Westerdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Westerdale parish registers: Dates and current locations etc.

Source=h:/!Genuki/RecordTranscriptions/NRY/YPR_NRY.txt

The place:

A Chapelry in the parish of Stokesley, east-division of Langbargh; 10 miles from Guisborough, 11 from Stokesley, 16 from Whitby. Population 281. The Church, in the peculiar jurisdiction of the Lay Manor, is a Chapel of ease under Stokesley, with parochial rights, and served by a stipendiary curate.

Deposited Registers (North Yorkshire County Record Office)

• Baptisms: 1562-1650, 1666-1929
• Marriages: 1591-1606, 1666-1978
• Burials: 1666-1979

Bishop's Transcripts:

• 1601-1603, 1605-1607, 1610, 1612, 1614, 1615, 1617, 1622, 1625,1631, 1632, 1634-1640, 1661-1669, 1671-1673, 1675, 1677, 1680, 1682, 1685, 1687, 1688, 1690-1692, 1694-1696, 1698, 1699, 1701-1703, 1705-1716, 1718-1728, 1730-1865

IGI Coverage:

• C 1730-1865;
• M 1730-1836

Transcripts and Indexes:

1. CMB 1561-1751; Typed transcript, no index; North Yorkshire County Record Office
2. M 1813-1837; Index only; Joiner Marriage Index

Please note: For an explanation of the abbreviations and the meaning of those dates which are in italics, please see the Yorkshire Parish Registers main page.

The above register information was correct when the book was published (1998). However registers may be moved from one Register Office to another. If you know that any of the above data is incorrect, please drop me a line via the link at the bottom of this page.

---