Penninghame

The ScotlandsPlaces website lets users search across national databases by geographical location. It includes, amongst other material,

• catalogue entries for maps and plans held by the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh; some maps and plans can be viewed
• photos and details of historical buildings and archaeological sites recorded by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh
• 17th and 18th century tax rolls
• an opportunity to transcribe thousands of historic documents

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

Numerous papers concerning businesses in Newton Stewart are to be found in Court of Sesion records. Theycan be found by searching the National Records of Scotland catalogue for "Newton Stewart" and reference starts "CS".

• BT2/7762
  The Newton-Stewart Gas Company Limited
  1911- .

• GB1/66
  Newton Stewart Gas Co.
  Minute Book, 1911-1949

At the Ewart Library, Dumfries:

• McConchie, Farmers in Mains of Penninghame
  GGD275
  Photocopies of invoices sent from businesses in Newton Stewart and district to John McConchie, farmer in Mains of Penninghame, 1851-1869.
  GGD321
  Photocopies of pocket diaries of Andrew McConchie, farmer in Mains of Penninghame, giving details of his champion cattle, farm expenses, potatoes etc sold and other agricultural matters, 1885-1892.

At the Ewart Library, Dumfries:

• EGD/99
  MacDowall, Tailor in Newton Stewart
  Account book with shop stock.

• EGD/161
  Carty Tile Works, Newton Stewart
  Cash book, 1906-1920; Ledgers, 1893-1944; Photographs, 1955-1969.

At the Glasgow University Library, Special Collections Department:

• MS Gen 1005
  Farm account book for farms adjacent to Newton Stewart
  Farm account book giving information on weekly accounts, staff employed and work done on mainly unidentified farms adjacent to Newton Stewart, including Crows and Old Hall farms, 1808-1812.

There are 5 cemeteries and 1 ancient church in Penninghame parish:

1. Clachan of Penninghame (Penninghame Old Parish Church Burying Ground), about 3 miles south of Newton Stewart (grid reference NX 412612, GPS: 54.920663, -4.47974):

• Only the foundations remain of this, the original Penninghame Parish Kirk
• Monumental inscriptions have been published by the Dumfries and Galloway Family History Society.
• Monumental Inscriptions were recorded by J E Birchman. Copies are in local libraries, at the Ewart Library, Dumfries, and at the Dumfries and Galloway Family History Society.
• The graveyard is administered by Local Services, Culhorn Depot, Commerce Road, Stranraer, DG9 7DE. Tel: 03033 333000

2. Newton Stewart Old Churchyard, Church Street (grid reference NX 409653, GPS: 54.9570, -4.4852:

• Monumental inscriptions have been published by the Dumfries and Galloway Family History Society.
• This churchyard is near the Penninghame Parish Church (St. John's)
• A listed building.
   

3. Newton Stewart Cemetery, St Couan's Road (grid reference NX 403648, GPS: 54.95189,-4.49505):

• Opened in 1895
• The graveyard is administered by Local Services, Culhorn Depot, Commerce Road, Stranraer, DG9 7DE. Tel: 03033 333000
   

4. Challoch Episcopal Churchyard, on A714, 3 miles north of Newton Stewart (grid ref. NX 385674, GPS: 54.9757, -4.5246):

• Opened in 1873
• The church is a listed building
• The graveyard is administered by Local Services, Culhorn Depot, Commerce Road, Stranraer, DG9 7DE. Tel: 03033 333000
   

5. Roman Catholic Church of Our Lady and St Ninian Churchyard, Windsor Road (grid ref. NX 409658, GPS: 54.961676,-4.486711:

• A listed building
• The churchyard has a few gravestones from the 19th century

6. St. Ninian's Chapel - The Old Kirk of Cruives, on A714, 6 miles north of Newton Stewart (grid ref. NX 377706, GPS: 55.003987,-4.537927):

• An ancient church now in ruins. No headstones.

Parish / district reference number for 1841 - 1901 censuses: 895

The 1841, 1851, 1861 and 1871 returns can be searched on the FreeCEN website.

