Hide
Cenarth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"KENARTH (CENARTH), a parish, in the union of NEWCASTLE-EMLYN, higher division of the hundred of ELVET, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES; comprising the market and post-town of Newcastle-Emlyn, from which the church is distant 2 1/2 miles (W.N.W.); and containing 2044 inhabitants. This parish is beautifully situated on the river Teivy, over which the turnpike-road from Carmarthen to Cardigan is here carried by a stone bridge; and comprises by admeasurement 6420 acres, which are almost wholly inclosed and in a good state of cultivation, and of which about 400 are woodland, and the remainder two-thirds arable and one-third pasture. . . a considerable number of cattle are bred in the parish, and the other produce comprises chiefly corn, butter, and cheese. . . Near the church is the celebrated salmon leap on the river Teivy . . The church, dedicated to St. Llawddog, is a neat edifice, about 50 feet long and 25 broad, containing 230 sittings . . . A church has recently been erected at Newcastle-Emlyn, containing 500 sittings, of which 400 are free . . The Independent and Calvinistic Methodists have each a place of worship, in addition to the meeting-houses for dissenters [in] Newcastle-Emlyn. There are five day schools in the parish . . ." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844).]
Hide
Monumental inscriptions for Brynseion Independent Chapel, Cenarth, are available on microfiche from Dyfed FHS.
| Holy Trinity, Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth (Church in Wales) |
| St Llawddog, Cenarth (Church in Wales) |
| Bryn Seion Independent Chapel, Pontseli, Cenarth |
| Cemeteries, Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth |
| Capel Bâch y Drindod (site), Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth (Church in Wales) |
| Holy Trinity, Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth (Church in Wales) |
| St Llawddog, Cenarth (Church in Wales) |
| Bryn Seion Independent Chapel, Pontseli, Cenarth |
| Ebeneser Independent Chapel, Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth |
| Cemeteries, Newcastle Emlyn, Cenarth |
Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants
|
Parish entry for Newcastle Emlyn from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by (Archive CD Books).
Parish entry for Cenarth from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by (Archive CD Books).
|
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Photograph showing a view of Bryn Seion Independent Chapel, Pontseli, taken by Robert Scourfield, c.1996.
- Photograph showing a view of Capel Cenarth Welsh Calvinistic Methodist Chapel, taken by Robert Scourfield, c.1996.
Dyfed FHS have photographs and data relating to various churches and chapels on their site
Parish registers: Christenings (1701-68, 1775-1909), Marriages (1701-1970), Banns (1824-60, 1934-35) and Burials (1701-68, 1775-1975) are at the National Library of Wales with copies of some dates at Carm.RO
Copy ts PR index C 1813-75 M 1701-1875 [Banns 1823-60, 1934-5] at NLW and Carm.RO
Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1676, 1678, 1680, 1682, 1684-9, 1699, 1704, 1799-1806, 1808-58, 1860-1) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Marriage index for this parish - see Dyfed Marriages, 1813-1837, Vol. 15 - Elvet Hundred (Dyfed Family History Society, c1989)
See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg
Nonconformist Chapels:
|
Newcastle Emlyn/Castellnewydd [The chapel of ease to Cenarth built here c1780 seems to have been without separate PRs until the late 1830s. District assigned to new church 1843]
Christenings (1839-1915) Marriages (1971-90) Burials (1842-1957) at NLW with copy Christenings (1839-1915) Burials (1842-1957) at Carm. RO. Marriages 1838-1970 with incumbent.
BTs ; 1874, 1885-8, 1890, 1898 NLW
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., byJones, I.G. & Williams, D. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. These statistics for this parish are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;
|
Photographs and description of Newcastle Emlyn Castle on Castle Wales
Newcastle Emlyn - on Wikipedia
Various landscapes inc Newcastle Emlyn - on the People's Collection Wales site
The Itinerary Through Wales and The Description of Wales by Giraldus Cambrensis (1188). The text is that of Sir Richard Colt Hoare who published an English translation in 1806, chiefly from the texts of Camden and Wharton . This extract is mostly from the foot-notes in the Everyman's Library edition, (ed. Ernest Rhys) 1908.
