Hide
Laxton
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"Laxton or Lexington is a large parish which extends eastward from the loft summit of Cockin Hill, to Weston, in the Thurgarton Hundred, forming a bold amphitheatre, having its opening upon the East. It contains 3,955 acres of land, and comprises the large village of Laxton, the humble hamlet and chapelry of Moorhouse, near the eastern extremity, and 10 scattered farm houses called Brecks, Breckwong, Copthorne, Knapeney and Straw Hall, lying easterly; Brokelow, Saywood, Hartshorn and Laxton Lodge southerly; and Cockin Moor on the west, all within one mile and a half of the village, the whole containing 620 inhabitants. The soil is generally a strong clay of excellent corn land.
More than two-thirds of the land belongs to Earl Manvers, who is lord of the manor and impropriator, and the remainder, except a few small freeholders, is the property of the Earl of Scarborough. Laxton or Lexington, three miles south by west of Tuxford, and five miles east of Ollerton, is a considerable village on a pleasant declivity, celebrated for having given the title of baron to a family of its own name, and afterwards to the Suttons of Averham."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]
Hide
The Library at Newark-on-Trent will prove useful in your research.
The Library at Ollerton is also an excellent resource.
Laxton also has a Heritage Museum that is worth a visit.
Graham HOGG has a photograph of the Heritage Museum on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2016.
- Try to find a copy of "LIFE AT LAXTON c.1880-1903 : The Childhood Memories of EDITH HICKSON," University of Nottingham, 1983, ISBN 0-902031-89-9, pp.58-60.
Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Michael's churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2015.
- The parish was in the Kneesall sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year | Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2475 |
| 1871 | R.G. 10 / 3537 |
| 1881 | R.G. 11 / 3372 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2710 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael the Archangel.
- The church's date of construction is unreported, but it was earlier than 1500.
- The church tower was reconstructed and the church interior restored in 1860.
- The church seats 295 people.
- Rod ALLDAY has a photograph of the nave of St Michael the Archangel’s Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2016.
- Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Michael's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2006
- J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2013.
- Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the 17th century cross in the churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1563 for burials, 1564 for marriages and baptisms.
- The parish was in the rural deanery of Collingham.
- The Congregationalists built a chapel here in 1836 that could seat 120.
- The parish was in the Kneesall sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
Laxton (Lexington) is both a village and a parish 3 miles southwest of Tuxford and about the same distance due east of Ollerton. It is also 134 miles north of London by rail. The parish covers almost 3,700 acres and includes the hamlet of Moorhouse. The "official" name of the parish is "Lexington".
If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, take the A6075 trunk road between Mansfield and Tuxford. Turn southeast just about a mile outside of Ollerton and follow the road to the village.
- James HILL provides a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.
- Consider staying at or visiting the historic Dovecote Inn. It is described as a "lovely old pub" with a garden area in front. It is next to the Laxton Visitor Centre.
- Robert GOULDEN has a photograph of The Dovecote Inn on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2006.
- Laxton has an active Visitor Centre, waiting to assist you when you visit.
- We have an extract from White's 1853 Directory relating to this parish.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Laxton to another place.
- The Holocaust Centre is near Laxton village, on the road from Ollerton and is surrounded by pine trees.
- Graham HOGG has a photograph of The Dovecote Inn in Main Street on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2016.
- Laxton Mediæval Field System: Laxton has the only surviving example of the mediæval strip field system still in operation. The arable land is divided into three fields (named Mill Field, South Field and West Field) of 300 acres each. These are cultivated on a three course annual rotation consisting of winter grain, spring grain and fallow, with the stubbles and the fallow field being grazed by the tenants' livestock. Each of the two fields in cultivation at any one time is divided into strips, separated by grass paths which are used for access and for a communal hay crop. Each tenant is allocated ten strips, more or less randomly distributed across the two fields. The allocation is carried out annually by a jury, and was originally intended to ensure a fair allocation of good and poor land among the tenants. The jury is elected each year by the tenants to carry out this function and to impose fines (via the manorial court) on any transgressors against the rules. The whole system is presided over by the lord of the manor, who receives rent from the tenants for their land.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK722671 (Lat/Lon: 53.19609, -0.920728), Laxton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Chris MORGAN has a photograph of the 1945 Wellington LP841 aircraft crash memorial on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2016.
On the north side of the churchyard facing High Street stands the War Memorial Cross dedicated to the nine men of the parish who died in World War One.
The Roll of Hounour in the church is documented at the Nottinghamshire War Memorials site.
- Brooks, George Reginald
- Chell, Alfred Henry
- Dolby, Thomas Cobb
- Laughton, Theophilus Willie
- Maddison, Edward
- Saxelby, George William
- Tunbridge, Gerard Charles
- Whitworth, Charles
- Willis, Oscar Potter
Lieutenant Harold CHELL was a cadet in the Officer Training Corps and commission on 22nd August 1914 as Temporary Lieutenant into the 8th battalion Royal Fusiliers.
George William SAXELBY's father, George SAXELBY, was serving with the Royal Navy in World War One.
Gerard TUNBRIDGE's brother Harold Sage TUNBRIDGE also served during the Great War. Harold survived the war.
Oscar WILLIS, otherwise known "O. P. Willows" was an elementary school teacher in Birmingham.
On the South side of the Church is a monument to Robert EVERINGHAM, d1287. Mansfield stone. A baron in the reign of Henry II, who made Laxton his principal home; last of the chief lords of Laxton and hereditary chief keeper or custodian of the royal forests of Nottingham and Derby. Knight of King Edward I, and possibly a participant in the crusade led by Prince Edward, 1270-74. Clad in armour of ring-mail.
Also on the South side is a monument to Baron Adam de EVERINGHAM, d1371. Mansfield stone. This was ‘Adam de Everingham de Laxton’, who was summoned to Parliament on 8 January 1371, and fought at Cressy. An early appearance of plate armour, which later became general. Depicted in the attitude of using the sword, held by some to imply that the knight fell in battle. Late example of the crossed legs and the shield on the left arm.
The ancient name for the village and parish was "Lessington" or, alternatively "Lexington".
- This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the South Clay division of the ancient Bassetlaw Wapentake (Hundred) in the northern division of the county.
- You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but they are Not funded to help you with family history searches.
- District governance is provided by the Newark and Sherwood District Council.
- Bastardy cases would be heard at the Retford petty session hearings held in West Retford.
- In 1859 Mrs. PROCTOR left the interest on £50 for the poor and another £50 for the school.
- In 1861 Mrs. BROWN left the interest on £10 19s to buy bread for the poor.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
George TUNBRIDGE's estate was probated in London in August, 1919. Probate was awarded to his mother, Marianne Sophie TUNBRIDGE, 'wife of the Reverend James TUNBRIDGE, Clerk.' Effects £306 16 shillings and 3 pence.
Oscar WILLIS's Probate was proven in Birmingham on 24th May 1918. His effects of £142 9 shillings and 6 pence were left to his father Frank WILLIS a schoolmaster.
There is a Laxton Local History Group.