Hide
Penn
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"Penn is a large parish, comprising 3890 acres, and the two townships and villages of Upper and Lower Penn, the former of which has 716 and the latter 226 inhabitants. The Duke of Sutherland is lord of the manor, and owner of a large portion of the soil. The rest belongs to the following resident freeholders, JW Sparrow, Esq, of Penn Hall; the Rev William Dalton, of Lloyd House; Robert Thacker, Esq, of Muchall Hall; Sidney Cartwright, Esq, of the Leasowes, and a few smaller owners.
Upper or Over Penn is a large pleasant village on the Stourbridge road, two miles S by W of Wolverhampton, containing Penn Hall, and several other neat mansions, and commanding extensive prospects of the surrounding country.
Lower Penn is a small irregularly built village, near the canal, two miles W of Upper Penn, and nearly four miles WSW of Wolverhampton."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]
Hide
'Out and About in Penn & District'
by Angus Dunphy
Published 1990, by Angus Dunphy, Dinas Powys.
'Over and Nether Penn and District'
by Angus Dunphy
Published 1994, by Angus Dunphy, Dinas Powys.
'Penn in Old Photographs'
by Elizabeth A Rees
Published 1990, by Alan Sutton, Stroud, Gloucestershire.
The population of Penn parish was as follows:
1831 - 863
1841 - 942
A surname index of the 1851 census of Penn parish is included in the Staffordshire 1851 Census Surname index, Volume 13, Wolverhampton, published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.
| Penn, Church of England |
"St Bartholomew's Church, Penn, was repaired in 1765, when the tower of brick was erected, and again in 1799, when the chancel was rebuilt of brick. It was thoroughly repaired in 1845, when 150 additional sittings were obtained, making the total number 492.
The Bishop of Lichfield is patron of the vicarage, in the incumbency of the Rev. Henry Moore, MA, of Eccleshall."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)
Church of England Registers
The parish registers of St Bartholomew, Penn commence in 1569. The original registers for the period 1569-1876 (Bapts), 1569-1845 (Mar) & 1569-1856 (Bur) are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office.
Bishops Transcripts, 1664-1852 (with gaps 1667-70, 1770-73 & 1810-12) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.
A transcript of the registers of St Bartholomew for the period 1570-1754 (Bapts, Mar & Bur) (Part 1) was published in 1921 by the Staffordshire Parish Registers Society, and has been reprinted by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.
A transcript of the registers of St Bartholomew for the period 1748-1812 (Bapts), 1754-1812 (Mar), & 1754-1812 (Bur) (Part 2) was published in 1995 jointly by the Staffordshire Parish Registers Society and the Birmingham & Midland SGH.
A transcription of the section on Penn from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)
Conservation Area Appraisals for Lower Penn - interesting accounts of the areas, with excellent historical detail, numerous photographs and maps.
The transcription of the section for Penn from the Topographical Dictionary of England (1859)
The transcription of the section for Penn from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
The transcription of the section for Penn from the Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Penn to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO893960 (Lat/Lon: 52.561726, -2.159272), Penn which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
A transcription of the Muster Roll of 1539 for Upper Penn (Over Penn)
A transcription of the Muster Roll of 1539 for Lower Penn (Nether Penn)