" The noble river Teivi flows here, and abounds with the finest salmon, more than any other river of Wales; it has a productive fishery ( ? near Cilgerran), which is situated on the summit of a rock, at a place called Canarch Mawr*, the ancient residence of St Ludoc, where the river, falling from a great height, forms a cataract, which the salmon ascend, by leaping from the bottom to the top of a rock.... * (now known by the name of Kenarth, which may be derived from Cefn y garth - the back of the wear, a ridge of land behind the wear.) ' The church dedicated to St Ludoc, the mill, bridge, salmon leap, an orchard with a delightful garden, all stand together on a small plot of ground.'"
Newcastle Emlyn Rural District, Carmarthenshire: the official guide, Home Publishing Co (1953) 28 p., ill.
Stephenson, Mary Jane. Dewch am Dro! (Come for a walk!) Written for Welsh learners it describes a collection of walks around Penrherber in Cenarth parish but also contains a history and geography of the area. Mary Jane consulted census records, tithe maps, parish records and various books referring to Penrherber where there are local historical links going back as far as the Bronze Age
Pigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1830. Here are Extracts relating to Newcastle-in-Emlyn and AtparPigot & Co. South Wales Directory for 1844. Here are Extracts relating to Newcastle-in-Emlyn
The transcription of the section for Cenarth from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cenarth to another place.
Various items - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Cradle from Cenarth, C19th
- Bridge crossing the Teifi river and houses on far bank; girls sitting on wall in foreground and a horse-drawn cart crossing the bridge.
- Kenarth Bridge, On The Teify
- Report of the Carmarthen and Newcastle Emlyn Turnpike Trust, 1843
- Workers at the Weir, Newcastle Emlyn, c 1885
- Stage coach and horses in front of houses; also a horse-drawn cart. Cenarth c1885
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Brythonydd Papers [early 18th century]-1952 (accumulated [1891x1952]) "'Brythonydd', the Rev. David Pryse Williams (1878-1952), was a writer, local historian and Baptist minister................ His personal researches were concerned, in early life, with the history of the lower Teifi Valley, especially the parishes of Cenarth, Carmarthenshire, and Penbryn, Cardiganshire. During this time he wrote articles and poems, published in periodicals such as Seren Gomer and Archaeologia Cambrensis and local newspapers. In 1902 he won the prize at the Newcastle Emlyn eisteddfod for an essay on the history of Cenarth ........"
Baker-Jones, Leslie Dr., JP. The Glaspant Diary 1896 . Cultural Services Section, Carmarthenshire CC., Dec 2001; chronicles Carmarthenshire country life around one of the lesser gentry houses in Capel Iwan, Newcastle Emlyn over a hundred years ago. Based on a diary that was amongst the Howell (Glaspant) papers, deposited at the National Library of Wales by Mr Harry Howell JP and which was kept by his father Henry Williams Lloyd Howell for the year 1896.
Davies, Cliff. From Rags to Riches: Anna Maria Phelps' Bequest to the Trustees of Trewen Chapel, Cwmcou. Dyfed FHS journal vol 9/1, Dec 2005
Evans,Gruffydd. The Story of Newcastle Emlyn and Atpar to 1531, with a concluding survey. Cymmrodorion, 1923
Lloyd, Sir John E., (Ed.). A History of Carmarthenshire (2 vols.), Cardiff, London Carmarthenshire Society (1935, 1939). Extracts from this book can be accessed on some parish pages, see here for this parish.
Lloyd, T. H. Cenarth's 17th Century Mill. 1960
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Brigstocke collection "Deeds, 1813-[c .1870], relating to properties in the parish of St Peter, Carmarthen and in the parish of Cenarth ........"
- Amphlett, Lewis and Evans [Solicitors, of Llandysul, previously situated in Newcastle Emlyn] deeds and records Include; "Deeds and documents, 1770-1959, relating to land in Newcastle Emlyn .....................etc "
Parish map(Kain/Oliver)
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN285393 (Lat/Lon: 52.044763, -4.526979), Cenarth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Places, villages, farms etc within Cenarth as shown on the online parish map from the CD off Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Merv Thomas)
|
Ceredigion Archives holds records of the Newcastle Emlyn and Lampeter Poor Law Unions
Thomas, M.J. Poor Relief Around Newcastle Emlyn, 1883-4, J. of the Dyfed FHS, vol. 6, no. 2, (1997) pp.54-55. [Transcription of listing of recipients.]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Newcastle Emlyn Parish Council Records 1895-1979
- Newcastle Emlyn Rural District Council Records 1913-1940
- Newcastle Emlyn Urban District Council Records 1960-1974
Fishing on the River Teifi, Cenarth. - on the People's Collection Wales site