Tandragee - Church Records

Abbreviations used:

• C.I. = Church of Ireland (Anglican)
• FHL = Family History Library
• LDS = Latter Day Saints
• MIC. = Microfilm
• NLI = National Library of Ireland, Dublin
• PRONI = Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast
• R.C. = Roman Catholic

Baptist Church at Tandragee and Fivemilehill

• Marriages, 1872-; burials, 1874-; minutes, 1864-. In local custody.

Church of Ireland

• C.I. Ballymore [Armagh diocese]
  • Baptisms, 1871-; marriages, 1846-; burials, 1871-; vestry minutes, 1820-. In local custody.
  • Baptisms, 1783-1871, which include a list of Presbyterians baptised, 1822-31; vestry minutes, 1771-1810; vestry account book, 1821-7; confirmations, 1843, 1846, 1849, 1852 and 1856; estate rental for the manors of Ballymore, Acton, Clare etc., possibly used for tithe or cess purposes, 1812-27; history of the church from the 17th century. PRONI ref. T.679/52, 203-205, 270-271; T.2706/8

Methodist Church at Tandragee and Fivemilehill (Wesleyan Methodists)

• Baptisms, 1836-1981; marriages, 1838-45 and 1863-1937. PRONI ref. MIC.1E/5
• Baptisms, 1819-42. PRONI ref. MIC.429/1/477

Presbyterian congregations

• Tandragee
  • Baptisms, 1835-1913; marriages, 1835-1916. PRONI ref. MIC.1P/258

• Presbyterian Historical Society
  • Room 218, Church House, Fisherwick Place, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT1 6DW

R.C. parish of Tandragee [Archdiocese of Armagh]

• Historically, the R.C. parish of Tandragee comprised the civil parishes of Ballymore and Mullaghbrack.
  • Baptisms and marriages, 1843-1856 and 1859-1880. LDS ref. FHL BRITISH Film 926031
  • Baptisms, and marriages, 1843-56 and 1859-80. PRONI ref. MIC.1D/37
  • Baptisms, 9 Oct 1843 - 27 May 1853, 7 Oct 1853 - 20 Nov 1856, 5 June 1859 - 12 Dec 1880; marriages, 21 Oct 1843 - Oct 1853, 16 Oct 1853 - 23 Nov 1856, 24 July 1859 - 12 Nov 1880. NLI ref. P.5586
    
• Map of RC parishes in Co Armagh, from John Grenham's Irish Ancestors web site:
  • Click on the parish of Ballymore and Mullaghbrack, to obtain a list of parish registers
  • Hold the mouse pointer over the parish to see variant names.

Sources, for the references given above, include:

• Guide to Church Records: An Irish Genealogical Source/Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast: Ulster Historical Foundation on behalf of [the] Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, 1994.
• John Grenham's Irish Ancestors site
• LDS FHC Catalogue
• National Library of Ireland (NLI), Lists of Roman Catholic Parish Registers