chapel, it obtained forcible entrance, and was set up; and he found he could not remove it. Certainly, some easy remedy should exist for such foul indecencies."
====================================================================