There is an online index to the 1851 census created by the Friends of the Archives of Dumfries and Galloway.

Some census records on microfilm may be consulted in LDS Family Search Centres around the world.

LDS Library Film Numbers:

	1841	1851	1861	1871	1881	1891
Penninghame	1042847	1042556	103921	104113, part in 104006	224062, part in 224055	220462, part in 220452

(Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints)

Further information on the main GENUKI Wigtownshire page.

In addition to the parish church and the Church of Scotland at Bargrennan, other churches include Free Churches at Creebridge and Newton Stewart, a Reformed Presbyterian Church, a Relief Church, a United Free Church, and a Roman Catholic Church.

A list of all persons over 12 years of age, collected under instructions to the Episcopalian Curates of Galloway and Dumfriesshire, was published as Parish lists of Wigtownshire and Minnigaff, 1684. It is available at the Open Library.

The Old Statistical Account (written in the 1790s) gives no information about Dissenters.

The New Statistical Account (written in 1838) gives this information:

• Dissenters do not register their children in the parish records.
• There is a church belonging to the Relief, and another to the Reformed Presbytery in Newton Stewart. There is also a Roman Catholic chapel.
• Number of persons professedly belonging to the Established Church - 2723 (about 530 families)
• Number of Dissenters of all denominations including Roman Catholics - 833
• Number of Dissenters and Seceeders - 640
• Professed Episcopalians - 9
• Roman Catholics - 164

The1865 Ecclesiastical Directory lists the parish church, the United Presbyterian Church, the Reformed Presbyterian Church, the Roman Catholic Church and the Free Church.

Details of church history:

• Penninghame Parish Church

The church of Penninghame, which held a dedication to St Ninian, belonged prior to the reformation to the Archdeacon of Galloway. In 1777 the old church was removed to an alternative location at Newton Stewart and this church was later rebuilt in around the year 1850. In 1971 Penninghame united with the congregation of Newton Stewart St John's, under the name of Penninghame St John's, and a link later followed with Bargrennan in 1994. The kirk session, which remains active today, sat within the Presbytery of Wigtown until 1963 when, by Act of Assembly, the Presbytery of Wigtown and the Presbytery of Stranraer were united together under the name of Presbytery of Wigtown and Stranraer

• Penninghame and Minnigaff Free Church, later United Free, Creebridge:

Penninghame and Minnigaff Free Church, or Creebridge Free Church, originated at the Disruption in Newton Stewart. Unable to obtain a site, the congregation built a church at Creebridge in 1844 and maintained a mission at Creetown. It passed to the United Free Church as Newton Stewart Creebridge. The church building was awarded to the Free Church in 1905, but restored in 1907. It united with Newton Stewart Rutherford as Newton Stewart Trinity in 1909. The UFC charge was in the presbytery of Wigtown and Stranraer and the synod of Dumfries and Galloway.

• Newton Stewart Reformed Presbyterian Church Kirk Session, later Penninghame Free Church, Princes Street, later United Free Rutherford, then Trinity, then St John's Church of Scotland:

Newton Stewart Reformed Presbyterian Church arose from a disjunction within the Galloway congregation of the Reformed Presbyterian church in 1796. The first meeting house, however, was only built after 1818, and the first church in 1833. In 1876 it adhered to the Free Church as Newton Stewart. The UFC charge, Newton Stewart Rutherford, united with Newton Stewart Creebridge as Newton Stewart Trinity UF in 1909. This in turn united with Newton Stewart York Road as Newton Stewart St John's UF in 1926. The Church of Scotland charge united with Penninghame as Penninghame St John's in 1971. It was in the presbytery of Wigtown and the synod of Ayr.

• Newton Stewart Relief Church, later United Presbyterian, United Free, York Road:

Newton Stewart Relief Church began with a petition for supply to Glasgow Relief Presbytery in 1791. A church was built in the following year; the first minister was ordained in 1793. It passed successively to the United Presbyterian and United Free Churches, in the latter case as Newton Stewart York Road, which in 1924 united with Newton Stewart Trinity as Newton Stewart St John's. The UFC charge was in the presbytery of Wigtown and Stranraer and the synod of Dumfries and Galloway.

