Hide
Minehead
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"MINEHEAD, a parish, seaport, post, and market town, in the hundred of Carhampton, county Somerset, 2¼ miles from Dunster, and 9 from Williton. It is situated on the cliffs of the Bristol Channel, and on the road from Williton to Lynton. The parish contains the hamlets of Bratton, Periton, Vineford, and Woodcombe. It is mentioned in Domesday Survey as Manheved, at which period it was held by William de Mohun. It is a decayed borough, having returned two members to parliament from Elizabeth's time till the passing of the Reform Act, 2nd William IV. cap. 45, when it was disfranchised. The town, which has at various periods suffered from fires, is divided into three parts-viz: Quay Town, Higher Town, and Lower Town, and is nominally governed by two portreeves, &c." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003
Hide
- The Book of Minehead - A New History by Hilary Binding and Douglas Stevens. Halsgrove Community History Series, 2000, ISBN: 1-84114-073-2.
| Minehead Methodist Church, Minehead |
| Sacred Heart, Minehead |
| Friends Meeting House, Minehead |
Ireen Warbrooke has provided the following transcripts from Minehead parish registers.
- Slaters Commercial Directory for Minehead, Dunster & Carhampton, 1858-9, provided by Phil Mustoe.
- The section of The National Gazetteer (1868) relating to this parish - transcribed by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Minehead to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS943468 (Lat/Lon: 51.210373, -3.514424), Minehead which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.