Hide
Norfolk: Thorpe St Andrew
hide
Hide
Notes from the parish registers of Thorpe St Andrew alias Thorpe Episcopi alias Thorpe next Norwich
[Transcription copyright © David Booty]
From the Thorpe St Andrew register of baptisms 1642-43 and 1670-1705, marriages 1670-1703, and burials 1670-1705.
Memorandum that in the yeare 1673 Upon the rebuilding [of] the little Barne (formerly called the Hay: house) and Stables belonging to the Parsnage of Bishop: Thorpe alias Thorpe next Norwich, Severall (about 12 or 16) foot of the former Pinning of the old Hay: house & stable on the East side next Mr. YALLOPs late buildings were then left remaining and un..., and againe built upon in this new little house & stable without any alteration...
| Collected | ||
| 1700 | Redemption of Slaves from Machanes | 2 - 17 - 06 |
| For a fire at St Mary Magdalen Bermondsey | 0 - 05 - 11 | |
| For Beccles in Suffolk | 0 - 05 - 06 | |
| 1701 | Ely Cathedrall | 00 - 04 - 01d |
| Loss by fire att Cruck Meale in the County of Salop | 0 - 02 - 04 | |
| 10br 7th | For Bromley Church in Stafford shere | 0 - 03 - 09 |
| Jan 4 | Loss by fire att Eccleshall | 0 - 02 - 01 |
| March 25 | Collected from house to house | |
| For Leominster church in Herefordshire | 0 - 05 - 05 | |
| 10 May 1702 | Recd the Briefe for Leominster | |
| Ely Cathedral, Cruckmeal, Bromley, Eccleshall | ||
| With their collections as above p Henry WALKER | ||
| May 30 | Rye Church in Sussex | 0 - 02 - 06 |
| Chester Cathedrall | 00 - 04 - 00 | |
| June 22 | For St Germains Chuch | 00 - 12 - 00 |
| For Ely Fire | 00 - 02 - 06 | |
| July 6 | Loss by fire at Haddenham | 00 - 00 - 06 |
| July 25 | Fire at Blaisdon | 00 - 03 - 03 |
| 9br 29 | Rolleston fire | 00 - 00 - 06 |
| 10br 7 | Steeple of Wye | 00 - 01 - 08 |
| March 7 | Congleton Brief | 00 - 02 - 00 |
| March 21 | Shutsford fire | 00 - 02 - 03 |
| Rector | |
| 1706 | Thomas TANNER D.D. afterwards Ld. Bishop of St. Asaph |
| 1731 | Rev. Edward CAPPER |
| 1753 | Rev. Richard HUMFREY M.A. |
| 1813 | Revd. James MAXWELL |
| 1851 | Revd. Armine HERRING MA |
From the Thorpe St Andrew register of baptisms and burials 1706-1763, and marriages 1706-1753.
Memorandum that Mr Mathew HOWARD Esqr gave to the Parish a New Surplish November the first 1738
Memorandum the Reverend Mr Edward CAPPER Rebuilt a New Gabel to the parsonage house of Thorp Next Norwich August 1741
From the Thorpe St Andrew register of baptisms and burials 1763-1812.
| Ann: Dom: | Memorandum |
| 1754 | The Seat on the South Side of the Church facing the Pulpit belonging to the Parsonage House was rebuilt at the expence of Richd Humfrey Rector. |
| 1755 | Thomas Vere Esqr Patron of the Rectory and Lord of the Manor of Thorpe Episcopi gave to the Parish a Sett of silver Communion Plate in a Mahogony Case with silver Handles, Hinges and Escutchion, containing two Flaggons, one Cup, one Waiter, one Receiver for the Alms and a Knife with a silver Handle. He also erected at his own Expence a new Altar-Piece, new floor'd, repair'd and painted the Seats and beautified the Church and built a new School Room upon the Town Ground adjoining to the Church-House. The large Bible and Prayer Book for the Desk were bought new this year. |
| 1756 | The Parsonage House having being entirely taken down and rebuilt was finish'd this year, and the Wash-house rebuilt, the Barn new thatch'd with Reed, the South End of the Stable built, the Hay Chamber Floor, the Partitions, Rack, Manger, &c were all put up new and the Stable paved, large new Doors made to the Hay-house and the whole put into good Repair. The Garden on the North Side of the House was also made this year and the Wall next the Road built, and the Gates and Palisades put up all new at the Expence of |
| Richd Humfrey Rector |
See also the Thorpe St Andrew parish page.
These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.
Copyright © Pat Newby.
August 2008