• Newton Stewart, Trinity United Free Church, later United Free, later St John's, then Church of Scotland :

Newton Stewart, Trinity United Free Church was formed in 1909 by the union of two existing UF churches in the town, Newton Stewart Rutherford and Newton Stewart Trinity. It united with a third UF charge, Newton Stewart York Road as Newton Stewart St John's in 1924. It was in the UF presbytery of Wigtown and Stranraer and the synod of Dumfries and Galloway

• Bargrennan Kirk Session:

The church of Bargrennan was opened as a chapel-of-ease on the 17th March 1839 and the parish was later disjoined from Monigaff, Penninghame and Colmonell in 1862. Ministry of the parish is recorded from 1863 in the person of John Barclay. Bargrennan was linked with Minigaff in 1962, however this link was later terminated in 1994 in favour of a linking with Newton Stewart Penninghame St John's. The kirk session of Bargrennan sat within the Presbytery of Wigtown until, by Act of Assembly XXI, 1963, the Presbytery of Wigtown and the Presbytery of Stranraer were united under the name of the Presbytery of Wigtown and Stranraer.

Data provided by the  Scottish Archive Network (SCAN)

The Parish Church (Established Church, Church of Scotland):

The original Old Parish Registers (of baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages, and deaths / burials) of the Church of Scotland, which cover the years up to 1854, are held in the National Records of Scotland in Edinburgh, and they can all be consulted there at the National Records of Scotland.

Parish reference number: 895

The Old Parish Registers (OPRs) span the following dates (although there are gaps within these ranges):

Penninghame OPR	Births / baptisms	Proclamations / marriages	Deaths / burials / mortcloths
895/1	1695-1819	1696-1819	-
895/2	1820-1854	1820-1854	-

(Data supplied by National Records of Scotland)

The Detailed List of the Old Parochial Registers of Scotland, published 1872, provides this information about the content of the OPRs, including the gaps within them:

B.  Only two entries prior to Nov. 1696. Blank Feb. 1715 - Feb. 1716, and March 1750 - June 1753. Only one entry Aug. 1773 - June 1774.
M.  Blank July 1713 - Feb. 1716, March 1750 - June 1756, Nov. 1760 - Dec. 1762, Nov. 1763 - Dec. 1791, Nov. 1792 - Nov. 1795. After 1791, chiefly Proclamations.

The baptisms / births, proclamations / marriages and deaths / burials indexes can be searched at the ScotlandsPeople website. Copies of the register entries may be purchased.

Copies of the registers on microfilm may be consulted in some local libraries and at LDS Family Search Centres around the world. The indexes to baptisms / births and proclamations / marriages can also be searched on the LDS Family Search website or on the IGI on microfiche in local libraries.

LDS Library Film Numbers:

1068040 Items 1 - 2

Baptisms, 1695-1854; Marriages, 1696-1855.

(Data provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints)

Kirk Session records are held at the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh.

Heritors' Records (HR344) are at the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh.

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• CH2/1387
  Penninghame Kirk Session
  Minutes, 1696-1747, 1760-1763 and 1790-1971; Minutes, 1971-1992, 1992-2001 (Closed for 30 years); Communion roll, 1864-1869; Poor's fund accounts, 1700-1749, 1769 and 1787-1829; Scheme of division of Kirk, 1779; Accounts, 1829-1857 and 1868-1884; Deacon's court minutes, 1866-1873 and 1876-1880; Congregational board minutes, 1966-1971; Congregational Board Minutes, 1971-1982, 1982-2001 (Closed for 30 years).

• CH2/398
  Bargrennan Kirk Session:
  Minutes, 1863-1933, 1933-2000; Communion Roll, 1863-1910; 1939-2001; Baptismal Register, 1875-2000 .

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• HR344
  Penninghame parish heritors' records
  Minutes, 1908-1930; Accounts, 1921-1931; Correspondence relating to assessments, 1912.

