Hide
South Muskham
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"South Muskham is a village and parish on the North Road, near to the clumsy and wooden bridge which crosses the broad stream of the Trent, 2 miles north-west of Newark. It contains 282 inhabitants and 2,612a 2r 39p of land, Lord Middleton is the owner, except about 20 acres in small freeholds, and lessee under the prebendary and chapter. The Marshalls formerly had a seat here, but sold their inheritance to Sir William Willoughby Bart. The Great North Railway passes through the parish.
The church, dedicated to St Wilfred, is a vicarage valued in the King's books at £4, now £65, and is in the patronage of its own prebendary in Southwell Collegiate Church, who is also appropriator, and at the enclosure had 140 acres and 37 perches of land awarded for the large tithe. The Rev. John Drake Beecher M.A. is the incumbent, and has 3a 1r 2p of glebe. The church is an ancient structure with nave, chancel, side aisles and tower, with three bells."
[WHITE's "Directory of Nottinghamshire," 1853]
Hide
The Library at Newark will prove useful in your research.
- The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
| Census Year | Piece No. |
|---|---|
| 1841 | H.O. 107 / 866 |
| 1861 | R.G. 9 / 2472 |
| 1871 | R.G. 10 / 3534 |
| 1881 | R.G. 11 / 3370 |
| 1891 | R.G. 12 / 2708 |
- The first vicar recorded appointed here was in 1275.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Wilfred (Wilfrid).
- The church was constructed in the 13th century.
- The church was restored and re-roofed during the years 1873-82.
- The lower portion of the tower was repaired in 1904.
- Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Wilfrid's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2008.
- Julian P. GUFFOGG has a photograph of St. Wilfred's Church from the north side on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2016.
- And Alan MURRAY-RUST has a close-up of St. Wilfrid's Church tower on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
- The Anglican parish registers date from 1589, but early entries appear to be in a confused state.
- The church was in the rural deanery of Norwell.
- The parish was in the Southwell sub-district of the Southwell Registration District.
- Civil Registration began in July, 1837.
This village and parish lie 2.5 miles north of Newark. The parish is bounded on the east and south by the River Trent, covers about 2,700 acres and includes the hamlet of Little Carlton (also known as South Carlton).
If you are planning a visit to the village:
- Take the A616 trunk road north out of Newark-on-Trent. The road passes thru the village of South Muskham.
- There is frequent bus service into the village from Newark.
- We have an extract from White's 1853 Directory relating to this parish.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from South Muskham to another place.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK794573 (Lat/Lon: 53.106993, -0.815405), South Muskham which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of a Civil War Sconce by the bridge over the River Trent on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2012.
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project site tells us that "There is no war memorial either within the church or in the churchyard, although there is a Book of Remembrance within the church".
The Great War Bulletin ('Our Nottinghamshire' site) for December 7, 1914, tells us that two men of South Muskham had been appointed as "Special Constables" to assist the police force in the event of a German invasion. The men were: F. WRIGHT, farmer (Probably Frank WRIGHT); and R. L. PARLBY, joiner. (His name was Henry Luke PARLBY, a wheelwright and joiner, born So. Muskham.)
The Great War Bulletin ('Our Nottinghamshire' site) for January 1, 1918, tells us that "B. Jackson" of South Muskham had volunteered for the 8th btln. Sherwood Foresters.
The Muskham Magazine is a parish magazine distributed for free to the villages of South Muskham, Little Carlton, North Muskham and Bathley. Recent copies are online at the South Muskham site. Older copies may exist in local libraries.
- This place was an ancient parish in Nottingham county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- This parish was in the northern division of the Thurgarten Wapentake or Hundred
- Ian S. has a photograph of the joint South Muskham and Little Carlton Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2020.
- You may contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political matters, but please DON'T ask them to help you with family history.
- District governance is provided by the Newark and Sherwood District Council.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Newark petty session hearings.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Southwell Poor Law Union.
- In 1841, John FOSTER left £100 to generate interest which was given to six poor widows and widowers.