Edingley

The Library at Newark-on-Trent will prove useful in your research.

The Library at Southwell would be second on my list for libraries.

A Lych Gate was added to the churchyard in 1909.

Jim THORNTON has a photograph of St. Giles Church Lych Gate on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2007.

• The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Giles.
   
• The date of construction is not revealed, but is quoted in Directories as "of very early date". There is no mention of a church here in the 1086 Domesday Book, but it appears to be an early 12th century structure. It appears to be of Norman origin.
   
• It appears that this church was a "Chapelry" to Southwell Minster up to 1527.
   
• In 1644 the roof of the chancel collapsed on a Sunday night in December.
   
• The church was repaired in 1796 by tythsman Gib't BROWN and John HARVEY.
   
• The church chancel was rebuilt in 1844 by Edward MACHIN.
   
• In 1868 a "poor tower" of brick was added to the church's northwest corner.
   
• The church was largely rebuilt in 1897.
   
• Richard CROFT has a photograph of St.Giles' Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2012.
   
• Grahm HOGG also has a photograph of St.Giles' Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.
   
• The church is part of the Southwell & Nottingham Church History Project.
   

• The Anglican parish registers date from 1581.
   
• You can find an extract from the Parish Register , but it only covers 1638.
   
• The London Family History Centre has film of the Bishop's Transcripts for 1623 through 1858.
   
• The parish was in the rural deanery of Southwell.
   
• The Wesleyan Methodists and Primitive Methodists each had a chapel here in 1813.
   
• Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Methodist Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2010.
   

• The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
   
• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   

Edingley is a village and a parish near the River Greet. It is 3.5 miles west of Southwell and 131.5 miles north of London. The parish covers 1,759 acres and includes the hamlets of Osmondthorpe and Greaves Lane.

If you are planning a visit:

• The A1 motorway used to run through the village but a modern bypass now skirts the place.
   
• James THRONTON has a pohotograph of the Bus Shelter on Main Street on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2007.
   
• Jim THORNTON has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2007. You should drop by and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events.
   
• The Southwell Walking Trail passes just north of the village on the old railway line.
   
• Edingley Beck runs through the village.
   
• Balderton Lake provides a place to relax and hosts a local fishing club.
   
• Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.
   

• Geograph
• Flickr

• We have an extract from White's 1853 Directory relating to this parish.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Edingley to another place.

In 1938, second quarter, George BROOKS of Mansfield married a local girl Dora FOGG. George was a master carpenter who had made the replacement doors for the church. Dora FOGG was the daughter of the village shopkeeper, Mrs. Edith FOGG.

The Births of Mr Joshua GREGORY's Family of Graves Lane Edingley:

4 Sep 1714 Joshua son of Joshua GREGORY
19 Feb 1726/27 John son of Joshua GREGORY
22 Aug 1732 Mary dau of Joshua GREGORY
22 Oct 1734 Ann dau of Joshua GREGORY
10 Oct 1737 Samuel son of Joshua GREGORY

The webpage author has not been able to confirm the Gregory family entries.

• Stop in at the Old Reindeer to chat up the locals.
   
• Jim THORNTON has a photograph of the Old Reindeer on Geo-graph, taken in October 2006.
   
• Graham HOGG also has a photograph of the Old Reindeer on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2016.
   
• The Edingly Cricket Club existed in the 1920s. Harry VERVET asks if your have any relatives in the Edingley C. C..
   
• Jo TURNER has a photograph of an Iron Age Hut like the one her ancestors lived in on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2010.
   

• See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK666558 (Lat/Lon: 53.09526, -1.006883), Edingley which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

In St. Giles Church, to the right of the blocked-up doorway in the north wall of the nave is a memorial to John TODER, who died in June, 1944.

To the right of the blocked-up doorway in the north wall of the nave is a memorial to John TODER, which reads:

"1939 + 1945
IN MEMORY OF
JOHN TODER.
WHO GAVE HIS LIFE FOR HIS COUNTRY
JUNE 13TH 1944."

Edward COMPTON tells us (August, 2017):

"On John Speed's county map of of 1610 the village is spelt Heddingley and on Robert Morden's map of about 1800 it is Heddingley again!
Oxford book of place names (qv) gives a Saxon origin 'Eddinga's lea'."

A. D. MILLS "A Dictionary of English Place Names," Oxford University Press, 1991, notes that in 1180 the name appears as Eddyngleia and notes the source as Old English.

• This place was an ancient parish in county Nottingham and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
   
• The parish was in the south division of the ancient Thurgaton Wapentake (Hundred) in the southern division of the county.
   
• In March, 1884, this parish gave up 41 acres to enlarge Oxton Civil Parish.
   
• You may contact the Edingley Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT funded to do family history work for you.
   
• District governance is provided by the Newark and Sherwood District Council.
   

• The Common Land was enclosed here in 1778.
   
• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Southwell petty session hearings every other Friday.
   
• As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
   

Year	Population
1801	286
1841	429
1851	381
1861	390
1871	352
1881	297
1891	279
1901	250
1911	301

Probate records are held at the Peculiar Court of Southwell, just a few miles south of Edingley.

Will abstracts for 1567-1857 can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

• The school was endowed by John LAMB and Samuel WRIGHT in 1731.