Other Churches:

Records of other churches:

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• CH3/1372
  Penninghame and Minnigaff Free Church, later United Free, Creebridge
  Minutes, 1843-1909; List of members, 1843(?); Deacons' court minutes, 1844-1871.

• CH3/1373
  Newton Stewart Reformed Presbyterian Church Kirk Session, later Penninghame Free Church, Princes Street, later United Free Rutherford, then Trinity, then St John's Church of Scotland
  Minutes, 1843-1875, 1878-1914; Deacons' court minutes, 1891-1938.

• CH3/1371
  Newton Stewart Relief Church Kirk Session, later United Presbyterian, United Free, York Road
  Minutes, 1807-1837, 1841-1846, 1864-1923; Congregational minutes, 1864-1924; Baptisms, 1791-1845, 1864.
  The baptism register 1791-1845 has been published by Graham Maxwell Ancestry.

• CH3/1374
  Newton Stewart, Trinity United Free Church, later United Free, later St John's, then Church of Scotland
  Minutes, 1915-1971; Congregational board minutes, 1938-1971.

• RH21/52
  Dalbeattie (inc Gatehouse and Newton Stewart) Roman Catholic Congregation, Diocese of Galloway
  Register of baptisms, 1781 (including Gatehouse and Newton Stewart); Register of marriages, 1814-31, 1855 (including Gatehouse and Newton Stewart 1814-1831)

• RH21/59
  Newton Stewart Our Lady and St Ninian's Roman Catholic Congregation, Diocese of Galloway
  Register of marriages, 1825-1915; Register of Confessions, 1839-1846; Register of communicants, 1825-1845.

At the National Records of Scotland and on the ScotlandsPeople website:

• Newton Stewart, Our Lady and St Ninian's Roman Catholic congregation
  Indexes to and images of the Roman Catholic births and baptism registers, 1825-1908; marriages, 1825-1934; other records, 1825-1846.

• Dalbeattie (inc Gatehouse and Newton Stewart) Roman Catholic Congregation, Diocese of Galloway
  Indexes to and images of register of baptisms, 1781 (including Gatehouse and Newton Stewart); register of marriages, 1814-31, 1855 (including Gatehouse and Newton Stewart 1814-1831)

 

The Penninghame page of the LDS Family Search Research Wiki has more information about church history and records.

Registration of Births, Marriages and Deaths began in Scotland on 1st January 1855. Full information on the main GENUKI Wigtownshire page.

Registration districts covering this parish:

Registration districts did not necessarily coincide exactly with parishes.

In 1865, part of Penninghame parish, from Glassoch to Glenhapple northwestwards, was removed from Penninghame registration district and was included in a new registration district - Bargrennan, 857b. For registration purposes only, this part of the parish was transferred from Wigtownshire to the Stewartry of Kirkcudbright. The area comprised: Beoch, Bridgend, Castle (Meikle Castle), Clauchaneasy, Crungle, Fyntalloch, Garchew, Glassoch, Glenhapple, Glenruther, Glenvernoch, Kirkcalla, Kirkhobble, Knockville, Knowe, Knowe School, Ochiltree, Waterside, Woodhead.

At the Stranraer Museum:

• NS
  Newton Stewart Burgh Records (Access restricted)
  Town Clerk's Department: Burgh court books, 1868-1909, 1966-1975, and register, undated; Dean of guild records, 1975 and undated.
  Miscellaneous: Wigtown District Court record, 1981; Newton Stewart District Court, Stranraer complaints, 1969-1974; Machars District Licensing Court, applications and plans, 1921-1975.

Surrounding parishes: Kirkinner, Kirkcowan, Wigtown, Minnigaff in Kirkcudbrightshire, and Colmonell in Ayrshire.

• Geograph
• Flickr

The parish entry in Pigot's National Commercial Directory for the whole of Scotland, 1837, is online at Google Books.

Several old gazetteers are available. They all contain descriptions of the parish and many are also worth searching for entries of places within the parish.

