Hide
Cumbernauld
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"CUMBERNAULD, town and parish in detached district of Dumbartonshire. The parish contains also the village of Condorrat and the hamlet of Croy. Its length is about 8 miles; its greatest breadth about 4 miles; its area 11,635 acres...Pop., quoad civilia, 4270; quoad sacra, inclusive of 81 in Falkirk parish, 4351. The surface is mostly a fine diversity of small hills and fertile dales, but includes Fannyside Moor. Coal, lime, ironstone, and sandstone are extensively worked. Cumbernauld House is a chief feature, but was almost destroyed by fire in 1877. The antiquities are traces of Antoninus' Wall and vestiges of a Roman road. An Established church is at Condorrat. There are 3 schools for 767 scholars, and 2 of them for 520 are new. Cumbernauld station is on the Caledonian railway, and has also a post office under Glasgow."
[From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.]
Hide
| Cumbernauld Trinity Parish Church, Church of Scotland |
| Holy Name, Cumbernauld, Scottish Episcopal Church |
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Cumbernauld parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1688-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1689-1769 and 1783-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ 1798-1800
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cumbernauld to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS776753 (Lat/Lon: 55.954828, -3.961786), Cumbernauld which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.