Hide
Kilmaronock
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"KILMARONOCK, parish lying across foot of Loch Lomond, Dumbartonshire. It contains Drymen and Caldarvan railway stations and extends from Endrick river to vicinity of Balloch, and its post town is Alexandria. Its length is 7¼ miles; its greatest breadth full 5 miles; its area 10,325 acres... Pop. 927. The eastern section is hilly and partly moorish but the western section is low, arable and embellished. The seats are Buttrich Castle, Ross Priory, Caldarvan and Catter; and a spot of antiquarian interst is the site of a Culdee cell, founded by Maronnanor Maronoch, afterwards a nunnery, noticed by Sir Walter Scott's Lady of the Lake as 'Maronnan's cell.' The churches are Established and United Presbyterian. There are 2 schools for 172 scholars, and 1 of them for 80 is new."
From The Gazetteer of Scotland, by Rev. John Wilson, 1882.
Hide
| Kilmaronock, Church of Scotland |
Records in the old parish registers (OPRs) for Kilmaronock parish span the following years:
Births or Baptisms ~ 1686-1854
Marriages or Banns ~ 1703-1854
Deaths or Burials ~ no records
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kilmaronock to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NS427848 (Lat/Lon: 56.030623, -4.526299), Kilmaronock which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.