• David Webster's Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, published 1819, online at Google Books.
• Samuel Lewis's Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, published 1846, online at British History Online.
• Frances Groome's Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland (1882-4) and John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887) are on A Vision of Britain (click on "Historical places and writing").
• Frances Groome's Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland(1892-6) on Electric Scotland

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Penninghame to another place.

A Vision of Britain provides historical descriptions, population & housing statistics, historic boundaries and maps.

Details of historic buildings and archaeological sites in this parish held by the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh, are catalogued at ScotlandsPlaces. In the results, click RCAHMS. Unfortunately, not all entries have digital images.

Listed buildings in Penninghame and Newton Stewart.

Valuation Rolls, from 1855, are held in Edinburgh. Valuation Office field books and plans (for the Valuation Office survey of 1911-1915) are also held in Edinburgh. A few valuation rolls are held locally. Penninghame records:

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• VR123
  Valuation Rolls: County of Wigtown
  1855-1975; the rolls for 1855, 1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905, 1915, 1920, 1925 and 1930 are online at the ScotlandsPeople website.

• IRS87/36-46
  Valuation Office (Scotland): Field Book, 1910-1920: Penninghame Parish
  Entries 1-573, 20 supplementary records.

• IRS133
  Valuation Office (Scotland) maps to accompany the above field books, scale 1/2500, Ordnance Survey sheets for Wigtownshire.

At the Ewart Library, Dumfries:

• EW4
  Wigtownshire County Council: County Treasurer's Department
  Valuation rolls, 1891-1975; Assessment rolls, 1890-1897, 1950-1960.

Estate Records:

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

Some estate papers can be found by searching the National Records of Scotland catalogue for "Penninghame" and reference starts "GD". Collections particularly worth searching are:

• RH15/25
  Papers of Gordon of Grange

• RH15/121
  Papers of Hamilton of Preston

• GD138
  Papers of the Stewart family, Earls of Galloway (Galloway Charters)

• GD255
  Records of Messrs. Haldane, Brown & Company, Chartered Accountants, Edinburgh

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference NX375664 (Lat/Lon: 54.966032, -4.539933), Penninghame which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

The Roll of Honour website records the names on the Newton Stewart war memorials. More information can be found at the Scottish War Memorials Project.

The Ordnance Survey Object Name Books are held by the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh. Penninghame records:

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• RH4/23/228, RH4/23/229, RH4/23/230, RH4/23/231 and RH4/23/233
  Ordnance Survey Original Object Name Books for Scotland: Wigtownshire
  Parishes of Penninghame (book 1); Kirkcowan and Penninghame (book 10); Kirkcowan and Penninghame (book 12); Penninghame (books 13 and 14); Kirkcowan and Penninghame (book 29); Penninghame (book 30); Kirkcowan and Penninghame (book 31); Penninghame (book 32); Kirkcowan and Penninghame (book 47); Wigtown and Penninghame (book 48); Kirkinner, Kirkcowan, Mochrum, Wigtown and Penninghame (book 49); Kirkinner, Wigtown and Penninghame (book 50); Wigtown and Penninghame (book 51).

The relief of paupers after 1845 was carried out by the Parochial Board and later by the Parish Council. Their records are at the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh. See Public Records below.

The workhouses.org.uk website has some information about the Penninghame almshouses.

There is a page with census statistics from 1755 to 1951 here.

See also A Vision of Britain and Histpop for population statistics.

Probate records are 'Confirmations' in Scotland.

Prior to 1824, wills, testaments & inventories of residents of Penninghame may be found in either the Wigtown Commissariot (CC22) or the Edinburgh Commissariot (CC8) records. From 1824, commissary business has been conducted by the Sheriff Court of Wigtown (SC19).

Sources worth searching for deeds include Wigtown Sheriff Court.

Parochial Boards and their successors, Parish Councils, administered many local functions including poor relief.

At the National Records of Scotland, Edinburgh:

• CO4/41
  Penninghame Parish Records
  Parochial Board Minute Book, 1882-1902; Parochial Board General Register of the Poor, 1876-1924; Parish Council Minute Book, 1902-1915, 1915-1930; Parish Council General Register of the Poor, 1924-1929.

