Abbotrule

Selkirkshire Antiquarian Society has published CDs containing transcripts of gravestones in Abbotrule cemetery.

A list of monumental inscriptions was printed in the 1964 volume of the Hawick Archaeological Society's Transactions and a list of the surnames recorded is available online.

The Scottish Genealogy Society also has a list of pre-1855 inscriptions in the churchyard and this may be consulted at its library in Edinburgh.

Nigel Hardie is transcribing parish of Southdean and Abbotsrule burials.

The parish church (Church of Scotland) has registers dating from 1755. Old Parish Registers (before 1855) are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and copies on microfilm may be consulted in local libraries and in LDS Family History Centres around the world. Later parish registers (after 1855) are often held in the National Records of Scotland as are any records of non-conformist churches in the area (often unfilmed and unindexed, and only available there).

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Abbotrule to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NT631091 (Lat/Lon: 55.374466, -2.583869), Abbotrule which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.