Hide
Llannon
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"LLANNON (LLAN-NON), a parish, in the union of LLANELLY, lower division of the hundred of CARNAWLLON, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (N. by E.) from *Carmarthen *; containing 1769 inhabitants. . . It extends six miles in length from north to south, and 4 1/2 in breadth from east to west; and comprises by admeasurement, made in the year 1807, 11,466 a. 1 r. 13 p., of which 2507 are in the hamlet of Blaenau, 3011 in that of Glynn, 3130 in that of Goytre, and 2000 in that of Ismorlais . . . The lands, with the exception of a comparatively small portion, consisting of part of the Great Mountain, the Little Mountain, and Mynydd Sylvan, are mostly inclosed, and in a good state of cultivation; the soil is chiefly a clayey loam, and the principal produce, corn, hay, and butter, for the latter of which it is much celebrated; coal mines are in operation, and the smelting of iron-ore by the use of anthracite coal has lately been commenced. . . There is here no manor, the parish being situated within the lordship of Kidwelly. The great turnpike-road fpom Swansea to Carmarthen intersects the parish . . . the tram-road from the works in the Great Mountain is continued through the parish to the port of Llanelly. . . The church, dedicated to St. Non, was rebuilt in 1841 in the early English style . . . A National school-house was erected in 1841; and there are four Sunday schools . . ." [From A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (S. Lewis, 1844).]
N.B * Should read "from Llanelli" - not Carmarthen
Hide
Monumental inscriptions for Bethania Chapel, Upper Tumble, and for Bethesda Chapel, Ponthenry, are available on microfiche from Dyfed FHS.
| Dewi Sant (St David's), (St Sulien's), Tumble, Llannon (Church in Wales) |
| St Anne, Cross Hands, Llannon (Church In Wales) |
| St Non, Llannon (Church in Wales) |
| Bethel Baptist Chapel, Tumble, Llannnon |
| Capel Bethel (Baptist), Tumble, Llannon |
| Hermon Welsh Baptist Church, Llannon |
| Tabor Welsh Baptist Church, Cross Hands, Llannon |
| Upper Tumble Cemetery, Upper Tumble, Llannon |
| Llain-Y-Delyn Friends' Meeting House, Tumble, Llannon |
Some church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names are those of the informants
|
Parish entry from The Welsh Church Year Book, 1929 (Cd by (Archive CD Books).
|
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Non's Church, Llannon
EBENEZER CALVINISTIC METHODIST CHAPEL, TUMBLE interior - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Herald Hermon archive 1993-1994 " Herald Hermon was a religious periodical produced by Hermon Baptist church, Llannon, ............"
Dyfed FHS have photographs and data relating to various churches and chapels on their site
Parish registers: Christenings (1679-1738, 1741-1913), Marriages (1679-1738, 1741-1978), Banns (1823-1990) and Burials (1679-1738, 1741-1971) are at the National Library of Wales with Mf copies [except Banns} at Carm.RO
Bishops' Transcripts, covering the period (1681-4, 1686-7, 1690, 1693, 1695-9, 1703-4, 1716-18, 1720-5, 1727-70, 1772-1800, 1802-35, 1844-5, 1850-2) are at the National Library of Wales, and have been microfilmed by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Marriage index for this parish - see Dyfed Marriages, 1813-1837, Vol. 19 - Carnwallon Hundred (Dyfed Family History Society, c1989)
An index to Marriages (1743-1812) is included in the South And West Wales Genealogical Index CD-ROM - details under Genealogy on Carmarthenshire county page.
See Bap/Mar/Bur data on FreeReg
Nonconformist Chapels:
|
- Tumble/Y Tymbl [formed out of Llannon]
Christenings (1932-69), Marriages (1927-79) at NLW with Mf copies at Carm.RO
Parish Church photograph and basic information from Dyfed FHS.
The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales., byJones, I.G. & Williams, D. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. These statistics for this parish are extracted from this book which in turn got them from the 1851 census itself;
|
The transcription of the section for Llannon from The National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llannon to another place.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Goring-Thomas family, papers C19th "The family, originally called Treherne, lived at Llettymawr, Llannon, Carmarthenshire ............................."
Held at Carmarthen Archives;
- An index to David/Davies names extracted from the Llanelli and Llannon parish registers 1679-1838 and from the St David's diocesan wills 1627-1853.
Anthony, Glyn . Coal Dust and Dogma. 1987 (Alun Books, Port Talbot) 112pp, tells the story of controversy caused by the ideas of Rev. Tom Nefyn Williams of Tumble. There is a description on Wales - Genealogy Help Pages
Gibbard, Noel. A History of Llannon Parish, Old Carmarthenshire. J D Lewis and Sons, Gomer Press, Llandysul (1984). (Trans. from the original Welsh by Ivor Griffiths, Gorseinon. Here is an index by P M S Jones with a contents listing).
Lloyd, Sir John E., (Ed.). A History of Carmarthenshire (2 vols.), Cardiff, London Carmarthenshire Society (1935, 1939). Extracts from this book can be accessed on some parish pages, see here for this parish
Resolutions passed at a meeting of farmers and other inhabitants of the parishes of Llanelli, Llan-non, Pembrey and Llangendeirne, held on Mynydd Sylen, between Llan-non and Pontyberem, 25 August 1843. The meeting was chaired by William Chambers and addressed by Hugh Williams. The resolutions passed related to tolls and the expenditure of the county stock, commending several landowners for reducing their rents and condemming Rees Goring Thomas for his 'unfair and decietful' behaviour with regard to the Llanelli tithes. - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Stepney of Llanelli additional collection Includes; "Rent books relating to property in Llannon, Llandybie, and Llanedi, Carmarthenshire, 1909-1953............."
Parish map (Kain/Oliver)
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SN541085 (Lat/Lon: 51.755839, -4.11571), Llannon which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Places, villages, farms etc within Llannon as shown on the online parish map from the CD of Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. (Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.). (Extracted by Cherlyn Bruns)
|
- Crosshands Colliery on the Welsh Coal Mines site
- Great Mountain Colliery, Tumble on the Welsh Coal Mines site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Tumble Collieries 1891-1927 "Deeds including leases of mines under lands in parishes of Llannon and Llanelli, Carmarthenshire,together with attached maps and plans 1891-1901; correspondence 1892 and 1911; poster giving notice of proposed amalgamation of colliery companies with United Anthracite Collieries Limited 1927."
- Tumble Welfare Association and Great Mountain Colliery Site Liaison Committee 1959 - 1992 "Tumble is situated on the Western edge of the Coalfield, near Cross Hands, Carmarthenshire.
The Tumble Welfare Association was set up in the early 1920s, and was based in the Public Hall and Workman's Institute at Tumble................................."