School Board records and / or school logbooks are held at the Ewart Library, Dumfries. Penninghame records:

At the Ewart Library, Dumfries:

• EW5/6/3
  Penninghame School Management Committee
  Minutes, 1925-1941. (Closed)

• EW5/6/1-2, 4-6
  Penninghame School Board
  Minutes, 1891-1916; Teacher's certificate and assessment register of pupils, 1907-1922; 'Vital statistics of pupils', 1917-1918; Education Authority and Education Department letters and schedules, 1928-1939. (Access restricted.)

• EW5/46
  Penninghame Grange School
  Log books, 1863-1959; Admissions and withdrawals registers, 1868-1959; Attendance registers, 1953-1959; Summaries of attendance, 1955-1956, 1957-1958; Records of work, 1956-1958. (Access restricted.)

• EW5/58
  Penninghame Public School
  Log books, 1873-1982; Continuation classes, 1901-1920; Admissions registers, 1910-1948. (Access restricted.)
  This school had a roll of 290 by 1947 and junior and secondary divisions. It was downgraded to primary school status at the end of session 1953/54. A speical class for mentally handicapped children was established in 1958.

• EW5/55
  Newton Stewart (Infants) Public School
  Log book, 1864-1874.

• EW5/4
  Knowe School Trustees
  Minutes (containing copies of deeds and correspondence relating to the foundation of the school, 1792-1815), 1815-1872.

• EW5/38
  Knowe School
  Log books, 1874-1939. (Access restricted)

• EW5/41
  Loudun School
  Log books, 1874-1962; Admissions and withdrawals register, 1926-1962; Attendance registers, 1956-1962. (Access restricted)
  The building was leased to the school board in 1874. The school was discontinued in 1962.

• EW5/57
  Corsbie Public (Infants) School
  Log books, 1885-1933; Admissions register, 1895-1910. (Access restricted)

• EW5/9
  Douglas Ewart School Management Committee
  Minutes, 1922-1928. (Closed)

• EW5/23
  Challoch School
  Log books, 1877-1964; School cleaning register, 1908-1953; Admissions and withdrawals register, 1907-1964; Attendance registers, 1952-1965; Daily register, 1964-1965. (Records closed.)

The Ordnance Gazetteer for Scotland lists the following public schools in the parish (1893):

"Statistical accounts" giving fascinating insights into the local topography and history, social and economic conditions, and even the daily lives of people, were written by the parish ministers in the 1790s and the 1830s. For more information see the main GENUKI Wigtownshire page.

• The 'Old' Statistical Account is at The Statistical Accounts of Scotland and Google Books.
• The 'New' Statistical Account is also at The Statistical Accounts of Scotland and Google Books.

The parish listing of the farm horse tax, 1797-98, the female servants tax, 1785-92, and the Male Servants Tax, 1777-98, can be seen at ScotlandsPlaces.

For details of other early taxation records see the Early Taxation Records page.

At the Stranraer Museum:

• Newton Stewart Burgh Records (Access restricted)
  Town Clerk's Department: Council minutes, 1861-1975; Burgh court books, 1868-1909, 1966-1975, and register, undated; Dean of guild records, 1975 and undated; Education records, 1887-1889 and undated; Newton Stewart Educational Endowment Trust records, 1910-1961; Miscellanea (including extracts of a charter and sasine in favour of William Stewart, 1677, and elections and licensing material), 1677-1988.
  Burgh Chamberlain's Department: Abstracts of accounts, 1899-1974 (incomplete): Educational Trust (or Educational Endowment Trust) records, 1910-1961; Miscellaneous ledgers and other financial records (including Minnigaff housing files, 1968, 1973), 1923-1973 and undated.
  Miscellaneous: Wigtown District Court record, 1981; Newton Stewart District Court, Stranraer complaints, 1969-1974; Machars District Licensing Court, applications and plans, 1921-1975; Miscellanea (including a register of streets, undated, and the will of Samuel Douglas, formerly of the Island of Jamaica Fall School, 1798), 1798-1975.