Hockerton

The Library at Southwell will prove useful in your research.

• The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• A church is mentioned here in the 1058 Domesday Book.
   
• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
   
• The construction date is uncertain, but was prior to 1582. The building is definitely Norman.
   
• In the mid-17th century the building was damaged during the Civil Wars between King Charles I and Parliament.
   
• In 1868 part of the chancel was rebuilt and the roof restored and a new porch added.
   
• Reverend John Philip SMITH was rector of Hockerton from 1913-1915. He died in Nottingham on 28 August 1915.
   
• Plans were underway in 2016 to close the church and combine the parish with Kirklington (to the west).
   
• Christine HASMAN has a photograph of St. Nicholas Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2004.
   
• Richard CROFT also has a photograph of St. Nicholas Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2012.
   

• The Anglican parish registers date from 1582 and are in good condition.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Southwell.
   

• The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
   
• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   

Hockerton is a small village and a parish on the high road from Mansfield to Newark (the A617). It is 6 miles north-west of Newark and 11 miles south-east of Mansfield. The parish covers about 1,350 acres. The Hockerton Dumble runs just south of the village.

If you are planning a visit:

• By automobile, take the A617 west out of Newark. This road passes through Hockerton.
   
• For bus service, try the Carberry Bus Service.
   
• David DISON has a photograph of the partially obscured Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014. You artistic and clever talents are needed to create a new sign for Hockerton.
   

• Geograph
• Flickr

• We have a text file copy of an 1871 extract from Wilson's 1870-72 Directory entry for this parish.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hockerton to another place.

• The village contains the Hockerton Housing Project, the UK's first earth-sheltered, self-sufficient ecological housing development.
   
• John FIRTH has a photograph of the Spread Eagle pub. on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013. A good location for taking in local gossip and conversation.
   
• Steven FAREHAM also has a photograph of the Spread Eagle pub. on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
   

• Hockerton Manor is on Hockerton road just southeast of the village.
   
• Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of Hockerton Manor Farm on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
   

• See our Maps page for additional resources.
   

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK716564 (Lat/Lon: 53.100006, -0.932096), Hockerton which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

There is no War Memorial in the parish, except that the church window below recalls the death in service of Duncan SMITH in 1917, and his gravestone stands in the churchyard.

There is a private memorial in the form of a stained glass window dedicated to John Philip SMITH, rector, and his son Duncan who died in the Great War.

There is a Commonwealth War Grave in the churchyard ebgaved: "Philip St George Duncan Smith, Lincolnshire Regiment. Born 23rd April 1897. Gave his life for his country 1st Septr. 1917". He went by the name of "Duncan".

• The name Hockerton is Old English hocer+ton, or "farmstead at the hump or rounded hill". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Hocretone.
  [A. D. MILLS, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
   

• This place was an ancient parish of Nottingham county and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
   
• The parish is in the ancient Thurgarton Wapentake in the southern division of the county.
   
• The citizens of this parish have elected to forego a formal Parish Council and they have periodic Parish Meetings to discuss divic and political issues.
   
• District governance is provided by the Newark and Sherwood District Council.
   

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Southwell petty session hearings.
   
• As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
   

Year	Inhabitants
1801	100
1831	108
1851	114
1861	108
1871	110
1881	101
1891	68
1901	79
1911	66
1921	72
1931	70

• A School was built here in 1843 by Major-General WHETHAM. This was originally only a Sunday school.
   
• Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Datestone on Hockerton school on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2013.
   
• The former Methodist Schoolhouse is now the Village Hall.