Lambley

The Library at Nottingham will prove useful in your research.

• "John from Notts" has a photograph of Lambley cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2009. The cemetery is just south of Park Lane on the eastern end of the village.
   

• The parish was in the Arnold sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
   
• The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
   

• The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
   
• The church has no external clock.
   
• The church was originally built in the 11th century, and rebuilt in 1470.
   
• The curchyard was closed for further internments on 31 Decembe 1896.
   
• David HALLAM-JONES has a photograph of Holy Trinity Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.
   
• Chris MORGAN has a photograph of the Church tower on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2016.
   

• The Anglican parish registers date from 1560, but have a gap for 1640-1754.
   
• The church was in the rural deanery of Nottingham, later the rural deanery of Gedling.
   
• The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here in 1849. IT has since been converted to a residence.
   
• Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Lambley Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2008.
   

• The parish was in the Arnold sub-district of the Basford Registration District.
   
• Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
   

Lambley is 138 miles norh of London, only 6 miles north-east from the City of Nottingham and only 2 miles from Arnold Town. The isolation of the village is mainly due to its location which is in the bottom of a steep hill in a natural basin, which is horse shoe in shape. The parish covers 2,170 acres. The Lambley Dumble is a stream running through the village.

Much of the village is a Conservation Trust Area. If you are planning a visit:

• Check for bus and coach schedules at Nottingham Travelwise.
   
• Also, verify schedules at CarlBerry.
   
• Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2014.
   

• Geograph
• Flickr

• We have an extract from White's 1853 Directory relating to this parish.

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Lambley to another place.

The sixth Ralph de CROMWELL was born here in 1292.

Marcia GREEN tells us that Mary NELSON married Samuel William PARR in 1886 at Lambley, and had a son who died in France in World War I.  Their marriage was recorded in the 2nd qtr of 1886 in Nottingham.  They are found in the 1901 census on Chapel Lane in Lambley.  He is 47, a FWK, she is his wife.  Two daughters and three sons are recorded.  A son, Albert Henry PARR, is age 2, born 1899 in Lambley. The family would later move to Carlton.  Albert joined the Sherwood Foresters, and died at age 19 in France.  He is remembered on the Carlton War Memorial.

• In the 1800s many of the inhabitants of Lambley were frame-work knitters.
   
• Al PARTINGTON has a photograph of the Lambley Inn on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2007.
   
• Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Woodlark Inn on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2016.
   

 :

• Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the Robin Hood Inn on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2008. The bus from Nottingham stops here.
   

In 1881 Lt.-Col. Charles SEELEY jun., M.P. was Lord of the Manor.

• See our Maps page for additional resources.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK632453 (Lat/Lon: 53.0013, -1.059705), Lambley which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The war memorial is mounted in the parish church and is an oak board inscribed with the names of the fallen from the First and Second World Wars. 11 First World War and 6 Second World War names are listed.

There are the names listed on the War MemoriaI in the church:

1. John Arthur Randall ARCHER, Sherwood Foresters
2. Samuel BURTON, Sherwood Foresters
3. Walter CROWSON, Sherwood Foresters
4. Arthur HUCKNALL, West Yorks
5. Frank MOULT, Grenadier Guards
6. Richard PLUMB, Sherwood Foresters
7. William ROGERSON, Northhd Fusiliers
8. John SPICER, South Notts Hussars
9. Charles Arthur STAPLETON, South Staff.
10. Ernest WARD, Sherwood Foresters
11. Harold WOLFE, R. F. A.

1939-1945

1. Harry HARRISON, K. S. L. I.
2. Dennis HOWARD, M. C., S. R. Y.
3. Ronald KIRKBY, Duke of Wellington's
4. Herbert ROBINSON, South Notts Hussars
5. Bernard SMITH, R. A. F.
6. Valentine WILLIAMS, Royal Navy

There is an incised slab in the church floor:

To Ralph Cromwell the elder,
first Baron Cromwell, died 1398
and to his wife.

• The parish was in the southern division of the ancient Thurgarton Hundred in the Southern division of the county.
   
• You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to help with family history lookups.
   
• In 1974, the parish joined the new Gedling Borough Council.
   

• Bastardy cases would be heard in the Nottingham petty session hearings.
   
• The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1793.
   
• After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became a part of the Basford Poor Law Union.
   

Year	Inhabitants
1801	467
1821	690
1831	824
1851	951
1861	836
1881	803
1901	770

• A National School for both sexes was built here in 1852 to hold 145 children.
   
• The School was enlarged in 1875 to accomodate 150 students.